We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Pine Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Ellicottville)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ilex Inn(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Holiday Valley(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Club(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
94
15
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
15
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 114 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Ellicottville and were looking for a comfortable B&B in close proximity to the town. Check-in was very seamless at the Holiday Valley rental center just down the road from Sugar Pine Lodge. When we arrived at Sugar Pine we received a very pleasant greeting from Art and he provided us with a quick tour so we were familiar with our room and the rest of the facility.

We had Room #3 which is the smallest of all the rooms, but I prefer to describe it as very cozy. It had everything we needed including a coffee maker, small fridge, and a fairly sizeable bathroom with a heated towel rack. We've experienced smaller B&B rooms so this one was quite sufficient for us.

The main downtown area is about 1km from the lodge so a 10min walk or a really short drive. Holiday Valley is in close proximity as well, and the Seneca Allegany Casino is about a 20min drive.

The highlight of our stay might have been the breakfast on Saturday morning. Chef Scotty Stevens is a great conversationalist and quite a cook! Breakfast is at 9am and the table was set with a fruit cup for each guest, accompanied by plenty of bagels, English muffins, toast, and freshly baked scones. He also had a variety of teas and coffees available to meet each person's individual taste. All of this was followed by a main course that consisted of a fresh baked omelette for each person, and then there was apple crisp to finish things off. Needless to say, no one left hungry and the food was delicious! Kudos to Scott on a great job.

An added benefit of the Sugar Pine Lodge is that every unit has its own entry from the outside, which means that you can come and go at any hour as you please. The only downside to this is it can be a little bit noisy outside your room if people return late at night or depart early in the morning, so you might want to bring along some ear plugs if you are a really light sleeper.

I highly recommend the Sugar Pine Lodge to anyone that enjoys the B&B experience, is looking for a comfortable place to stay close to Ellicottville at a reasonable price, and really enjoys a healthy homemade breakfast. Thanks to the team at Sugar Pine Lodge for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoxFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed one night at Sugar Pine Lodge and it was a very pleasant experience in every regard. We had suite 4 on the upper level, which is accessed from an entrance outside the building, so unlike many B&Bs, you don’t have to walk through someone’s house to get to your room. Upon our arrival, proud host Art greeted us, showed us around the property and answered all of the questions we had.

Our suite consisted of a beautifully decorated (see photos) large sitting room (with fireplace, TV, fridge, well equipped wet bar) and similarly appointed bedroom, which had an incredibly comfortable four poster bed. The bathroom featured a two person Jacuzzi and even had a heated towel rack.

The grounds are beautiful and there is a heated pool (in season). Sugar Pine is situated approximately half way between downtown Ellicottville (a very pleasant 10 minute walk) and Holiday Valley, so both are within walking distance. Although Chef Scott had the day off when we were there, Art treated us to an incredible home cooked breakfast that was so substantial were able to “skip” lunch!

We have nothing but great things to say about Sugar Pine and look forward to a repeat stay in a return visit to Ellicottville sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sugar Pine Lodge for an Anniversary weekend.
We frequent Ellicottville, NY often for skiing in groups. This was our first stay during the fall season, as a solo couple. My husband found the Sugar Pine during Ellicottville B&B searches, and found decent reviews.
We loved our stay. The B&B's chef, Scott, is awesome! He's extremely talented and takes pride in his food and presentation. The breakfasts he presents to the guests every morning is a real treasure. My husband actually arranged a private dinner by Chef Scott one evening - it was delicious! Chef Scott made a romantic set-up, and filled our bellies with 4 courses of delish food! We were stuffed and amazed!
The room itself was definitely nice - dark in color - but nice. We enjoyed the extra living space within our room, but found ourselves wishing for more sunshine and light in the daytime.
We would definitely return to Sugar Pine, and hope to bring our fur-baby next time. The B&B's resident dog, Remi, is also a treat - he's very friendly and cuddly.

Room Tip: Effiency room gives more room to move, in the front of the house, and is dog-friendly; large tub!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere really nice for a Saturday night and this was perfect.Our room had a Victorian theme, it was like a step back in time.The room came with everything you could possibly need. Like other reviewers have mentioned, Art and Marilyn are the perfect hosts.Breakfast was great too.We hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had planned a short overnight to the southern tier and decided to go someplace besides the typical chain hotels. This one sounded and looked nice so we booked. When we got there we were the only ones there for the night but what an experience. The room was beautiful, and we got a tour of all the rooms which may be one of the ones we choose next time. QUiet but all the amenities. Frig, tv, fireplace and air, and the best for me bath gel and not just soap. Beds super comfy and even a towel warmer in the bathroom. Breakfast was out of this world. Homemade omelets, breads, fresh squeezed juice. I can't say enough good about his place and it is definitely on my list of places to return to whenever I am in the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the smallest with only a shower. Room 4 is the biggest with a 2 person jacuzzi. Rooms 1 and 2 are in between and also great. All rooms are on the second floor with stairs. Room 5 is an efficiency on the first floor and has a microwave, washer and dryer and made for families.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews