We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Pine Lodge
Save
You added Sugar Pine Lodge to your Saves list
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sugar Pine Lodge was an affordable place to stay for one night in Ellicottville, NY. The breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT!! Walking distance to town, pool on premises, etc. The owners are a great couple who treat you right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and it was the most enjoyable experience. We now don't want to go back to hotels. Our room was immaculate and so nice. The owner was an exceptional host and went out of his way to be helpful and attentive, along with Chef Scott who made the most delectable breakfasts each morning. My husband and I looked forward to what Chef Scott would create the next morning. We highly recommend staying and we are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of spending a night at this very friendly and cozy B & B. We typically don't stay at a lot of B & B's, but the reviews on this site made me want to stay and we were not disappointed! We enjoyed Chef Scott's breakfast and conversation. We stayed in room 3 which is their smallest room but we were not lacking for anything. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColB154996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I went for a night getaway for our anniversary. Our room was very cozy and beautiful. The room was very clean. The management team was very nice. I felt very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. The breakfast that was prepared by chef Scott was incredible. They all made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I had a great visit to Ellicottville and the Sugar Pine! We stayed in suite 1 and it was immaculate and well appointed with wonderful antiques! We were met by one of the owners who made us feel truly at home at the Sugar Pine. Chef Scott's breakfast fare is not to be missed! We enjoyed breakfast and the conversation with the owner and Chef Scott so much we were late getting to the ski hill. Whenever we are back in Ellicotville you can bet we will be staying at the Sugar Pine Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at the Sugar Pine Lodge while on a ski trip to HV. We stayed in suite 1 and it was beautiful! The room was comfy and cozy with a gas fireplace, clean and well kept. We met Art, one of the owners, and Chef Scott - they were both a delight. They took great care of us and the breakfast was delicious! The location was great - in between HV and cute stores and great restaurants in town. We had a wonderful trip and am looking forward to returning soon hopefully! Also, I hope to experience one of Scott's private dinners at the lodge - what a great idea!!

Room Tip: Suite 1 was beautiful! No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute ski trip. We knew it would be tough to get a room, but tried our luck anyway. On Thursday afternoon, the Sugar Pine Lodge property manager informed us they had a cancellation for the weekend, but had a policy of renting for two nights. We asked if when we might be able to rent it for just Saturday, and they said to call back Friday afternoon, and if no one had booked for two nights, we could have it. They also took our name and phone number so they knew who we were when we called the next day.

We called Friday at 2 and were told the room had been booked...for Saturday only. We asked them to clarify and they said someone else had called to book for one night. We explained what we had been told about calling when we did to get the room, and were basically told Oh well.

I am sure this is a very nice place to stay but we will never know as we will certainly never stay here. Customer service starts on the phone, and to dismiss potential customers in this way is bad business and has left us with a very bad taste in our mouth. We have stayed at many B&Bs in ski towns so we find this type of service extremely surprising.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.4 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
9.0 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
13.8 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Pine Lodge

Property: Sugar Pine Lodge
Address: 6158 Jefferson Street ( Rt. 219 ), Ellicottville, NY 14731
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate or (Multi)Family reunion vacation home. Great place for a yearly fun filled weekend with private suites. Most suites have separate living room with fireplace and a kitchenette and a private bathroom. Entire house is decorated in Victorian Style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Pine Lodge b&b
Sugar Pine Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing