We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible customer service”
Review of Holiday Valley

Holiday Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular Year 'Round Destination Resort offering Skiing/Snowboarding and other winter recreation. Summer Months guests enjoy our Golf Course, Aerial Zip Line Adventure Park, Weddings, Conferences and Special Events like the Mudslide Mud Run and Annual Beer & Wine Festival.
east aurora, ny
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible customer service”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

the lift ticket customer service lady was heartless. with no explanation or warning she voided a 10 pass card because we thought it was okay for another family member to use it. Instead of warning us of this, she voided it then made us pay for a ticket. On the back of the card is no mention of this voiding rule. " you are trying to scam us" was her explanation. A family who paid for 10
tickets, who has been skiing in the area for over 20 years, on the last week of the season and won't even use all the passes already purchased....holiday valley was the one making money on us. Be very careful, holiday valley has no heart and will no longer get our service. Extremely disappointed

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yokeens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    86
    8
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice skiing, but be careful of the village police”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

HV is a very nice resort with very interesting ski runs, nice bars, and good lodges, but if going into the village to eat is on your agenda watch out as their police want to ticket you! Stay at the resort and pass on going downtown as it is not worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great March Break Fun”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first time at this resort. We visited for 2.5 days during the Ontario March Break. Being an intermediate skier, I liked the variety of the slopes; it did not matter which chairlift you chose you can always come down on green and blue slopes (or black if you wish). The prices were good, I liked that you had many options to choose from: 4h, 8h, 12h or discounts for multi days use. The food was OK, a bit pricey, but this is expected. Overall we had a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo9r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Bar at the Inn at Holiday Valley”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

For the 4th time skiing at HV, we spent late Saturday afternoon at the bar at the Inn. Steve the barman is very helpful and friendly, keeps the popcorn basket full. Makes big pina coladas, as well serves up good conversation. We catch up on his reno's on his 100+ year old farm-house. You don't meet many too former university science teachers who decide to give up teaching because they can make more moolah with benefits to be a bar-tender. Looking forward to going back to close out the ski season (weather permitting) in April. And more of Steve's hospitality.

Skiing was great as usual, despite 3 completely different weather conditions, overm the 3 days, but then we ski in anything! Despite holding an inter-NY area ski racing bash, the line ups were non-existent. We didnt walk up and down the quaint town this time. Perhaps we should have, as almost the whole town has ski sales.
Someone complained that the runs are short, except for Mardi Gras which runs down the ridge of the mountain, where all the others are down the sides. Longer is always better, but HV has the best vertical within at least 100+ mile radius. You have to drive to New England to get much better. The groomers do a fantastic job.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have been going here for 6 years straight. Always a great experience. A short drive from Buffalo ( a bit over an hour) , so pretty convenient to get to. Prices are great and you can get checked in and on the slopes very quickly. Great place for the kids and intermediate skiier. Runs are short, but resort is very beautiful and the staff is always friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holiday Valley also viewed

 

Been to Holiday Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing