We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local and Organic Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aroma Thyme Bistro

Aroma Thyme Bistro
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Ellenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aroma Thyme is the Hudson's Valley 1st Certified Green(C) Restaurant. Take the guessing game out of where your food comes from. Chef Marcus Guiliano prides himself using local and family run businesses from wherever the product is from. Aroma Thyme features 250 craft beers, 300 wines and very well stocked bar. Open seven days. Hudson Valley "Best Of" Restaurant winner since 2003. 90 miles from NYC & 60 miles from Westchester County NY.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Local and Organic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent service and a wonderful mission: to serve local and organic food only. The menu is varied, interesting and somewhat creative, although I wish there were more vegan choices. The ambience is low-key, friendly and relaxed. A perfect outing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMarcusG, Owner at Aroma Thyme Bistro, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Glad you had a "perfect outing" at Aroma Thyme. As of this January we expanded our vegan selections. We added 3 more entrees. Thanks for the feedback and appreciating our mission. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    61
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Great Service, Awful Steak dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visiting the Ellenville area for the weekend on 10-19-2012 Aroma Thyme Bistro was rated highly, so my girlfriend and I went there for dinner.
Our waiter was really full of himself though was fairly knowledgeable and courtious.
My gf and I had both ordered the Ribeye steak dinner.
The steaks looked fine and were nice and tender.
When we cut our steaks and took our first bite this $25 apiece Ribeye tasted exactly like a cheeseburger. Some type of cheesy sauce was on them.
Both of us were shocked and very disappointed. needless to say, we lost our appetite and couldn't down a second bit.
In all this lousy meal cost us $150 and was the worse we'd ever had the dishonor of suffering through. Dan S, Rochester, NY

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMarcusG, Owner at Aroma Thyme Bistro, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Dan, we sent you an email about your experience the day after we read your review. We were hoping for a response to resolve your experience at Aroma Thyme. We pride our selves with great service and great food. However that was not the case in your experience and we apologize for that. Our staff is trained to make your food right and do whatever it takes for 100% satisfaction or the food is free. A small mention to our staff would have resulted in a new steak or different entrees whatever you would have chosen. Also the "cheese" sauce is actually a roasted garlic sauce as our menu indicated. We are very sensitive to food allergies, which includes dairy and would never add any such ingredients to a dish without saying so on the menu. We look forward to your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great service, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Ellenville has great hiking and beautiful scenery, but has fe, if any, interesting stores, markets or galleries that we could find. This restaurant is a haven for all diners from omnivores to vegans. The food was good, but unexciting. The wait staff was great and the place is inviting. We tried a variety of food- all good, but not special enoughbfor the prices, even though it has sustainable, organic food. We liked it, but will probably not return.

Helpful?
Thank NYfolkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMarcusG, Owner at Aroma Thyme Bistro, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to review us. Everything you said is very much appreciated. I apologize that you did not have a great dining experience with us. Our menu has changed a lot since October, so hopefully we have more dishes that will excite you now, if you ever choose to return. We sincerely hope we see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good eclectic food, great wine and drink, excellent Saturday night entertainement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's a beacon of life and fun which shines out in an area without many eateries. The food was done with care and can please both vegans and carnivores. The Saturday night entertainment is great and makes it a bigger draw. It's noisy but there's a friendliness and excellent service that makes you feel like you're a regular even if it's your first time there. Large wine and licquor selection. Excellent waitstaff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefMarcusG, Owner at Aroma Thyme Bistro, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review and being such a big fan of ATB! We apologize about the noise, sometimes we just have a little too much fun! :) It's awesome that you were able to enjoy our menu, service, and the music as well. Everyone is regulars here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

While vising friends in the Catskills, we went to this restaurant for a late lunch. We all had a great meal, the menu has a wonderful choice of different foods, From appetizers to desserts you will not be disappointed in the variety. When back in the area, we can't wait to try other dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandip4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Thyme Bistro also viewed

Ellenville, Catskill Region
Ellenville, Catskill Region
 
Ellenville, Catskill Region
Ellenville, Catskill Region
 

Been to Aroma Thyme Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing