We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is to RESORTS as Dr. Seuss is to medicine!! Filthy, dirty, indifferent staff. You do business at this place on THEIR terms, not yours, as a customer. The whole time I am thinking am I in North Korea or some other 3rd world government sponsored leisure hotel. Where are these reviews of "great place" etc coming from? A Red Roof Inn is more charming. There is an approximate 18% - 20% resort fee - are you kidding me, maybe at the Beach Club in Boca but here - c'mon. They couldn't even provide towels for guests at the pool or pick up trashed pizza boxes discarded at the entrance to our floor - it sat there 2 days. Based on what we saw after out first 30 minutes, we chose not to eat here - great choice. Last point - the 70's called - they want their resort back!! Avoid, avoid, avoid

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

While we would like to thank you for your candid remarks, I feel that they are a bit out of line. The resort is neither filthy or dirty and our staff consists of a team of highly professional industry leaders who have received much praise for their commitment to guest satisfaction. You are correct in stating that the resort charges an 18% resort fee to its guests (20% for catered events). This fee is well within industry standards for the amenities provided. With regards to the lack of towels at the pool and the discarded pizza boxes, we agree that this is unacceptable. As such these particular items will be addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. It is unclear as to why you chose not to eat the buffet meals provided by the resort. If you could message us with a detailed explanation, we would be more than happy to pass your suggestions along to our Executive Chef. In addition, your closing comment that “the 70’s called – they want their resort back” is unwarranted. The Hotel has undergone a massive renovation over the last six years. While the décor may not be to everyone’s liking it is most often referred to a whimsical and eclectic . It is certainly unfortunate that your experience was not a positive one. None-the-less we hope that you and your family enjoyed the surrounding area and all that it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spend three nights recently here attending a conference. We were offered excellet, good service, cleand and efficient rooms. All this at a great price. It is great placce to host conferences. This is the second time we are hosting a conference here and both times we were extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZachariahN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We work hard to maximize the success of every event held at Honor’s Haven and we were happy to hear that we were able to achieve that goal with your recent conference. We appreciate you letting us be a part of your event for the last two (2) years and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We booked a day before, and apparently there was a reason for lots of availabilities. Nice grounds, well kept, but it felt as if nobody was around. There were people with small kids at the pool, but for adults who just wanted to relax and take an occasional dip, the pool area was too loud, too small and there were no umbrellas! The building, as we were told, was recently upgraded, but the soundproofing was nonexistent. We had a real problem with noise that came from the room above where "tennis camp" kids were enjoying themselves all night long despite our multiple calls to the front desk and their subsequent promises to send security. In general the service was poor, coffee shop terrible, spa - a joke, everything was severely understaffed and it seemed that the owners cut corners on everything that has to do with service. Buffet style meals were very expensive ($35 per person for dinner) and not impressive. Overall the place was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tsilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. While we strive to provide a positive experience for everyone who stays with us, public areas, such as the pool, can become noisy at times; especially during a holiday weekend.

You are correct in your statement that the facility has undergone several updates. However, as with all historic buildings the thickness of walls and their ability to muffle sounds can sometimes be a challenge. We kindly request that all of our guests demonstrate courteous conduct during their stay and we apologize for any intrusive noise encountered during your visit.

We were very sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have asked our Executive Chef to review and modify our current menu selections as needed, which should enhance our guest’s overall dining experience moving forward.

With respect to your comment that the spa is “a joke”, it would be very helpful to us if you would message us and let us know what it was about the spa you found disappointing, so we can make improvements.

While it is unfortunate that your stay with us was less than perfect, we hope that your recent experience does not discourage you from visiting the area again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ellenville has become a depressed area and this is the best option in town. Ellenville town at night gets scarey and Honor's Haven was more secure with a 24 hour gate with guard to protect cars and keep property safe. Room was more updated than any other in area and there are no other clean places to eat in Ellenville.

We asked for sheets for fold out sofa upon arrival. We had to call back 5 1/2 hours later and then they came up with them. Bed/Bedding was clean and comfortable. Coffee Shop only sold microwaved coffee and breakfast buffet ran out of regular coffee and did not put out any coffee cups. 5 workers saw us standing around and no one offered help. Elevators were very slow and there were many unsupervised children running around the hallways and by the coffee shop area. Water pressure in shower was low and toilet ran unless handle was jiggled but there really weren't other options available in the area. The Catskills has not been maintained in general and this is the best you could get around there.

Room Tip: If you can go one town over, Wurtsboro has a Days Inn and the area is more updated with a supermarke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstGrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. While the Ellenville area, like much of the country has been impacted by the trials and tribulations of a turbulent economy, Honor’s Haven has invested greatly in the area’s residents and businesses. The town itself lends a quaint ambiance complete with several fine eateries such as Aroma Thyme and Gaby’s Café. The area also offers fast food franchises (McDonalds & Subway) and a newly renovated ShopRite for those who wish to venture off property for a quick bite to eat. However, it is important to remember that the resort does offer three buffet meals daily.

We were pleased to hear that you found our bedding both clean and comfortable. Our priority has always been and continues to be our guest’s comfort, needs and expectations. As such, we apologize for the delay encountered receiving your extra linens. Items such as these are usually requested at time of reservation so that our housekeeping staff can ensure their placement in your room prior to arrival. None-the-less, your comments regarding such have been forwarded to our Housekeeping Supervisor for the attention they deserve.

Please note that the resort’s café does not, nor has it ever, served “microwave” coffee. The café serves Seattles Best brand products as well as fresh baked muffins, organic juices and invigorating energy drinks and smoothies with unique healthy accents. The Café at Honor’s Haven also offers a general selection of light fare for that early morning, mid-afternoon or late night snack.

With regards to the service provided in the dining room, we wish you had brought this behavior to the attention of our Maitre d’ at the time. I can assure you that your experience was inconsistent with our standard of service and will be immediately addressed.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay. Came to see what is left of the resorts of the Catskills - Honor's Haven used to be the Fallsview resort, but you have to look very hard to see it. Building is very nicely and recently renovated with beautiful lobby; the grounds were impeccably maintained. There is a vaguely Asian theme in the decor and activities such as yoga (only on the weekends, we found). We got the B&B package, which was very affordable and included a nice breakfast (french toast, oatmeal, fruit, etc.), and went into Ellenville for lunch and dinner. We used both pools, the whirlpool, the exercise area, and took advantage of lovely hikes to the falls; my wife had a great massage, too. The only real downside was that there were very few people there our first day, making things feel a little too quiet; they didn't open things like the lounge or the coffeeshop. However a ballroom dancing convention came in the second day and the place perked up quite a bit. Ellenville is quite down at the heels and the former Nevele next door is empty as well, but there are plans afoot for a casino there, so the spot may become quite a bit more lively in the future. We will be back to see!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to have you and your wife as our guests and happy to hear that you were pleased with the price point of your Bed & Breakfast package as well as our many amenities. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional hospitality experience at an affordable price and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Needed to be in the area for a business meeting and thought staying here would be a nice break for one night.
The room was very nice clean & comfortable. I personally did not like the food and the way it's presented buffet style. There were many religious groups there so the dining room had many small children touching the food. I just don't like the fact that you don't have the option of eating when you want and only in their timeframe when meals are served.

The grounds are beautiful and the pool looked amazing. The inside pool was also very big. Did not have time to get a spa treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgirl2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your kind comments with respect to our lodging rooms, pool facilities and grounds. We were however sorry to hear that your dining experience was not what you expected. It would be very helpful to us if you would message us and let us know what it was about the food you didn’t like (other than its setup), so that we can make improvements. The Hotel does offer a Café on the lower level that serves light fare for those unable to attend the Hotel’s scheduled meals. We hope you had the opportunity to sample some of their delicious options. It is our wish that this experience does not deter you from visiting us again and taking advantage of the pool and spa services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed there for weekend. Lovely room,beautiful view, very friendly staff. Complimentary shuttle to Bethel Woods was very nice.Large outdoor pool, beautiful grounds. Buffet breakfast was nice, buffet dinner a little overpriced but tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran17k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We were pleased to hear that your stay with us, on the Bethel Woods Package, was a pleasant one. We enjoy being able to provide our guests with a relaxing concert experience in a beautiful setting. We appreciate your kind remarks with respect to our facilities, services, staff and grounds and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenville
10.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
335 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.8 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 4 in Monticello
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
10.5 mi away
Days Inn Wurtsboro
Days Inn Wurtsboro
#1 of 1 in Wurtsboro
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor's Haven Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Address: 1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428-2174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Ellenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Price Range: $177 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honor's Haven Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rolling landscapes, lush gardens and a crystalline lake, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa can be found tucked away on over 200 acres in the heart of the Shawangunk Mountain Region; the gateway to the Catskills. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa is the ideal destination; combining multi-faceted conference facilities and wedding sites with a wide range of recreational opportunities and 232 well appointed rooms and suites. Offering countless catering options, this unique four season resort will make you next vacation or event nothing short of extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Honor's Haven Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor`s Haven Hotel Ellenville
Honor`s Haven Resort And Spa
Honors Haven Hotel
Honors Haven Ellenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing