We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCENIC SPOT FOR CATSKILL LOVERS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SCENIC SPOT FOR CATSKILL LOVERS”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The former "Fallsview" has been renovated and turned into a more upscale, beautifully appointed hotel. Most beautiful than the inside is the scenery. With the Shawangunk mountains in the background, there is a sizeable lake, gardens and fountains. The grounds are peaceful and lush. While the food is nothing special, there is a spa and a big emphasis on recreational activities. We took a nature walk to a small water falls on the grounds, and had a surprise encounter with a friendly and knowledgeable guide, who gave us an appreciation of the birds and animals in the area. My family and Iwere there during the week. No evening entertainmment was offered that night...unlike the Catskill mountains of days long ago. Perhaps the weekends still have some kind of entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains, though facing the hotel's front is good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to have you as our guest and thank you for sharing your review. We were delighted to hear that you found both our facilities and our setting pleasing and that you had the chance to explore our grounds with our resident naturalist; he is extremely knowledgeable, as you mentioned, with regards to the indigenous flora and fauna.

You are correct about the nightly entertainment; the Resort does offer more entertainment opportunities during the weekends that include DJ dance parties and karaoke in the Zephyr Lounge.

We thank you for staying with us and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us for a weekend getaway in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    97
    57
    59
    70
See reviews for
98
103
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My friends and I were at this resort for my bachelorette. We were looking to relax and enjoy ourselves with some spa treatments.

First the good:
The grounds of this resort are lovely; obviously well taken care of and the security guard at the entrance of the resort makes it feel as though it is quite exclusive. The lobby is beautiful and spacious, probably recently renovated.

Now the "needs improvement":
My matron of honor called the hotel on July 27th to confirm our spa appointments, and the women informed her that they didn't have their August schedule available yet. We were arriving on August 4th.

When we arrived at the women's spa, we put on the terry cloth robes provided to us - only to find that they were beyond well-used. Mine had a hole in the side, a stain on the back, and a tattered belt. The room the hot tubs were in was not well-lit; the hot tubs themselves were filled with luke-warm water and the jets didn't work properly. We informed the women at the front desk of the spa, and she told us that maintenance would come but we never saw anyone.

Our rooms were expensive - $400 a piece. They consisted of two double beds, a tv, a bathroom and a sink outside of the bathroom, a microwave and a minature college-sized refridgerator. The sheets and mattresses were uncomfortable and scratchy. There was nothing I could see to make this price worthwhile. I will give the front desk credit for the fact that they gave us two rooms next to each other with conjoining doors, but other than that the rooms were a let-down. When we left the next morning, the ceiling over the toilet was pouring out water, presumably from the bathroom on the floor above us.

The other reviewers are correct - there are strange disgusting smells in different areas of the hotel and the elevators. This may be from the carpets or walls or different rooms, I'm really not sure.

I ended up having a wonderful bachelorette because of the company I was with, but I think we were all a bit dissapointed with the hotel and spa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa for your special occasion. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional experience and do our best to implement change where needed. In response to your concerns about our spa, the Resort’s aestheticians and massage therapists are outside contractors. As such we sometimes encounter a minor delay in receiving everyone’s availability. This delay however has never interfered with our guests receiving the requested services.

With regards to the condition of the robes provided, this is completely unacceptable. We have requested that our Spa Manager conduct a thorough inventory check and discard any items that are no longer suitable for use. We sincerely apologize for this unfortunate occurrence.

The management is aware of an odor problem in the elevator and is doing its best to locate the source and subsequently rectify this problem. In addition, we regret that you and your guests encountered a plumbing issue in one of your rooms. While it is not a common occurrence, our guests sometimes dispose of items via the toilet that are ill-adapted for older plumbing lines; causing an overflow situation. We are sorry that you encountered one of these rare episodes.

With respect to our pricing, the Resort does offer several different room types and packages so as to provide everyone, regardless of budget, with a comfortable and affordable stay.

Thank you again for choosing Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa for your special occasion. We are glad that you had a wonderful bachelorette getaway despite a few minor incidents. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and wish to congratulate you on your upcoming nuptials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellenville hotels

Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was so looking forward to going to the outdoor pool.and relaxing but it was closed the entire time I was there. Disgusting algae and garbage in pool. Front desk had no idea and gave directions how to get there and told me what time the pool closed. Indoor pool closed for a private class in the afternoons, so the rest of the guests were out of luck. Indoor pool lacked simple things like a bin to put used towels and a garbage pail. As a result, wet towels were left around and so was garbage. Poor communicattion with front desk. They never new if the outdoor pool was reopened. Carpets stained and worn. Various areas of the hotel had bad smells. Bus loads of kids running around the halls screaming.....not relaxing by any means.. I read there was a shuttle bus to the casino but always got the run around about when and if it would go. Ended up driving there. Front desk staff were pleasant about giving directions and the grounds were beautiful. If this is the #1 hotel in Ellenville, I would hate to see what the #2 hotel was like!

Room Tip: Don't go there expectiving a relaxing spa atmosphere. Rooms near a staircase very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The management at Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa was extremely troubled to hear about the lack of communication that transpired between our Front Desk and Outdoor Maintenance staff; leaving our guests unaware that the outdoor pool was in the process of being treated for an “algae bloom”- a common condition caused by the violent storms experienced earlier in the week. Even though this unforeseen incident was dealt with expeditiously, a sign should have been posted at the outdoor pool advising our guests of the situation. We apologize that this step was neglected.

Your suggestions regarding the indoor pool have been noted and will be addressed at our next operations meeting. We thank you for these ideas.

With respect to the shuttle and its schedule, we have been working diligently to implement a procedure. We are hoping to have this situation rectified shortly.

We thank you for your feedback and hope that your recent experience does not discourage you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen cove, new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

mildewed dirty carpeting. spots on carpet in room. the outdoor pool was filled with slime
and unuseable. intead of being a quiet spa resort it is indeed a camp for kids by the
busload. every night, because there are no parents, the kids go wild and yell and scream
and misbehave in the hallways preventing you from sleeping, the so called security
never showed up after 45 minutes. the staff at the desk was accommodating in giving
directions to get to different places in the area. the offer from security that they would
patrol the hall and would be there just call, never happened.

Room Tip: too much of a walk from the parking lot into and through the buildings. not enough CONVENIENT parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madeline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. While the Hotel hosts many different camps and groups throughout the year, I can assure you that all of our underage guests remain under the direct supervision of their camp/group for the duration of their stay and are required to adhere to set curfews as directed by their group leader. As with all historic buildings the thickness of walls and their ability to muffle sounds can sometimes be a challenge. We request that all of our guests demonstrate courteous conduct during their stay and our security officers do their best to ensure a pleasant experience for everyone, devoid of intrusive noises.

We apologize that you were unable to utilize the outdoor pool during your stay. Unfortunately, the pool was being treated for an “algae bloom”; a common condition caused by the violent storms experienced earlier in the week. This situation, which was completely unexpected, was handled most expeditiously by our Outdoor Maintenance Department, ensuring the least amount of inconvenience for our guests.

With regards to the condition of the Hotel’s carpeting, the hotel has undergone extensive renovations over the last four years and our staff is consistently commended for their level of service with respect to the cleanliness of the resort. All areas of the Hotel are periodically checked for cosmetic maintenance issues by our renovations team and we thank you for bringing this particular item of concern to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved every minute i was here. We didnt have a reservation, arrived late with 2 little ones. Chris at the front desk was an angel. She found a great room. It was a little expensive, but it wall worth it. The room was clean and very comfortable. We loved the room and the hotel it self. My only complaint, is that we couldnt stay longer. The mountain and lake view were to die for!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cortavediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were happy to hear that you found your accommodations pleasing and the surrounding landscape “to die for”. We are fortunate to be located amid some of Upstate New York’s most stunning vistas and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us for a more extended period of time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Previous posters comments about inadequate parking, thin walls, uncomfortable bedding, and
musty smells are all true. The mildew smell in the west elevator and stairwell is nauseating.

Room Tip: You can find a more comfortable bed in any respectable budget motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yankeefancartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to address your points of concern. As with all historic buildings the thickness of walls and their ability to muffle sounds can sometimes be a challenge. We kindly request that all of our guests demonstrate courteous conduct during their stay and apologize if you were bothered by any intrusive noises.

The Hotel does provide ample parking. However, during our busier periods guests may have to walk farther than they would like. During these occurrences, we do offer shuttle service to those guests with mobility issues.

We were sorry to hear that you did not find the bedding in your room comfortable. We wish you would have communicated this to our Front Desk Staff during your stay as not all of the rooms are furnished with the same brand of mattress. We would have been more than happy to provide you with a different room and a more restful experience.

Lastly, with respect to the odor in the West elevator and stairwell, I thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will have our Maintenance Department locate the source.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to address your points of concern and I hope that this recent experience does not deter you from returning to Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I were up at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of June. It was very clean. All of the facilities were in good repair. The food was very good.. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we already have made another reservation for later this summer. It was the perfect relaxing get away, We only wish that there was an evening activity available.

Room Tip: You have a choice of mountain-view or lake-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to have you as our guest, and were overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much that you have already planned to visit us again before the end of summer. Your suggestion for more evening activities has been noted and will be addressed at our next operations meeting. Thank you for staying with us; we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenville
7.9 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
10.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
264 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor's Haven Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Property: Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Address: 1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428-2174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Ellenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honor's Haven Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rolling landscapes, lush gardens and a crystalline lake, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa can be found tucked away on over 200 acres in the heart of the Shawangunk Mountain Region; the gateway to the Catskills. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa is the ideal destination; combining multi-faceted conference facilities and wedding sites with a wide range of recreational opportunities and 232 well appointed rooms and suites. Offering countless catering options, this unique four season resort will make you next vacation or event nothing short of extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Honor's Haven Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor`s Haven Hotel Ellenville
Honor`s Haven Resort And Spa
Honors Haven Hotel
Honors Haven Ellenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing