We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burger” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Deer's Head Inn Restaurant

The Deer's Head Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lunch ended at 2pm and we were there at 3 so the menu was limited and we sat in the bar area of this home converted to a restaurant. There is a thrift shop upstairs. Each room has seating for patrons during regular hours and is obviously a very historic site(the inn is very old) right across from the Essex County Courthouse. However, the burger was very good and was served with fries. The price was about average for this area. I had a local beer and we enjoyed our meal very much. Would like to try them during regular lunch or dinner hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sutherngal1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal/Quebec
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

As we were passing through Elizabethtown, the restaurant caught our attention.It was lunch time, there was a special of local fares on the blackboard...
My friend and I had the cream of mushroom thickened with lots of after taste of flour, then the soggy ham sandwich which fell apart when eaten,we also had ordered chipotle fries, we were given frozen plain ones.
Above all, the waiter was too busy serving a table of 9, we waited so long...
The place needs a overhaul renovation, please take the smelly carpets out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A bit out of the way but worth the trip. Step back into time in a colonial house across from some historic Essex County buildings. Gracious , attentive service and a cozy little bar. Like dining in your own home. All our dishes came out warm and deeelicious. Steaks were exceptional. Good value and we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to bring your parents!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The atmosphere is warm and homey. Nice slow pace, never felt rushed. The food is good and the service is too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2xs46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had this at the top of our list before our visit, but were a bit disappointed. The food was good, but the service left a lot to be desired, especially considering there were only two other tables going in the room. I think there was only one waitress to cover our room and the lounge area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VeraGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deer's Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Elizabethtown, NY
Elizabethtown, NY
 

Been to The Deer's Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing