We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold in showers, inefficifient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best West at Carrier Circle with my family. it was by far the worst hotel experience I ever had. The bathroom was dirty and full of mold. I was quite surprised because the Best Western name is supposed to ensure a certain level of quality. What was more disappointing was the staff. One day they forgot to clean the room. When I mentioned that we had a mold problem they would not change the room or pprovide something equivalent and without mold. The staff did not replenish towels in the swimming pool and price ($129) seemed to be pretty high for the level of quality and the location (Syracuse is not Chicago or New York yet the prices are, don't get it).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus. After reading your review, I can certainly understand your frustration and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our staff to prevent this from happening in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will consider staying with us again so you can experience the changes first hand and have the stay you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 763 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Horrible hotel I will never stayed at. I mean, who provides a broken crib that is not even assembled. And when you call to have someone fix/assemble it, the employee can barely speak english and doesnt even know and has to send another person to look at it..1 hour later i'm told the crib is broken and they have to get another one. The replacement crib is dirty and rusting and the wooden board below is molding..gross! We had to keep our baby in our bed with us.. The bedsheets and towels were also damp..that is likely because the A/C failed to blow dry air but rather blowed cool humid air (?). Other issues, well lets see: 1) Horrible free breakfast, just gross 2) Noisy and the demographic of people staying at this hotel is not one that you want a small child around, i'll leave it at that 3) Ripped up carpeting in corners of room 4) Door that would not close right and a broken chain lock 5) Terrible air quality Just an absolute horrible hotel...stay at a different hotel in the area. We moved to the residence inn the next night for the same price and the difference was night in day, in both room quality and service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give us your feedback. Please know that I appreciate the comments and will take appropriate action to correct the situation. Any feedback we receive is crucial to our hotel, as this allows us to grow and learn from our mistakes. Please contact me directly at the hotel if I can be of any further assistance. I can be reached at (315) 437-2761 ext 602 or at jczarniewicz@tramzhotels.com. I hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The main areas of the hotel are dated, but the rooms have been updated, comfy beds and lcd tvs are great...also love that mini fridge is in everyroom. Staff were pleasant. The pool was very cold, but the hot tub is quite nice!! The pool area was busy and they need to have more towels available for the pool users...The free breakfast buffet was typical and nothing special. There was a huge line up and not a lot of food - hard for the staff to keep up....Overall it was a clean place to lay our heads, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Best Western Plus regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and that overall you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer.
I do hope we get to see you during future visits to Syracuse. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the third year we have stayed at this property for our annual visit to the state fair. We enjoy this hotel because of its proximity to carrier circle, the free breakfast, and the pool. I have to say, though, that this year was the worst stay we have had. The staff were very courteous when we checked in. We were given a room on the bottom floor near the side entrance. Upon entering, we found several long, dark hairs on the white bedding and towels. The bed in this particular room was also very low to the ground, as if the mattress was very old and beaten down. The staff were very courteous and abliged whence requested a different room.

The second room was not too much better. The bed was decent and appeared clean, but the room smelled of mildew and the air conditioner worked very poorly, even when turned up to its highest setting. I like the room cool, but it did not go below 72 degrees during our entire stay. The bathroom was another problem...in serious need of some updates. The tub was old and the surrounding looked like it had been punched in and caulked over several times. The tub mat was dirty and brown and the soap holder was still dirty from a previous person's bar of soap.

Alas, I thought the saving grace was going to be what we enjoy most...the pool. Wrong. In past years the pool has been clean and well kept. Not anymore. The pool and hot tub were cloudy and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days or weeks. The concrete surrounding of the pool was growing algae and the top part of the hot tub had a thick green build-up that people were carving their names into...yuck. On top of this, the pool area is not monitored by hotel staff, so none of the posted rules are followed. Children fill the hot tub from open to close...one couple even brought their toddlers (without diapers!!) into the hot tub. Hotel staff that walk by to refill the towels said nothing.

If you're looking for a nice hotel with an indoor pool near Syracuse, look at other options. There are newer, nicer hotels in the area that charge almost the same price. We will be researching these options for next year. Hopefully management takes these negative reviews to heart and encourages updates and regular upkeep to attract better business. Unfortunately, we will not be returning.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LauraB203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay. I am currently looking into the issues you described and would love to speak with you directly about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at (315) 437 2761 ext 602 or jczarniewicz@tramzhotels.com. I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second night at a Best Western following a stay in Watertown. This location was much nicer, though the bathrooms were dirty. This hotel could definitely use a renovation in the rooms. Front desk staff were pleasant. Pool area was dirty, there was plenty of mold and mildew, and looked like the pool could use a good cleaning. Our room overlooked the pool area, and our curtains did not close all the way so we had to change hiding beside the window. It was very loud until the pool closed at 10pm, we have a 4yr and 6 yr old so it was not a great location for us.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the pool. It is open until 10pm and very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments as they assist in continuously improving our service and facility. Our goal is to ensure the ordinary experience becomes "extraordinary" for every guest and we appreciate every bit of feedback our guests offer. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you when you return to Syracuse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our whole family enjoyed stay at this hotel. Check in and check out are very fast, beds are comfortable, overall, we had a very comfortable stay. The hotel location is also pretty good, very close to highway. The breakfast is good too. Staffs are very friendly. It was a Saturday when we stayed there, so, if I have anything to complain, the swiming pool is a little bit too small, too crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Qingshan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience as a guest of the Best Western Plus. I am happy to hear you found our hotel very comfortable, the location convenient and the staff friendly. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 6:00 p.m. and was met by an irate hotel reception staff. We had phoned a head and reserved a room with a discount coupon and given a confirmation number. When we arrived the staff person didn't want to honor the rate given to us. She said there was a convention going on and we shouldn't have been given the room rate. We persisted and showed her our confirmation number and the coupon. She then grumpily agreed and complained about other staff not reading a notice. During the check in process she was very unhappy. The only person at the hotel that was happy and helpful was the lady taking care of the complimentary breakfast in the morning. The energy in the hotel was depressing and it felt old. The hallways needed painting and some TLC. The newly renovated part of the hotel seems to be the reception area and front landscaping. Wouldn't stay here again. First time staying with Best Western I was not impressed with the chain. Staff morale seemed really low.

Room Tip: Away from the indoor pool. It closes at 10:00 p.m. and opens at 8:00 a.m. in the morning. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07KimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Plus. I am very sorry you experienced such an unprofessional level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the Front Desk regarding your check in, have been addressed. I appreciate you alerting me to this issue and I hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the Syracuse area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#21 of 31 in Syracuse
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus East Syracuse Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Syracuse Carrier Circle
Quality Inn Syracuse Carrier Cir...
#16 of 19 in East Syracuse
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle

Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd S, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1299 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range: $76 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Syracuse University, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Columbia College are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions as well as the War Memorial Event Center, are also nearby. Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Destiny USA is less than six miles from the hotel and offer world renown shopping, entertainment and gourmet food. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from NBT Bank Stadium and the Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds. Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, The Roundabout Tavern on site, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and 24hour coffee available. Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as flat screen TV with cable television, free WiFi Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing