We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, minimal update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had stayed at the old Holiday Inn 2 years ago - saw that BW had purchased the hotel & theoretically did an update into a Best Western Plus. The old Holiday Inn was old & worn but the location was convenient - and the pool was nice.

I selected the BW Plus based on experience with BW Plus in Europe... I was VERY disappointed. This is a traditional BW standard hotel in the US. The rooms are a good size, the bed is excellent, there is a flat screen TV and there is an indoor pool -but other than that - this is the old 2 star HI. The A/C Heat unit was dirty, smelled, and did not heat. Other than cleaning the bathroom, there was no update - still the same tile, same drop ceiling (maybe they replaced a couple of tiles)... One of the phones in the room did not work, the wallpaper is peeling, the carpet is stained, the breakfast buffet is marginal...

The one bright spot was that the hotel employees were very helpful. Greeted me enthusiastically, providing directions, and were overall very cheerful.

Overall - if this is a one night stay - and you get a good deal - great - otherwise, try the DoubleTree or the Embassy Suites...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Please accept our deepest apologies for your experience while at our hotel. This experience is not typical of our hotel and we would love to have the opportunity to win back your confidence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again. I would be more than happy to assist you in any way I can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 774 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Syracuse for our 5th wedding anniversary oct. 5th to oct. 8th. We also considering moving to the area so it was a nice getaway from the big city ( we live in NYC). Over all, the hotel is nice, the room was very clean, a good size queen size bed, clean bathroom with lots of towels, a flat screen TV with a large verity of channels. We stayed in room 311 which as I requested before coming to the hotel was far away from the pool and was in a very quite area considering the hotel was fully booked. We were provided with free hot breakfast for our stay which included scrambled eggs, sausages, French toast, verity of juices, bagels and pastries. We enjoyed our stay in Syracuse :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthrise20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We all work hard to make sure our guests get the most pleasant experience possible and we truly appreciate when you let us know!
I am happy to hear that you're thinking of moving to the area. Syracuse has a lot to offer for business and pleasure....if you need any assistance or recommendations, feel free to contact me and I will be more than happy to help you any way I can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is in a good location but a little way out of Syracuse city. There are not many hotels downtown but there are several hotels close by the Best Western. Hotel is a high standard and staff are very friendly and efficient, I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

I want to personally thank you for your recommendation and your comments regarding the staff and property. I am glad you had the opportunity to share this with everyone and I hope to see you if you ever travel to the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid Sept, our sat nav had a bit of trouble finding it and we called the woman on the front desk was great and we were there in minutes. She was very friendly and helpful. The main area is quite nice, as the hot tub was also very relaxing. The room needs a bit of revamping, the exhaust fan in bathroom didn't work, which didn't bother us.

Our room looked out onto the hottub and pool area, so no real daylight, and had to keep curtains closed the whole time.
The breakfast was quite nice and better then a continental breakfast.

It was clean and good for the night

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near pool area as no daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and able to guide you to our hotel so quickly. Your warm input has been passed along to our team and has been truly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We made a reservation as we were traveling with our small dog. The staff was most accommodating; even had a treat bag for our pup. Clean and spacious room, better than average breakfast and restaurant and bar in the hotel. The tv was difficult to operate, but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired04Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and were able to bring your furry companion. We know how special they are to you and we treat them like any other guest!
Please stop in and see us again next time you're in Syracuse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed here for two nights at the start and end of August for the past three years as midpoint in a long annual trip. We chose it because it is pet-friendly and seemed like an adequate hotel close to the highway.

They changed ownership last year and now the rooms have been revamped and upgraded.

When I made my reservation, I asked for a cot and said we have a dog. When I checked in, they gave me a bag with dog treats along with pet instructions for the hotel. In the room, the cot was there and ready for us.

The room includes a decent breakfast.

I wouldn't come here as a destination, but it was a good clean stop close to the highway and we will probably continue to return each year.

Room Tip: There seems to be a smoking wing, so unless you are a smoker, make sure your room is far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peuclid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Peuclid,

I am thrilled to hear that you have made us a regular stop over for the past three years! We are very close to I-90 and conveniently situated off of Carrier Circle which does make us a popular destination for many travelers.
Our hotel is still family owned by the same caring family as in the past, but we did change our hotel brand last year after renovating to the Best Western Plus, and in addition, we have recently changed our smoking policy and our rooms are now 100% smoke free.
I wish you safe travels and hope we get to see you again next year, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is a little dated but was clean. I will amend that as the room was clean on entering and while we were there but when I picked up my dogs travel case the last morning I discovered ants under it in droves. I mentioned this at the front desk on checkout and the girl was very nice and said she would tell housekeeping about it---they also took $30 off the bill. The bed was comfortable and it was nice having a fridge in the room. I did find the hotel noisy especially since we had a room overlooking the pool area--the next time I will request a room away from the pool. I had tried to change rooms on arrival and the front desk tried but being a long weekend they were unable to do anything. Having a restaurant on the premises was nice as travelling with a dog we were able to pick up some food at night and have it in the room. This was a nice plus--not having to go out and pick up something after a busy day shopping. The breakfast was good for a hotel breakfast---eggs, sausages and egg toast along with the usual breads etc. I would stay here again as overall I was quite happy with the hotel and the staff seemed very friendly and the location was good--you did have to drive to get to anything but that is quite common with a lot of hotels. Being pet friendly was a big asset and there was a lot of grassy areas to walk the dog. One big plus was the shower head---it was great---one of the best in any hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room not overlooking the pool as this made it quite noisy when the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Happy Wanderer9,

I would like to thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. It really means a lot to us when our guests take the time to write and let other readers know about their stay and it also lets us know how good we are doing and where we need to improve.
We hope to see you in the future, I would be more than happy to assist you with reservations and make sure you have a quiet, comfortable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus East Syracuse Inn
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#22 of 31 in Syracuse
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#5 of 19 in East Syracuse
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Syracuse Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle

Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd S, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1299 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range: $74 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Syracuse University, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Columbia College are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions as well as the War Memorial Event Center, are also nearby. Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Destiny USA is less than six miles from the hotel and offer world renown shopping, entertainment and gourmet food. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from NBT Bank Stadium and the Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds. Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, The Roundabout Tavern on site, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and 24hour coffee available. Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as flat screen TV with cable television, free WiFi Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramada East Syracuse Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing