We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regatta Bar & Grille

Regatta Bar & Grille
6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
(315) 432-0200
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Spectacular service and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed this restaurant very much after a mediocre stay at the adjoining hotel. We had the breakfast buffet, which was very good and mostly house prepared. The omelette was exceptional, and fresh salsa surprisingly tasty. Our waitress was simply wonderful and accommodating to our two rambunctious boys.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cantripper3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Horrible Sunday Buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

When I called to make reservations, the hostest told me I might want to come earlier becaue they close down the buffet around noon. We arrived at 11. The food was COLD and many items on the buffet steam table were empty (and never replaced). the cook for the omellettes/waffles, etc. was not to be seen. Hedid show up after a 15 minute wait. This was a waste of $15.00 per person!!!!! This restaurant (inside the Doubletree hotel) used to have a fantastic Sunday brunch buffet. sorry to say that is no longer the case.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch with Friends & Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

On a buget you can still enterain out of town guests with style. A sunday bruch at the Regatta is an elegant way to start your day. Very friendly staff who bring a pot of coffee and leave it at your table. A must for us coffee drinkers. Buffet was small but well stocked. Eggs benedict, which were yum!!! to an omlet chef. Hot and cold cereal, pasteries to rolls, potatoes and of course bacon! Lots of fruit and yogurt choices too. When I inquired about the potato pancakes, that were at another table, the waitress told me of their location and promptly brought me a platefull! It was a lovely experience and will definitly return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKarenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY State
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If only we knew...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My wife and I made reservations for dinner for December 30, 2010. I requested a nice table that would be off to the side and a little more intimate.

When we arrived on time for our reservation, we were offered the last table left in a busy bar area dining room. It appeared that they had no intention of using the main dining area immediately adjacent to the bar area. I informed the hostess of my reservation request - the manager on duty reluctantly seated us in the main dining room. So for all intents and purposes, it was quiet and intimate. Our waitress brought us menus in a timely manner. When we asked, we were informed that there were no specials that evening; boy, did they hit the nail on the head!

Our salad had pieces of wilted lettuce in it, our steaks were thin and not cooked as ordered, and our baked potatoes were definitely re-heated - dried out with some black inside the potato. My wifes' steak was over cooked, mine was under cooked. My wife left hers well enough alone but I asked for mine to be cooked a little more - a little more didn't mean dried out, charred, and leathery. When we told our waitress about our potatoes, she apologized and offered us mashed potatoes instead - "our mashed potatoes are very good!" as she put it. They basically came in tea cups without handles and were just plain bland. We asked to see the manager and told him of our less than pleasant dining experience. He told us that they really didn't have a priority on serving dinners that evening; that they were "gearing up for the New Years Eve bashes tomorrow night". Lucky us! If your not going to do dinner right, why do it at all? IT'S YOUR BUSINESS! He offered us dessert on the house; at least it was good.

All in all, it was about the worst dining experience we've ever had. It was the worst $70.00 that we ever spent on a meal. And to be honest, we told the manager on duty that we understood and would not contact the general manager of the restaurant about our bad experience, but 2 months later, this experience is still gnawing at us....

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrfightr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Bar & Grille also viewed

East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Regatta Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing