We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place, the reviews appear outstanding. We checked in after 9PM on Saturday night as a family of 4, traveling with two daughters ages 11 & 14. The reception was warm and welcoming, although the elderly concierge basically told us we overpaid by booking online through hotels.com. (odd introduction, but "whatever"....) When we rounded the corridor to our first floor room (104) there was an overwhelming odor of stale cigarette smoke. We always assume these days that the hotels we stay in are non-smoking. I guess there are still smoking rooms available. The room was a good size, but a bit dated. There was dark carpeting on the floor and while seated in an armchair I spotted a little clump of small crawling insects on the floor which I quickly crushed and then managed to put all bags on higher ground. I'm not a fan of ground floor rooms for this reason. The room had 2 queen size beds and the linens were not ironed. The beds looked like they had been slept in. It was a bit weird. I just thought that with so much positivity about this place how could our experience be so different? The room temperature was hard to regulate and we had relatively restless night of poor sleep. The girls had to share a bed and they found the mattress uncomfortable.

The breakfast selection was OK. There were not a whole lot of healthy choices available, but for sure everyone managed to find something suitable. We used the exercise room. There were 2 treadmills, an elliptical and a bow flex. Everything was in working condition although not commercial grade. Overall very disappointing. Will likely not return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jobird65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am very sorry to hear your disappointment while staying here at our hotel. I do find it strange that our desk person stated anything about your rate. I have checked your rate and found it to be the normal rate we offer. He is old school and still thinks you call the hotel directly. He is from Ottawa and was only looking out for his fellow Canadian. We do have two smoking rooms in our hotel, currently we are looking to go totally smokeless. However we do continue to see demand for smoking rooms. Personally, I am pushing for 100% smoke free. Any kind of an insects in our rooms is highly unheard and is a major concern, as our rooms are treated and inspected by a professional outside company on a quarterly basis. I will pass this infomation onto them so they can inspect this room immediately. I am sorry you did not enjoy our beds. They are less than a year old and are Simmons top of the line Double Pillow Top Platinum Series, and people have been raving about them since we installed them. In general, it does concern me that you were not completely satisfied, and I would like to discuss some form of compensation with you, however, I do not have any information on how to reach you. Please, when time allows, please call me at the hotel.
Thank you!
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    159
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
267
142
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We only discovered this place in August 2012 and our March break stay was our 3rd since then.

So easy to pop down from Ottawa for a couple of days of R&R. A quick phone call to the front desk gets a great room at an even better rate. On arrival we were greeted by Shad, the most awesome front desk guy you will ever meet.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for less than a two double room at any of the Hampton Inn's in town and the kids get their own bed! Heaven for parents who love peace and quiet.

The breakfast is just great for a family - the atmosphere is so relaxed, we love it there.

On our last night we came back late to the hotel and asked Shad where to go for a great meal at a local joint and he sent us to McShane's. A short 90 second ride from the hotel will get you some of the best pub food food you have ever tasted and the restaurant was very family friendly.

I have really been struggling to find something bad to say about this hotel but I can't think of anything, the staff and rooms are nothing short of awesome!

We'll be back again in the next few months! See you then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freezingmybuttoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hey Freezenyour butt off,
No need to struggle looking for something bad to say about the hotel! We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and your stay.... Soom the warm weather will be here and you will have to change your password name... Pool opens third week in May, hope to see you then!
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for an evening before catching a flight out of Syracuse. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was positively luxurious! The kids had their own bedroom and bathroom and we had our own bathroom and bedroom, and there was a separate living area with kitchen table, fully-equipped kitchen (full fridge and stove) and sofa and TV (and TV's in each bedroom). We were really spoiled with all of the space! The room was very clean.

Unfortunately, we arrived too late in the evening to take advantage of the light dinner, and our flight was at 7am, so we also missed the breakfast (which started at 6am, but we had to leave before then to catch our flight). I asked the night before if we could grab a yogurt or muffin for the kids to take with us on the flight, but the woman at the front desk said it wasn't possible and suggested that we go to the Denny's. If I could make any suggestion, it might be to allow guests who have to check out very early to grab a muffin in a paper bag, rather than have to buy a breakfast at the airport, but this was quite minor.

Our great thanks to the early morning front desk gentleman who cheerfully found and returned my baby's toque/ winter hat from where we dropped it in the parking lot the night before! We would have been in trouble without it, so thanks a million!

Be sure to call to book and ask for the deal for Canadians. I think it was Leo (he lived in Ottawa previously, on Island Park Drive) who was friendly and gave us a great rate. We've stayed in a bunch of hotels before flying out of Syracuse, but this was by far the best and we would stay here again without hesitation. Great value for the money, and very comfortable suites!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We hope that you enjoyed your family trip to where ever,,,, hopefully you went to a warmer climate with no snow!
Thank you for your very positive review on our hotel and we are so glad that you made your lodging reservations with us. We look forward to future visits down the road!
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed here for a night while in Syracuse for a family event. We arrived fairly late, and checkin was a breeze. The place was so quiet, even though the lot was full. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place to be! We received an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite that had so much room we were in awe. Plenty of room for a family and all the amenities you could want. It had a kitchen area which we did not use, but noticed some nice touches like salt and pepper and a welcome basket with some food items in it. This place would be great for a long term stay as it's bigger than some apartments I have lived in. The beds were roomy and comfortable and the areas were clean.

We did not avail of the breakfast as we wanted to get on the road early, but saw plenty of people taking advantage of the meal.

When travelling to Syracuse again, we will definately look to this hotel again. Great value, and a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, this help other travelers decide on here they want to stay. We are proud to be so highly recommended and to be rated so high, against some very nice hotels, but this just tells us that we are doing it right! The next time you visit, you will have to stay for breakfast as that only adds to the overall value..We hope to see you on your next to the Syracuse Area. Thank you for your review and business. See you soon.
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barryville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and there was a tremendous amount of space. We got there very late after an event at the Carrier Dome, and our check in was quick and easy. Our breakfast was ok. We did stay during the time change and didn't go to breakfast until a little after nine, so that may have affected our options. The only complaint we really had was we could hear everything. Even when someone turned on the shower, we could hear the water from their shower hitting the wall. But thankfully my kids were so tired from the day that none of the noise woke them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandKim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Mike and Kim,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are very happy you selected our hotel on your trip to Syracuse and the Carrier Dome. Should you have time, please either send me a email or call me ( I need to know what room you stayed in or your last name so I can research that room) as I am concerned with the noise issue you stated you had. One of the more common praises of the hotel is how quite it is when you are in your room. This is the first time I have heard this about being able to hear any noise from outside the room. Thank you and we certainly hope to see you again.
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Cresthill Suites is a very affordable suites motel with a number of extras that make it stand out from the typical hotel in this price range. First of all, it is very clean and in excellent repair. Suites are well laid out and of good size while location is 10min from the airport and adjacent to major interstate highways.

The complimentary breakfast includes hot and cold items, fresh fruit, etc and is more than ample. Monday-Thursday they also advertised a LIGHT social hour with wine and beer. It turns out this is enough for a light dinner. When I was there they had fresh salad and two different kinds of pasta, one with sausage and peppers in white sauce and the other was chicken and veggies in tomato based sauce. Both were delicious, and along with garlic bread, was a great meal.

All together with the helpful staff, free internet, etc I would certainly stay here again and look to stay at other locations as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Debby,
Thank you for your thorough review. You mentioned the social hour on Thursday, a big hit, Chef Dave serves up homemade pasta dishes every Thurday. It is now becoming our most popular and filled night in the hotel. We are adding more days to his schedule. Thank you for your positive feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future, try Wednesday's (chillin and grillin by the pool) BBQ.
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pleasantly surprised and delighted with our recent stay. The rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, and really clean. Free continental breakfast included many healthy food options. A short 10 minute drive to the airport. Great stay for those flying further south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstocker, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review for others to evaluate our hotel. We are glad you were happy with your recent stay with us. We look forward to your return trip soon. Thank you and safe travels.
Jim Stocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#3 of 19 in East Syracuse
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrestHill Suites Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrestHill Suites Syracuse

Property: CrestHill Suites Syracuse
Address: 6410 New Venture Gear Dr, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in East Syracuse
#3 Family Hotel in East Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CrestHill Suites Syracuse 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CrestHill Suites Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresthill Suites Syracuse Hotel East Syracuse
Cresthill Hotel East Syracuse
Cresthill Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing