We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Has the best gym out of hotels in the area. Internet is horrible though.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
“Has the best gym out of hotels in the area. Internet is horrible though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

One of the better hotels for the area. Gym is above average for a hotel... it's also pretty quiet and I slept well. The internet is AWFUL though. Connection is much better at SpringHill or Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words on our room comfort and fitness center and apologize our internet connection was disappointing during your visit. We have alerted our provider to the issue and hope to have a better internet experience the next time you come to visit us.

Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    266
    159
    49
    34
See reviews for
251
149
41
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really have to say, I'm beginning to think that the great staff experience is just a Doubletree standard, and not a fluke! I have to give a great big shoutout to lady at the front desk who checked me in; her attitude and genuinely helpful nature really had a great impact on my day and kudos to her for knowing that a little, simple warmth and kindness makes all the difference.

Room service staff was also very polite, prompt and courtious.

Only two negatives: the hotel was down one elevator, but they explained the why's and wherefores of that situation and the hotel clearly just installed new carpeting, which let off a less than pleasant smell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takacedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for highlighting both the good (The reception and rooms service team) and "need for improvement" (Our elevator being renovated) aspects of your recent visit with us. It is apparent that your overall experience was a positive one and we thank you for both staying and sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my first stay at a DoubleTree brand as a HHonors elite member which has convinced me to consider DoubleTree brand for all my future stays. This was my 5th Hilton property stay within a 1-week period and DoubleTree Syracuse was the #1 experience among the others I've visited.

Check-in experience was one of the more memorable ones with their complementary signature chocolate chip cookie. (It's warm!) Upon arrival of room, dim lighting was set with classical music playing in the background as a welcome (Fantastic!) Personalized letter in room acknowledging visit was a nice gesture. Room is spacious - we loved the color scheme choice of this property - earthy and warm colors. Bathroom size was good, clean and hot water was working fine. Did not experience internet connectivity issues as others stated.

We also visited the bar during this stay with a party of four. The hostess was attentive and provided excellent service. We stayed past 2am, not sure what the closing time is, but the hostess was there till the very end.

Only criticism I have for this property is their elevators. They have one on each end which in my opinion is a long walk from the lobby. The elevators are small and boy it is chilling COLD to ride for some reason. Fixing the elevator heating issue would earn my all time #1 favorite hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skotumk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is at par with the Double Tree Hiltons.

The internet is VERY slow (<0.25 Mbps). The location is a little out of town, but it is not too bad if you have a car.

But GET THAT AWESOME BREAKFAST BUFFET! It is out of this world! Things are so fresh, that you cant even imagine - Fresh Orange juice, Fresh muffins, Made-to-order Omellettes. I got a free breakfast voucher when I checked in as a Gold Member.

Room Tip: Ask for 246/247 - only two rooms with microwave/fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vansh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay experience and although the internet speed wasn't as blazing as it should of been, we're glad that you mentioned and recommend our fantastic breakfast buffet so strongly! We thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been at this hotel for more than 2 weeks on a project and the internet is so bad you can't even login to your email. Worse than that is the elevators. One of the two is down at all times and it takes literally 6-7 minutes for the elevator and when it finally comes....the housekeeping staff has their carts in the elevators and you can't use it! I couldnt get to work. I would definately stay elsewhere. The food in the restaurant is not good though the staff is great. The gym is good but not enough to compensate for the inability to use the internet and the elevators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dakota0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your extended business trip and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for issues you have encountered with our elevators and internet service and we are working with our maintenance team and service provider to correct these issues as soon as possible. We know how important it is to stay connected while traveling and we regret any hassle our wireless internet caused you. We are glad to hear you found our staff friendly and gym convenient and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve, the next time you travel to our area.

Thank you,
Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night and was very pleased. All of the staff at this hotel were very friendly and accommodating, and made sure my night was perfect. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing your positive stay experience with all the fellow travelers out there! We truly appreciate the mention of our staff members and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairport
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only drove from Rochester but wanted an indoor pool, restaurant, bar in one location for a little R&R. The kids loved the pool (which was clean!) and the buffet was yummy!
The staff was very accommodating!
Unfortunately we had 2 double beds b/c they were booked full. These are TINY with grown adults sharing it! Upgrade to at least a queen!

Room Tip: get at least queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#2 of 19 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing