We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits and Misses...the room is a hit, the details a miss.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Warnerville NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hits and Misses...the room is a hit, the details a miss.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

i had not stayed at the Doubletree for a while and was looking forward to returning. While the hotel has gone through a makeover to its credit, the service has slipped since my last review in 2009.

First though, kudos where they are due... manager-for-the-day Jillian Ossoovert was instantly available, did her level best to fix what she could, and commiserate when she couldn't. She went a very long way towards bringing up the review's rating by her attitude which was clearly: the guest is First Priority. Also, the parking lot was cleared of snow as thoroughly as possible when I left for my business meetings in the morning.

However, the visit started out badly when I slipped on a wet marble floor and fell, sustaining contusions and a very sore tailbone. Jillian was right there, took a report, and made sure I was all right enough to get to my room. Admittedly, this was the day of the first snowstorm of 2012, so some wetness was to be understood, but these were puddles.

On getting to my room, I noted that one of the lamps did not work, but decided to take care of that later. I called downstairs asking for any calls to be held until I called back to say I was free, so I could soak in a hot bath undisturbed, and perhaps ease my aching back. Within ten mintues the phone rang. And rang. It was clearly not being held as I requested. I clambered out of the tub and ran for the phone...only to find that the phone I grabbed was dead. By the time I got to the other phone the call was gone. I had to return it immediately, since it had not been held, and by the time it was completed, the bath was cold and I was exasperated. (I was told one of the cleaning staff put the call through by mistake. That seemed hardly plausible, but I was not about to argue it with the front desk.)

Jillian offered to comp me dinner, and I was grateful for the kindness. I ordered sea scallops, and when they arrived, took one bite...and immediately spit it out; the shellfish was clearly"off" and I did not want to take a chance, as seafood can be very nasty that way. I frankly was so tired of having to complain or correct things, I simply pushed it aside. So dinner was a baked potato and salad; the tray was left outside with the scallops not eaten. During dinner, the maintenance man arrived and fixed the lamp and phone...and left his tools in my room in the middle of the floor. I called downstairs, told them he had left his tools and put them outside, next to the dinner tray. I then went to bed.

On returning to my room the next day, again the small touches were missing. A half-drunk glass obviously from dinner had been left on the table, the toiletries in the bathroom had not been replaced, and when I went to get a cup of coffee, just as it was in 2009, the provided half and half was sour, and curdled in the coffee. At this point, I completely gave up.

I like this hotel; I really do. Its renovations are marvelous. The room itself was lovely, very clean, and the bed comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. But a hotel is not just the bed and the bathroom; it is the small details and conscientiousness of the staff that make a stay memorable, and cause this frequent traveler to come back. On this trip, with the one huge staff exception mentioned above, the details and conscientiousness were definitely missing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Psychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    302
    176
    61
    40
See reviews for
285
171
47
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here twice during the Chrismas holiday. Excellent customer service. The lobby and lounge/restaurant are nice and recently renovated, but the rooms are showing their age. One can tell by the small bathroom and sliding glass doors to a shallow balcony this property was built a couple of decades ago.

After a long day's drive I was looking forward to relaxing in the sauna and hot tub, but found both to be out of order.

Overall it was a comfortable stay, but I may explore other properties next time I am in Syracuse.

Room Tip: Top floor seems noisier due to airport close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stopped over here on a roadtrip, but wish we could have stayed longer. We got a corner room, and the placed seemed very quiet. The room itself was spacious, and I was in love with the beds, SO comfortable! Location was great too, right off the highway, but far enough that you cant hear any of the traffic. Not much in the area though, so you would need to search in terms of places to eat if you plan on finding food nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NEAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Hotel appears to have been upgraded. Customer Service excellent and priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you very much for saying so and also for taking the time to share this with your fellow travelers, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've always had an above average experience at Double Tree. This time I was shocked at the poor quality of the bed. The mattress was extremely soft and provided zero support. I literally sunk to the bottom, couldn't sleep and woke up with a sore neck and back. This wouldn't stop me from staying at a Double Tree again, but it makes me wonder if they're trying to cut corners somewhere. If so, the bed is the last place where they should be doing this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience and discomfort of the bedding. As a DoubleTree hotel, our guest stays all start with a comfy Sweet Dreams bedding package so if we don't deliver with this not else matters. We hope given the opportunity to address the situation we did out best to correct it and we sincerely apologize if we did not.

We appreciate your loyalty to DoubleTree and hope that we have another chance to have you as our guest and show you that we are committed to making every stay great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here after driving down from upstate NY, prior to an early flight the next day. Hotel helped me drop off my rental car the night before my flight and got me to the airport on time. Very comfortable stay. Helpful Staff. I would certianly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was above average and has easy access off the thruway and within minutes of SU. There is ample parking and a nice lobby. The rooms were clean seemingly well kept with a decent bathroom and good shower. The kids loved the indoor pool which was warm and the hottub which seemed clean. There are nice tables and chairs on the pool deck with plenty of clean jumbo towels. There is also an outdoor pool for summer months. There was also a nice aerobic fitness room adjacent to the pool area.
Heard there was a prime rib dinner but we couldnt make it.

Room Tip: Hallways are long and the elevators are a little slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#3 of 19 in East Syracuse
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#5 of 19 in East Syracuse
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Syracuse Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing