We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
SE UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Heading towards Labor Day and rooms are tight so I looked around the business districts and sure enough there were rooms. The Candlewood is getting a little tired looking but us oldies know the benefits of life experience outweigh the fripperies of youth.
Not only was the desk clerk welcoming and helpful but so were the other guests, who helped us bring our luggage from the car. As the suites are mainly aimed at long-stayers I guess they build up a little community.
We were allocated an accessible room and it worked very well. There's a tub but it's low. If you're on your own, beware the door - it needs the strength of Hercules to open. If you're not on your own, choose a slim partner as the gap between bed and wall on one side is minimal.
The bed is comfortable, furniture rock solid, and the room very well set up for business travelers with, joy of joys, multiple electrical outlets at desk height. Free WiFi works well.
For the more able there's a fitness suite.
Food is available from the honesty shop, situated directly opposite the accessible room (along with the fitness suite - ah, if only.)
One last point in its favor (or favour if you are travelling from England) is that you can bring all your old VHS tapes and play them here - there's a combined VHS/DVD player in the room, which perhaps gives you an idea of its age.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umpalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our very best to make our hotel "home" for our guests staying long term, and I really appreciate hearing that you noticed! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    11
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
17
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent this past weekend in the Syracuse area to attend a birthday party and then travel up to Oswego to visit our niece who's attending college there. We spent Saturday evening and it was our first experience with Candlewood. Shari at the front desk checked us in and made us feel like we were home. Our room was very clean and comfortable with complete kitchen appliances. What was surprising was how quiet it was. The location of this property is really good too because it's central to many locations. You can tell this is a well run establishment and we look forward to antoher stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Shari as well. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights. We did a lot in two days. Was all over state of new York (Waterloo, Syracuse, water town, Rome etc) this was a great place. Super cheap and clean. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Workers are rude, not the cleanest. And nothing to do. Surprised its number 10 out of 15. Shouldnt be even on the list at all. Trying to get out of here quickly. If staying in syracuse, dont waste your time in Candlewood suites, go right to the residents inn. Now that is a good place to stay. They have a pool and breakfast every morning along with dinners mon. Thru wed. And the workers can kill you with kindness.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joleenabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear joleenabraham,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had car trouble and East Syracuse was an unexpected stop for us. We stopped her and thankfully they had a room for us. The room was nice and clean. We were travelling with our dog so we had to find a pet friendly place which can be hard last minute. We were glad to find this hotel. They were very pet friendly and the fee was reasonable.

Room Tip: Good pet friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Did not know this was an extended stay hotel until we checked in. Was only here two nights. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and even gave away free tickets to get something out of the "cupboard" which is their version of a little convenience store. Coffee is free and everything else from soda, chips, tv dinners etc are available for pretty fair prices. Laundry facilities are available too. The room was dated but very clean with all the essentials. Separate room for the bedroom with it's own tv, small living room, small kitchenette with microwave, stove, sink, fridge and cabinetry. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone staying 2 nights or 2 months, great value no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade if you are a Priority Club member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfstancato0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on May 3, 2012. The personnel here are extremely helpful and friendly. This is basically an extended stay suite motel. There is an entrance hallway but no lobby. For our one night's stay, the one-room suite we had was clean and contained the basics, along with a small kitchenette. There is a room off the entrance named "The Pantry" which allows patrons to buy small food items that are very reasonable priced and the purchase is based on the honor system of payment - having such reasonably priced items conveniently available for purchase is a really nice perk. This motel is located amongst a cluster of other brand motels. There are some restaurants located within these other motels or only a short drive away from this area. For our traveling plans of passing through this area for a one night stay, the price was just right. It has both non-smoking and smoking rooms and allows pets. If concerned about smelling smoke residue, it's our understanding that one should ask for a room on the first or second floor. Yes, there are better appointed motels within this cluster of brand motels, but they are priced higher; therefore, for price point and location, Candlewood Suites is worthy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
0.6 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#2 of 19 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle

Property: Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Address: 6550 Baptist Way, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Hotel East Syracuse
Candlewood East Syracuse
Candlewood Suites East Syracuse
East Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing