We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Heading towards Labor Day and rooms are tight so I looked around the business districts and sure enough there were rooms. The Candlewood is getting a little tired looking but us oldies know the benefits of life experience outweigh the fripperies of youth.
Not only was the desk clerk welcoming and helpful but so were the other guests, who helped us bring our luggage from the car. As the suites are mainly aimed at long-stayers I guess they build up a little community.
We were allocated an accessible room and it worked very well. There's a tub but it's low. If you're on your own, beware the door - it needs the strength of Hercules to open. If you're not on your own, choose a slim partner as the gap between bed and wall on one side is minimal.
The bed is comfortable, furniture rock solid, and the room very well set up for business travelers with, joy of joys, multiple electrical outlets at desk height. Free WiFi works well.
For the more able there's a fitness suite.
Food is available from the honesty shop, situated directly opposite the accessible room (along with the fitness suite - ah, if only.)
One last point in its favor (or favour if you are travelling from England) is that you can bring all your old VHS tapes and play them here - there's a combined VHS/DVD player in the room, which perhaps gives you an idea of its age.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umpalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our very best to make our hotel "home" for our guests staying long term, and I really appreciate hearing that you noticed! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 90 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent this past weekend in the Syracuse area to attend a birthday party and then travel up to Oswego to visit our niece who's attending college there. We spent Saturday evening and it was our first experience with Candlewood. Shari at the front desk checked us in and made us feel like we were home. Our room was very clean and comfortable with complete kitchen appliances. What was surprising was how quiet it was. The location of this property is really good too because it's central to many locations. You can tell this is a well run establishment and we look forward to antoher stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Shari as well. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights. We did a lot in two days. Was all over state of new York (Waterloo, Syracuse, water town, Rome etc) this was a great place. Super cheap and clean. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Workers are rude, not the cleanest. And nothing to do. Surprised its number 10 out of 15. Shouldnt be even on the list at all. Trying to get out of here quickly. If staying in syracuse, dont waste your time in Candlewood suites, go right to the residents inn. Now that is a good place to stay. They have a pool and breakfast every morning along with dinners mon. Thru wed. And the workers can kill you with kindness.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joleenabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear joleenabraham,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had car trouble and East Syracuse was an unexpected stop for us. We stopped her and thankfully they had a room for us. The room was nice and clean. We were travelling with our dog so we had to find a pet friendly place which can be hard last minute. We were glad to find this hotel. They were very pet friendly and the fee was reasonable.

Room Tip: Good pet friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Did not know this was an extended stay hotel until we checked in. Was only here two nights. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and even gave away free tickets to get something out of the "cupboard" which is their version of a little convenience store. Coffee is free and everything else from soda, chips, tv dinners etc are available for pretty fair prices. Laundry facilities are available too. The room was dated but very clean with all the essentials. Separate room for the bedroom with it's own tv, small living room, small kitchenette with microwave, stove, sink, fridge and cabinetry. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone staying 2 nights or 2 months, great value no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade if you are a Priority Club member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfstancato0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on May 3, 2012. The personnel here are extremely helpful and friendly. This is basically an extended stay suite motel. There is an entrance hallway but no lobby. For our one night's stay, the one-room suite we had was clean and contained the basics, along with a small kitchenette. There is a room off the entrance named "The Pantry" which allows patrons to buy small food items that are very reasonable priced and the purchase is based on the honor system of payment - having such reasonably priced items conveniently available for purchase is a really nice perk. This motel is located amongst a cluster of other brand motels. There are some restaurants located within these other motels or only a short drive away from this area. For our traveling plans of passing through this area for a one night stay, the price was just right. It has both non-smoking and smoking rooms and allows pets. If concerned about smelling smoke residue, it's our understanding that one should ask for a room on the first or second floor. Yes, there are better appointed motels within this cluster of brand motels, but they are priced higher; therefore, for price point and location, Candlewood Suites is worthy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#21 of 31 in Syracuse
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Syracuse Carrier Circle
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#5 of 19 in East Syracuse
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle

Address: 6550 Baptist Way, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your Syracuse home away from home at the newly renovated Candlewood Suites. Our multi-million dollar renovated extended-stay hotel is situated less than 5 miles from downtown, just off the New York State Thruway. With Syracuse University, Onondaga Lake, Destiny USA shopping center and the city’s best restaurants less than six miles away, staying at Candlewood Suites is like having your own apartment in the heart of Syracuse. Our 92 condo-style suites feature flat-screen TVs, DVD players, spacious bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens and plenty of room to spread out and relax. Premium appliances like a stovetop, dishwasher, garbage disposal and full-size refrigerator make it easy to prepare great meals in the comfort of your guestroom. Our cozy bedding ensures a great night of sleep, while our spacious work desks and complimentary Wi-Fi help guests stay connected and productive. Arriving with a four-legged friend? Just let us know and we’ll be happy to book you into a pet-friendly suite. Forgot to pack your toothbrush or need to purchase a quick meal? Our on-site Candlewood Cupboard is ready for you, stocked with breakfast items, snacks, beverages, toiletries and more. Other convenient amenities like free guest laundry and a state-of-the-art fitness center make Candlewood Suites a perfect choice for extended stays in Syracuse. Our condo-like accommodations have become a favorite for our extended day travelers seeking comfortable temporary housing close to downtown. Whether you’re relocating to the area or just want to surround yourself with the conveniences of home, you’re sure to love our all-suite property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites East Syracuse - Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Hotel East Syracuse
Candlewood East Syracuse
Candlewood Suites East Syracuse
East Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing