We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed herre with our whole gym of cheerleaders for a national competition. It was awsome. The rooms were big & clean, the atrium was absolutely beautiful and the pool was great for the girls. For younger kids there is an arcade. The morning breakfast was plentiful.
We all had a fantastically memorable time. We would definatly stay there agian.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Angileyze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2007

We have stayed at the Embassy Suites Syracuse several times, and have never had a problem with it being dirty. The staff is always great, the restaurant isn't busy, but the food is good. The free breakfast and manager's happy hour are wonderful, especially those with a family. We always stay here when in town.

A few negatives are it isn't a cheap hotel, and the pool can be cold. Otherwise, a fine place to stay.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Dear Scott Austin (GM of Hotel),

While often we travelers are quick to complain, I suspect we don't always give credit where it's due.

My situation is around 200 nights a year in hotels, and I can assure you that I have minimum expectations that must be met that determine if I even stay the second night, let alone rebook a property. I have checked out of hotels after the first night on 5 occasions this year alone, and 1 time without even staying the night. My minimum expectations are secure and clean comfortable surroundings with competent staff. If I observe that my minimum expectations have been met, I sometimes look for things that make the stay even more pleasant.

When a property meets my expectation, I give them a 'C' grade, which means that they are average. If they go an extra distance, I increase that grade. Seldom do I ever find a property that gets an 'A' grade, because that means pure excellence to me, and it's not always the amenities that are important, but the intangibles as well.

My experience at this property was unanticipated. While the exterior was typical, I was truly awed by the appearance of the interior lobby and commons area, with it's subdued lighting and soft background music, it was very pleasant and relaxing. As I was going through the days there, I was thinking of things that might add to the enjoyment of the stay that I couldn't find, perhaps kind of a game to trip up the hotel to establish a final grade. But as time went on, it was like I had this little genie on my shoulder, and every time I thought of something, it was -poof- and it appeared. Naturally it was there all along, yet it shows the unintrusive layout of amenities at the hotel. While the layout of the guest room itself was just typical, I enjoyed the lack of billboard advertising that so many other places force you to wade through and endure.

Regarding the staff, the Hilton chain usually has the 'Catch me at my best' theme to single out individual staff members. Well, it's kind of hard to single one out when they are all at the top of their best. Everyone that I encountered here had such a can do attitude that is lacking at so many other properties. It's truly enjoyable visiting a property with smiling service that has staffers that are not sniffing for tips all the time. While they didn't turn any tips down, it readily appeared to me that they didn't expect any. From the moment I walked in late the first night, the front desk staff set eyebrow raising expectations, and was punctuated by the restaurant and breakfast area staff. The second night, I was carrying some items to the elevator, and had someone come rushing over to push the elevator buttons for me. Unbelievable.

This property has set the high bar for standards of excellence, and I feel deserves a grade of 'AA'. I would definitely stay here again, and would absolutely recommend this hidden diamond to everyone.

In the areas of improvements:

- I would only suggest that the guest room housekeeping could be improved a bit, there was dust on some horizontal surfaces, typically above eye level that has accumulated. I would only rate the guest room housekeeping as a 'C' . I found myself sneezing quite a bit.

- The internet service gets an 'F'. It is slow and unreliable, disconnected frequently, and gave Nomadix popups much too often. Nomadix should not even intercept me once I have signed in. When I commented on that at the front desk, they typically ask did you report it to the hot line. Quite honestly, I say no, because it's not my responsibility to debug your network problems. I do this type of work for a living, and I have no interest in working for free to resolve it with someone that is half a world away and speaks English as a second or third language.

- Let's get some beer for the manager's reception. Miller Lite is not beer.

See you next time!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Xuvok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2006

This hotel is far from perfect, but its staff tries hard to be good. A last-minute request upon check-in for two double beds (rather than a king) was honored by the front desk supervisor at no additional charge. A call for a small fan produced one within 10 minutes, delivered to the room by an attendant who declined a tip! The track-suited employee minding the pool at 8:30 p.m. scolded unruly kids for splashing, bid us good night on our way out the door, and reminded us of the hours for complimentary breakfast.

Staff pleasantries can't dismiss physical plant problems. At registration, two of three keycard machines weren't functioning. The outer automatic lobby door for the handicapped (and those who use baggage carts!) opened only sporadically, and the overhead device that works the inner handicapped door was literally falling from its moorings. Push-button panels in one elevator were loose. The spa pool was tepid at best. The console television in our suite's sitting room was on the dark-and-blurry side.

Embassy Suites is on the high end of the lodging price spectrum in Syracuse, so comparatively it should be physically better than its many nearby competitors. It should at least be as good as the people who are running it. Sadly, it's not.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Joe_Zlomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

The first thing to know is that the directions from Hertz Neverlost and Mapblast will not get you to this hotel. Somehow it has escaped their attention that an expressway runs between the dead end they take you to and the actual hotel. Finding it from there can be a challenge.

This is a property badly in need of renovation. The bulb in one bedside lamp was burned out and another lamp had no bulb at all. Everything was shabby and surprisingly dirty. A tray of half-eaten breakfast was still outside the room next door at 7pm!

Forget the almost empty restaurant with a hostess who clearly wished she was out dancing. There are several better restaurants just around the corner. Come to think of it, there are several better HOTELS just around the corner, too. This location is no longer an acceptable choice, especially at the price charged.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lightbreadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

My minimum criterion for a hotel is that it is clean; thus, this Embassy Suites failed to pass even that simple test. The front desk staff were lovely and very accomodating, but the first room I was shown had a smear of feces in the toilet, mud on the side of the bath tub and hairs on the BR floor. In the next room, the carpet was dirty, there were both food stains and actual food on the floor (potato chips?). This is the type of joint where you never let your bare feet touch the floor. Never again......

Stayed: April 2006
3  Thank viviang697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

We had a lovely suite/room that overlooked the pool. The room was clean. Nothing to complain about. Was roomy for three of us (incl 1 child). Was a little noisy one night, but managment is great at sending everyone who is under 18 back to their rooms.

The buffet breakfast was amazing.

Great value for your money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Later34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse Destiny USA
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#3 of 19 in East Syracuse
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse

Address: 6646 Old Collamer Rd, East Syracuse, NY 13057-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range: $102 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite property featuring spacious two-room suites, complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary beverages and snacks at our complimentary evening reception. The hotel is conveniently located off the New York State Thruway (i-90) at Exit 35 and Carrier Circle, just minutes from Downtown Syracuse, Hancock International Airport, Syracuse University, LeMoyne College and Destiny USA. Many outdoor recreational activities are available including Onondaga State Park, beaches and public golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Syracuse
Embassy Suites East Syracuse
East Syracuse Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing