We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 135 - CLOSED

Bistro 135
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street (East Rochester)
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went to Bistro 135 by myself for a quiet dinner. The rolls were hard and stale The scallops were delicious but overpriced. Service was TERRIBLE, I never got my salad and had to wait and wait and wait for my meal and the check. When a restaurant charges $30 for 2 stale rolls, 4 scallops and and half a cup of risotto, the service should be excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gratuity issues - avoid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have eaten here several times before. Went here on a recent Saturday night, later night reservation. They had live music with a 60s "Rat Pack" theme. The food was good, good bread, nice salad. Everything was fine until we got the bill and I ended up tipping the place twice, by accident. Bistro 135 included a 20% tip on the bill - something I have never experienced before in the Rochester area. I ended up double-tipping because the check had a line for "additional tip" and I missed the "additional" part and did not realize a 20% gratuity was AUTOMATICALLY added to the bill.

If there is one thing I hate as a consumer, it's that gnawing feeling that you just got ripped off. You let your guard down briefly, and you get screwed because you didn't go through things with a fine tooth comb.

I don't know what's up with this restaurant, but I would avoid it based on this business practice. It's a shame because the place is nice, the atmosphere is good and the food is good. But for a party of two people, it is outrageous to automatically ream us for 20% regardless of how the service is. As it was, I paid a 40% tip for the evening, and was left with indigestion when I discovered the mistake a couple of nights later.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for a romantic evening- but go next door for coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice romantic evening here with my husband. The place was packed and the band was excellent (Gap Mangione). Entrees were a bit overpriced, but otherwise good, although the fillet came out medium instead of medium rare. Appetizers and salads were reasonable and very good- calamari app, arugula salad. For this type of restaurant I was surprised that they only offered regular coffee. We would have been ok with that, but they only had half and half- no milk in the house. We ended up going to Limoncello's next door for a latte instead, which worked out nicely.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An east Rochester highlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

great menu, nice bar scene, good music sometimes. The cellar "spillover area could use some warming homey touches though!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank trippytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
“Best place on the Planet of East Rochester!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

These guys are phenomenal! The food is excellent, the service is top notch, and the Jazz is wonderful! Best place in and around Rochester to eat. Ask for Meagan. She's remarkable!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clinton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 135 also viewed

East Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
East Rochester, Finger Lakes
East Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
East Rochester, Finger Lakes
East Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing