We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect paradise, one of the best beaches ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise, one of the best beaches ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed in Kurumba for 7 days until we flew to Dubai and it is the most beautiful island you will ever stay on. The resort was easy to get to from Mali Airport by boat, and the beach bungalow we stayed in had it own private beach with white sands. You very rarly saw anyone else! The bungalow was a nice size, airy with a huge bathroom and indoor and outdoor shower. The restaurants had amazing food, and you could order dinner on the beach which was a nice surprise. The spa was very well organised and the treatments very good. We did scuba diving for a whole day which was a great experience, and took a boat ride out to the see the sunset and the dolphins. I could not fault this place at all. It is a perfect place for relaxation and paradise.

Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GizzyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,777
    476
    93
    23
    18
See reviews for
913
1,853
79
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Wow - for starters this hotel is absoultey beautiful and such a ideal location that it's hard to put into words what an amazing time we had. We travelled in June, it rained everyday but in short sharp and amazing bursts that were fascinating to watch. (don't let it put you off, it was just as hot and just as beautiful) There are some things that you need to consider (and I mean really consider) the Maldives is expensive. When I saw this written in reviews I just thought it would be pricey - but its beyond pricey. It was £13 for a malibu and coke and when we realised we had forgotton sun lotion (i know, I know!) but it was over £20 for a tiny bottle. Something my husband mentioned every day. So, forget nothing! Also, buy snorkel gear here and take it with you - the sets were £50 each to buy or £40 to hire. I recommend getting some sea shoes that you can walk in just to allow you to not worry about what your stepping on in the sea but it was perfectly safe. They fog the island at dusk which keeps the mosquitoes away but still take as much protection as possible. We went Half board plus which was more expensive but alowed us to eat in any and all resturants there (and there are many) Lunch meals were about £20 a head. This is not a cheap island so be prepared for a big bill if you like a drink especially. I do, however, recommend it as the best hotel if you are looking to avoid the sea plane/lengthly tranfers. Also, request a room that doesn't face towards Male as the view of the city is not what you come to the Maldives for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Just came back from a wonderful week at Kurumba. We booked it because we found a very good last minute deal, and were extremely happy we did so. It really is a wonderful place. Rather than reiterate all the positive aspects already mentioned by other reviewers, I'll mention those which meant the most to me:

1. Location - although some regard this as a negative, the island is literally 15 minutes by boat from Male...which after an 11 hour flight is very welcome.

2. Staff - I have never encountered staff who are more genuinely friendly (rather than obsequious/false friendly which you find in many 5* resorts). Every member of staff goes out of their way to do everything they can for you, in the cheeriest possible way. An example of this is that I emailed before we arrived to ask for a beach front room (which I would highly recommend you do), as the holiday was to celebrate our engagement. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded from a superior room to one of the best beach-front delux bungalows!

3. Beach-front delux bungalow - this was absolutely fantastic. It was a large room with a cathedral ceiling, four-poster bed, dressing room and massive bathroom complete with outdoor shower area! Behind the bungalow was a private terrace with day-bed and table and chairs, leading out to our own private bit of beach. The sea was literally 10m from our bed!

4. Restaurants - There is the Ocean Grill, where you can sit in the sand overlooking the sea, a Japanese restaurant, Indian restaurant (amazing, we went there three times), Lebanese, Chinese and Italian restaurants, as well as the main buffet one and beach bar. All are very good quality although very expensive. I would definitely advise not to go on an all-inclusive package where you can only eat in the main buffet restaurant as then you can't eat overlooking the sea and you would miss out on the other delicious options.

5. Wildlife - the quality of snorkelling right off the beach is fanatastic. There are beautiful fish and coral a few metres into the sea and if you swim out a little behind the walls (which protect the island from erosion), you can find snorkelling which equals that I've experienced in Sharm el Sheikh and the Great Barrier Reef. There are thousands of baby sharks continually circling the island, which are beautiful to watch from the beach and from the beach bar at night. Also look out for the massive bats which fly around, even in daylight!

6. Accessibility - there are tarmac paths surrounding the island, although not along the beach itself. So it would be possible to get a pram or a wheelchair from the rooms to the main restaurant and pool areas very easily.

If you do decide to go, here are my main tips:

1. Food and drink is extremely expensive (I think that's true for all the Maldives and the weak Pound doesn't help). Every night they do a "Cocktail of the day" which is only $5 and which are usually very good. You can ask for this in any of the restaurants, even though it's only on the main beach bar menu. You can also ask for the cheaper wine from the beach bar when you are in the restaurants, rather than their own wine lists (this is still $9 a glass though). A good way to save money is to order vegetarian mains - a chicken curry at the Indian restaurant is around $28 (plus $9 for rice), but a veggie curry is around $17. For lunch, a good way to save money is to order a pizza ($20) or club sandwich ($22) from the beach bar and then share it between two - they will bring it on two plates and it's enough for a light lunch for two.

2. As everyone has mentioned, email to ask for a bungalow which doesn't face Male, and one which is right on the beach. It makes a huge difference.

3. Don't bother with the glass-bottom boat trip (unless you wont be snorkelling), or the snorkelling boat trip. They are expensive and just take you round the reefs on the island which you can swim to from shore anyway.

4. Take rolls from the breakfast buffet and feed the fish off the very end of the pier - there are massive fish there and literally hundreds swarm to the top if you feed them.

5. You absolutely need water shoes as there is sharp coral all over the sea bed. We got some really cheap but good ones from Sportsdirect. You should also buy your own snorkel as you really will want to use it every day - it costs $10-15 per day to rent them at Kurumba. Also, don't forget to bring mosquito repellant - you'll need it!

The main negative aspects of Kurumba are those mentioned by many other reviewers: you are so close to Male that you can see it clearly, as well as many unattractive tankers, and hear and see planes taking off frequently. There is also a wall surrounding the island, to prevent erosion. These aspects didn't bother us in the slightest. The only other negative I found myself was that there are no uninhabited beach areas on the island - the whole island perimeter is surrounded by beach bungalows and people do tend to stay on the beach outside their own bungalow (which in most cases, such as ours, is lovely). It does mean though that you can't find a romantic area of beach just for yourselves - perhaps you can in quiet season when all the bungalows are not occupied.

For the above reasons, however, if you are planning a honeymoon or a literally once-in-a-lifetime trip to the Maldives, I would probably advise going somewhere where you can have the true "Robinson Crusoe" experience of being on a deserted island. Also, for such a trip I would definitely recommend an over-water bungalow (of which they have none at Kurumba). For anyone else just looking for a wonderful, luxurious, romantic holiday in the sun - whether as a couple or with very small children - I would definitely recommend Kurumba.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

We booked a weeks all inclusive holiday to kurumba with Kuoni only to find on arrival that Kurumba is not an all inclusive island...... how odd and how very annoying. What we got was drinks between 12 and 2pm and from 7pm to 1am ,meals at meal times at one restaurant . One of the reasons for booking this island was the selection of restaurants aswell ,we were given 30% discount at the other restaurants but it didnt help with the fact we had in our own minds already paid for all meals and drinks. The Kuoni rep was sympathetic and said this issue had been raised several times before ,so Kuoni know about it but they also know that once you are there you have no choice other than to pay for the food and drink you thought you had already paid for. So not a very good start to the holiday but the beautiful beach bungalow we were given was a great distraction , I had read the best side of the island was the one that didnt face Male and had asked specifically for a bungalow there . It was definately the right choice ,the bungalow itself was spacious and luxurious and opened out onto the sand with the ocean a stones throw away. The only downside was the force 20 gale that blew every night and rattled the rafters so if you are a light sleeper it may be better to opt for the view of Male .
The main restaurant where you eat exclusively as an all inclusive guest is a buffet affair that struggles to make your mouth water at its exotic content, every day is a different theme for lunch and dinner however what it says isnt what it is , unless ofourse argentinian food includes beef in black bean sauce . The ocean grill has more ambience and even though the menu was quite limited the food was beautifully prepared and presented . The only other restaurant that was available was more of a cafe selling pizza and burgers which we didnt try .The island advertises itself as having up to 9 restaurants ,there was an arabic restaurant and a chinese restaurant that were never open but that was it not sure how that makes 9 ?
Entertainment is sparse so be prepared and take a pack of cards, there is only so much extra curricular activity you can physically do in a day ! On that note I should mention the 2 shops sell ky and condoms but very little else of any use so take everything you need dont think you might be able to buy stuff there because its unlikely they will stock the stuff you need. Not a big issue but good to know before you go.
Kurumba is the original maldive island the first of its kind ,its an established holiday resort and is maintained beautifully and staffed by a team of friendly efficient locals who really make you feel welcome . As long as you go prepared you will have a great holiday I am certain

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We travelled to Kurumba on our first holiday in a long time without our 4 children and were looking for peace and tranquility in a luxurious location, we got that and so much more!

From the minute you arrive at the airport and are greeted by the Kurumba boat crew you are looked after and pampered ever step of the way, from the cool towels and chilled water on the boat transfer, which is a speedy 20 minutes from Male, to the spectacular service offered by every single member of staff through out our weeks stay.

We stayed in room 161, a deluxe bunglaow, which had the most spectacular location right on the beach and with a fantastic view out to sea, yes there are parts of the island where you can see the main land at Male and this was our view to the left from the beach but we had no complaints and nor did any of our fellow travellers. As for the noise of the planes that is mentioned in other reviews, I think you have to be looking for something to complain about if this is really an issue for you!

We had never been to the Maldives before but spoke to several other couples who had and they all agreed that the level of service and the food and facilities at Kurumba where far better than other places they had visited. I can only speak for our expereince and can say without a doubt that we would visit again, the room was beautiful and well kept during our stay, the beach was clean and was raked and cleaned every day and there were beautiful sections of coral 20 feet from the shore with lots of different fish to see.

We went B&B and ate in different restaurants each evening and without fail every evening the food was spectacular, I'd struggle to say which was my favourtie but recommend highly the Lebanese as we ate there twice and the food was fantastic. Yes the wine is expensive but I strongly recommend the Mojitos served in the main bar, a bargain at $5!

There were families with small children but not many and the way that the hotel is set out you only really saw them at the breakfast buffet or if you used the hotel pool, its a very easy place to be able to see no-one and spend some serious relaxation time.

Special thanks to Noar at the beach bar who looked after us every day, making sure we had a supply of cold drinks without having to move from our sun loungers and for arranging a special romantic evening where we watched the sun go down from our loungers with a chilled bottle of wine and some beautfully arranged flowers.

I cannot recommend Kurumba highly enough, it was everything we wanted and I can honestly say I have never been anywhere with sand so white and sea so beautifully blue, my partner and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing Maldives holiday and looking to stay in a room facing the amazing beach then this place is for you. We stayed in Kurumba for 1 week at the start of May and really enjoyed our week there. The quality of the waters and snorkelling in the waters around the island are excellent. You can see baby reef sharks swimming around the island and under the stilts of the restaurant which is great. We loved being located right in front of the beach and having our own deck chairs just in front. We went half-board which we were glad that we did as all the restuarants are very expensive and the main restaurant had everything that we wanted. We stayed in a Delux bungalow and were very happy with it. It was the perfect Maldives relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Kurumba Bay met and exceeded all of our expectations of the Maldives. It was a superb resort and the short boat ride from Male airport to the resort was wonderful and a blessing after a long but good flight.
We atayed in a delux bungalow that was seconds from the beach, privacy was superb and the rooms spacious, luxurious and clean. The outside bathroom (as well as the large indoor one!) was a real treasure as was the lovely private terrace area. The flora and Fuana was beautiful and so highly maintained, orchids, jasmine etc you name it. The attention to detail everywhere was wonderful. Many have complained about the planes due to the proximity of male airport but living in London means I am always under some flight path or another so I didn't notice them.
The sealife was incredible, we saw sharks, a ray, a blue fin Tuma and loads of beautiful exotic fish and all so close! The pools are fresh water and wonderful and the beach bar location in the evening for happy hour is a must, watching the baby sharks and the Heron all whilst sipping an apperatif ! The only downside is the price of alcohol in the Maldives - as it is all all imported it is highly expensive but if you plan for this then you can be prepared - and at least you appreciate it is for a reason and not just a huge 'mark up' for the sake of it!
The best excursion by far is the sunrise picnic - a day of boats, seaplanes, other resorts, snorkelling off sandbanks in the middle of nowhere and a wonderful picnic lunch on a deserted island having waded across a lagoon from one of the resorts. The views of the atols from the seaplane are incredible - and seeing local village life.
Kurumba was a wonderful place and the new management are seeking to improve it even further (such as cutting back some of the flora and Fauna on the beach as whilst lovely some sunset views were often blocked but you only had to move to see it!).
We would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ologhlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,919 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
18.0 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Property: Kurumba Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing