We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go to Kurumba for our honeymoon.It was an absolutely beautiful island and the staff couldn't do enough to help us.

We chose the 'all inclusive Dine Around' which gave us a choice of various restaurants - all which were suburb and of highest standards. Also the variety didn't get boring as each restaurant had different cuisines including Indian, Japanese, seafood etc. Our favourites were the Italian, The Ocean Grill and the Japanese.

The island was stunning, lush and beautiful sandy beaches. We were lucky enough to get a sea view bungalow (no.155) which was about 10 feet from the clear blue sea!

The staff were so polite and did everything to make our stay as comfortable and memorable - any issues the sorted it immediately.

I highly recommend Kurumba for a holiday, it's luxurious and beautiful and also very good value for money. It's also great for families and one day when we have a little one we would definitely love to go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AliLeon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Ali Leon,

We are certainly glad that you had an amazing honeymoon on Kurumba. It is a great island for couple who want to balance, romance, great food and some activity and adventure.

Good to see that you made the most of the dine around all inclusive and it certainly leads to great indulgence without the stress of your outgoings at the end of your holiday.

Our goal is certainly to provide our guest with some of the best value for money for the experience and quality we are offering.

Again, thank you for taking the time to do a great review.

Maldivian regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,767
    475
    92
    23
    18
See reviews for
908
1,847
79
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Kurumba maldives from 2nd feb 14 to 5th feb 14 and it was a short but exotic vacation . we felt pampered and all our needs were meticulously taken care of by well trained and most courteous staffs of Kurumba . We stayed in beach front delux bunglow and the accommodation was perfect , We stayed in bunglow no. 140 , But i will recommend people to try for Bunglow 150 onwards to get a better view of the lagoon which is just few meters from the bunglow. The choice of restaurants were ample , though we could not eat in all of them but we had dinner at Ocean grill and lebanese retaurant..and food was amazing in both the places..
The resort maintains strict timing for everything .. that is something which is little annoying as because u come to this wonderful place to relax without any time boundation. All restaurants need pre reservation for dinner , . we couldnt get reservation in the Japanese restaurant Hamikajee even when we tried to book the same on that day afternoon.
House reef snorkeling trip is a must . we also went fro the sunset and dolphine cruise , which was equally exciting .
Overall we had a wonderful honeymoon at Kurumba and i would like to give all the credit to the hospitality of the staffs who really made our stay at maldives special. .

Room Tip: Beach front delux bunglows are best as because they are just few steps from the lagoon . Bunglow 150...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi_mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good afternoon Roshi,

Thank you for your great review and glad you had a wonderful time.

Glad that you enjoyed the complimentary house reef tour and enjoyed the accommodation.

Appreciate your point on the restaurant bookings and the reality is that if everyone cam at once, we would have a real challenge on our hands to provide good service and for food to come out in a timely manner.

Again, thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We wanted a relaxed holiday in the sunshine and definately was not disappointed. We booked via kuoni as we found a package was better value than booking directly with resort. We arrived on 18 January 2014 for 2 wonderful weeks. On arrival we were met by a kuoni consultant and taken to our transfer which was a luxury cruiser for the short transfer to the island. Our room had obviously been allocated as our bags were tagged onboard the boat and taken directly to our room on arrival. On arrival on the island we were met by very friendly staff who checked us in, gave us refreshing drinks and sorbet before giving us a quick tour of the island on an electric buggy.
We had read comments on tripadvisor before booking and decided to stay on the north side of the island. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was just a few steps from the beach.
Our room was huge, very clean and well furnished. We had lots of TV channels available to is and free wifi which even worked on the beach. Beach towels, beach bag, slip flops, umbrellas, every little detail,was taken care of.
The patio area was large and also well furnished. They only thing I was not too keen on was the open bathroom. I would have preferred it closed, but the outdoor shower was amazing.
The beach was a picture postcard and so peaceful. The beaches are shared by just a few rooms and each room has dedicated sun loungers. Many days we had the beach to ourselves.
When we arrived we were told the island was almost full but we hardly ever saw other guests except in resteraunts at night and even then they were never full which made for excellent service.

When we arrived, we chose to upgrade to the dine around package to enable us to pick and choose where we wanted to eat. Everything was explained clearly to us about what was and was not included. Due to an error in administration the package was not allocated to our room so on check out we were told that because of the error they would reimburse the difference between the cost of the package and what we actually spent.
We had lunch and cocktails every day plus dinner and drinks in the evening and it was still cheaper than the dine around package so I wouldn't recommend this package unless you intend to drink excessively.
We tried all restaurants and the food was excellent in all of them. Yes they were more expensive that at home, but considering the location it was worth every penny. Our favourite was the Indian restaurant by far. We could easily have eaten there every night. Staff were wonderful whoever you went, always smiling and wanting to chat to you.
Every evening staff dropped off a leaflet advising of the following days excursions and also which restaurants were closed. We were advised at check in to book well in advance for dinner but we had no problems at all making reservations.
This island is ideal for everyone, couples, families, even single travellers. You feel very safe and comfortable wherever you go on kurumba.
I loved this island so much and was very sad to leave. Definately will go back. Really could not fault it at all.
Yes there is aircraft noise due to the closeness to the airport but this did not spoil the holiday.

Tip - Purchase some beach shoes for the water. Lots of small sharp bits of coral on the sea bed.

The only negative thing - on transferring to the boat on arrival the tide was obviously in and the boat was very high in the water. We had to balance on a small strip on the side of the boat and be assisted by staff onto the boat. I feel any elderly / disabled people might find this stressful. It would be helpful to have small steps. There was no problem at all on the return as the tide was lower.

Definately recommend this island to anyone wanting peace and quiet.
Well done to the management team, you have done so much to make kurumba a very memorable experience. Your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: North side of island has best snorkelling and also you can't see Male from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 788Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Jay,

We greatly appreciate your review and kind words. Sounds like you had a fantastic holiday. I have to agree that the dine around all inclusive package is great value and you really do get to have the best time possible without having to stress about bills.

Thank you for highlighting the small touches.

We have noted your comment and have purchased stairs for the boats when there are extremely high tides.

Again, thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Kurumba is simply amazing ! Was there with wife & our 2 years old, we were there for 5 day (end Jan 2014). Kurumba experience starts with a 10 min comfortable boat ride to the island. Once at the island, we were welcomed by Kurumba staff whom directed us a waiting lounge to process check in. Waiting was comfortable – we were served delicious coconut ice cream. Transfer to the room was smooth and fast after an orientation (in a buggy) of the island and its facilities. The island is kept very clean by its dedicated staff.
There were several surprises awaiting us in the room. Number 1 the resort had prearranged for us bottle sterilizer and other baby accessories for my 2 year old daughter. Number 2 a welcome drink and a note from GM… no 3 … the room! Its proximity to the beach.. it’s size.. its was better than we expected ! Distance to sea is about 15 steps. the room was clean and well maintained.
My daughter enjoyed the soft sand, building castles while my wife had a great time snorkelling, waters are clear and calm and fishes come close to the shore, we got to see variety of fishes, corals and even spotted a baby shark several times. The rooms are cleaned twice a day, once at noon and once more when we return from dinner.. which I appreciated very much !
We signed up for half board and the variety and quality of food at the restaurant is actually very good. We got to savor Indian, Italian, Arabian as well as Japanese dishes over different days. Desserts spread and quality was simply amazing.. Banana soufflé.. What a treat..
The excursions organised by Kurumba are well run and organised, Maldives Experience is recommended if you wish to experience the local community and their way of life. Second part of Maldivian Experience took us to a picnic island for BBQ grill lunch prepared Kurumba chefs. We had a fantastic lunch after which you are free to do a variety of sports or sea activities. On the final day took the Photo Flight .. got to see the world famous barefoot pilots (literally) and their amazing skills.. the view from the top ? worth the money ! The dolphin cruise was unsuccessful as we had to turn back due to bad weather, guests were given a choice of refund or retry the next day.
What makes this place so amazing and why it has so many brilliant reviews is actually due to its dedicated staff. The staff are simply amazing & sincere in their efforts to assist the guest! I would highly recommend Kurumba ! We cant wait to go back to Kurumba !

Room Tip: Beach front deluxe bungalow.. Worth every penny !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abdvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear abdvad,

It was a pleasure to read your review and you certainly sound like you made the most of it for your family holiday. We do put a lot of effort into offering diverse range of excursions at good value.

Thank you for your kind words about the buffet in Vihamana and I will certainly pass this onto our Chefs.

Kurumba does offer some of the best value for money and we are always looking to pleasant surprise our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Kurumba resort in February 2014. The place looked so beautiful, it felt like Paradise!!
The stuff were very polite and always willing to make our stay unforgettable. A problem occurred with the bathroom during our stay, but it was solved efficiently, although we expected we could have an upgrade, or, at least, offered some extra service (complimentary spa, for instance). Anyway, the assistant manager was very helpful and tried his best, to solve the issue and keep us satisfied. He offered a free-of-charge fishing experience, which was very nice. What impressed us the most, during our stay, was the superb beach, with the crystal blue water, the white sand and the palm trees, which meet the water... Excellent landscape, a truly divine experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Mihalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Anna,

Thank you for your post and my apologise for this small glitch in the bathroom. I am glad that it was rectified quickly.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay otherwise and hope to welcome you back to enjoy the clear water and white beach.

Warm regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in first week of February for our honeymoon.
Optimum days of stay for enjoying all excursions and having a relaxed time would be 8-10 days.
We had a great experience. People, food, stay were all great.
I would suggest you to opt for Full board all inclusive.
Staff is very helpful, courteous and honest.
So just relax, lay back and enjoy the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamhanetanmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your glowing review and this is appreciated. It is always great encouragement to the team in our efforts to please our guests.

We certainly hope to welcome you back one day and we always strive to raise the bar and continue to exceed guests expectations.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Kurumba has an abundance of coral around which many fish, of every size, colour, hue and design can be seen. Amazing to view is the reef on the outside of the man-made banks which leads to a sudden drop in the ocean, The best coral and fish In my opinion are found in front of rooms 207/208 and further to the right.

Air conditioned speed boat ride from Male airport to Kurumba Island was very quick and comfy. We were treated with coconut ice cream on arrival at Kurumba and transported to our bungalow by Selvie, who explained the facilities available to guests, as we drove past them.

Bungalows are spacious with an interleading dressing room, which leads to a beautiful bathroom with washbasins on either side, an indoor and outdoor shower plus a bath tub. Room 206 was quite close to the turquoise water on the sea shore. The veranda leads to a soft sandy stretch with beautiful palms which provide shade and are aesthetically pleasing.

Dinners at Al Qasr, La Tuscana and the Kurumba Mahal restaurants were most enjoyable. At Kurumba Mahal we were surprised with a cake inscribed with anniversary greetings. Breakfast was wholesome with a wide variety of fruit, juices and hot and cold food. Sliced coconut next to the nuts would have been an appreciated addition, as Kurumba has so many coconut palms!!!!

A very big "thank you" goes to management for providing us with a late checkout as hubby was not well and we had a late night flight out of Maldives.

All in all a truly enjoyable and relaxing getaway!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Proudly Durbs,

It was a pleasure to read your review and I am sure that this will service a nice pat on the back for our team. They are always keen on reading our reviews.

Glad you appreciated the late checkout and a little bit of luck is required as it certainly depends when guests are arriving.

Kurumba has a very good house reef and we are certainly doing what we can to protect this for future generations. The fish life particularly on sally's patch.

We do use our all of our coconuts on the island weather it is making milk for curries, cream for the Kurumba signature welcome ice cream. We have also now started making our very own Kurumba coconut oil. Next time you are back, I would suggest doing our back of house tour and you can see exactly what we are doing with the coconuts.

Again, thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,639 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,940 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
4,885 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,566 reviews
18.0 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Property: Kurumba Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing