We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience”
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Best experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Kurumba is one of those rare gems with which you can fault nothing. It is a stunningly beautiful property and the service is second to none. We still tell people about our experience at Kurumba because that is the best service we have ever received. 1) Beautiful rooms all with a little private beach area, 2) excellent food options- buffet and ala carte, 3) from champagne breakfast, dolphin cruises, night fishing, scuba diving, snorkelling, all available (for a reasonable fee), 4) world class service which makes you want to stay more! We liked the ceramic toiletry jars in the loo and asked if we could buy them- the reception handed them to us for free when we were leaving! Such a beautiful resort, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and thought of upgrading- but we liked the basic one more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,887
    488
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
960
1,919
82
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Maldives and what a wonderful stay it turned out to be. We visited Kurumba resort during Eid period in August for a prolonged weekend.

When you land in Male, you are taken by boat to the island which is approx. 15 min ride from the landing island. We had the whole boat to ourselves and arriving at the Kurumba Island we were immediately greeted and welcomed and taken to the reception to check in. Everything was so peaceful and the pace is nice and slow. The weather was fantastic and although the forecast predicted rain for the 3 days that we were there, we had a beautiful blue skye all days with temperature around 30 degrees celcius. What more to wish for.

We got a villa situated on the beach under a lot of big palm trees and the scenery was really impressive with a stunning view to the beach and the ocean. Luckily, our villa was situated very conveniently next to the beach bar which had a good variety of cocktails, beers, soft drinks etc. There is nothing to complain about in regards to the villas, it was spacious, had a delicious smell of lemon-grass and the bed was fantastic to sleep in. The bathroom was very spacious and had an extension to the outside with a shower under the open sky. A very nice feature that we used a lot. There was a well an extensive minibar with all sorts of goodies and beverages, however, the prices were high as usual with mini bar items, so better head to the beach bar or the outlets.

Kurumba has as well a recreational area with a lot of activities, you have the list of things to do inside your room with timings and prices if applicable. We decided to do the snorkeling which was a 3 hours trip around the islands close to Kurumba. We snorkeled 3 reefs and saw an amazing life under water. Can highly recommend this! The water in the Maldives are simply amazing - clear visibility and very clean and calm.

We tried the Japanese restaurant The Hamakaze, which is set on a platform in the water, limited seating as there are only seats enough to reach around the kitchen platform (approx. 15 seats) the chefs are amazing! very creative and funny, they play with tools and food and a good at it. We had the lobsters and sushi and I can only say thank you a million times to the chefs for making this a memorable evening. Also the Ocean Grill was visited.
The breakfast was good, lots of variety, but quite crowded both days, most likely due to the holiday season.

Overall, very good value for money both in terms of accommodation and dining. We would definitely like to come again and we are recommending our friends to visit. You will not notice at all that this was the very first private island in the Maldives.

Thank you Kurumba for giving us an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel has recently celebrated its 40th anniversary and the experience gained over the years is in evidence everywhere: well-managed facilities, experienced management focused on fulfilling the customers' dreams, helpful staff, well-maintained surroundings. We spent 10 days with our two kids (4 and 2) and had the best time. Of particular notice are the 6 restaurants, all of which served really good quality food. And of course, the snorkeling off the Kurumba's reef was spectacular: we saw turtles, sharks, sting rays, morenas and of course hundreds of other fish, big and small.

We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalows and ocean view bungalows are fantastic and located on the side of the island with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in Kurumba from 11-15 October and all I can say that this was the best trip i have taken so far (frequent traveler here).

things to note:
1- Kurumba does not provide transport to other islands (should u wanna hop to another island just for giggles). But they do have a daily transport/plan to bring you to the main city, male, which was just 15 mins boat ride away. PERFECT - it's close to the place i want to visit anyway cause every island in maldives look just about the same (seriously)

2- Kurumba has daily activities for you to participate in, so ditch the countless books youre going to bring cause most of the time youre going to be out tanning, or just participating something, or just having sexy time... whatever. eg of activities they have : snorkelling at house reef, coconut capers, tue night is cocktail night (AMAZING IDEA- free cocktails between 6-7pm every tue & u get to meet the staff behind all the scene. THEY ARE SO FRIENDLY), canvas painting, snorkelling at different reefs, daily trips to male city, afternoon scuba dive, cooking demonstration etc.

3- they have the majaa recreation centre, which is pretty interesting. they have air hockey there and a ping pong table. use it.

4- we didnt go full board, we only opted for breakfast. that was kinda expensive, it amounted to about 1500usd for everything (meals). so do really opt for full board. Hamakaze for lunch was amazing... had that so many times (tepanyanki), the italian place has the best salmon, the arab place was so-so. i loved the sand bar ( please visit around 5.30pm as the sun sets around that time and it is just amazing because you just sit on a sand bag and u can just see the clouds pass by. its so romantic). also, did i mention that they have the BEST BUFFET BREAKFAST EVER? tbh, everyday i looked forward to it. the beach bar (near the restaurants) is amazing............. every night we go there.
skip the rendezous lounge - its not much of an interesting place, other than u get to see kids and their families dance to music on saturday nights.

4- scuba diving centre: pretty good and safe. feel safe with the instructors there (the one who guide me and my bf was a russian guy who had shoulder length hair. he is great and extremely viligant under water, felt that i was safe under waters. PLS NOTE: if u dont have a license to dive, pls go for the morning dive before doing other dives (afternoon dives are meant for licensed divers only)

5.whilst we did have a hiccup over at kurumba, front desk supervisor Sammy was amazing. He was extremely accommodating towards us due to late flight. he provided us a room after checking out on the last day so as to allow us to be able to rest and change out before leaving the premise. also house keeping supervisor was amazing too - he helped me set up my hammock whilst i was somewhere snorkelling. :p

6. did i mention that there are staff around the beaches who would come around and offer you pineapple slices to quanch that thirst/ whatever? :)

7. it's kinda dark at night, so best that it would be better to walk with someone if youre afraid of the dark. also, its safe there, no one would probably kidnap you or whatever.

8. they provide slippers and umbrellas.

9. room 223 has horrible wifi. u need to sit out at ur porch for wifi. room 260 has good for everything u could think of

Room Tip: the more u pay, the better the wifi and view. ditto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissabenedicte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went last week 15-19th Oct 2013, and had the best times of our life..
Firstly, the location is superb, only 10 mins from the airport, smooth ride on a grt cruise boat... we arrived at the hotel jetty to be received by smiling staff. At the hibiscus lounge Aisha, did the intro to the resort, all the amenities, complimentary activities and not to forget the refreshing towels along with delicious coconut ice-cream offered.. The Welcome was smashing!!
Next we were taken to our room, superior room no 116... although its not close to the beach, but with a 2 yr child we didn't want to be too close to the water... the rooms are spacious and well decorated, the bathroom is open -air and beautiful...
complimentary activities are plenty, they housekeeping keeps a print of the complimentary activities for the next day when they make your room in the evening..
snorkeling kits are free, the reefs opposite to the superior rooms have more fish, but we didn't have a prob, we enjoyed snorkeling in the reef on our side..
my daughter loved the kids club.. lots of toys and activities for kids.. the resort is soo child friendly... and lots of families with kids.. perfect place, so well done and we loved it!!
Buffet dinner was delicious, everything ranging from sushi, seafood, Indian, Chinese, Mexican, continental... nothing to complain abt..
This place also provides 2 bottles of water daily in the room, and a bottle during your meals..
Absolute value for money.. !!
The veli spa was awesome...
so worth it guys...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reeby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent my honeymoon at Kurumba, it an amazing place and staff are welcoming and they love what they do. The rooms were amazing the private pool and garden were extraordinay.

I would love to visit it again, I dont think I can get the peace of mind anywhere eles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitham333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We spend our honeymoon at Kurumba. It is the closest and oldest resort in Maldives. Staff was extremely friendly and food was awesome. They like to make you happy with small details. Rooms was perfect amd designed like a home. We are looking forward to visit Kurumba again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Onur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,723 reviews
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,449 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,993 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,173 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Property: Kurumba Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing