We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic vacation”
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Kurumba in July 2013 with my 12 year old daughter. This was our second trip to Maldives and the first impression was disappointing as the beach and location looked much less appealing than its sister resort, Velassaru. We knew that Male would be visible as it was very close to the airport. But we enjoyed watching planes land and take off especially at night.

It took us a while to explore and discover that this place was a gem! The house reef inside the boundary wasn't that great but just step outside and you will be amazed at the richness of marine life. My husband even saw a turtle! The Majaa Kids Club took care of the kids very sweetly and patiently. The water sports centre is awesome and the trip to Fish Aquarium was mind blowing! An absolute to-do before you die.

The rooms weren't that great but it is a 40 yr old resort and who wants to stay inside? The only negative was that the ACs weren't very effective.

The food here is the best I have had anywhere. Even though it is expensive, you must eat at least once at The Ocean Grill. The ambience is awesome with reef sharks making merry below you. The food is good everywhere. We ate Chinese, Indian, Western and of course at the Ocean Grill.

It was probably our best vacation ever. If food and snorkeling is what turns u on, look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 3,660 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fulfilling the dream of a perfect honeymoon! It was the best vacation ever! Have just spent 4 nights here in a Superior Room. Just a 10 minute boat ride from the airport and with a very warm greeting from the Manager and staff on our arrival at the island.Amazing rooms, lot of recreational facilioties. The room was cleaned twice daily and the complimentary tea/coffee/water was very welcome. The staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. Candle light dinner at Ocean grill amidst the starry sky was unimaginably romantic.The resort was exceptionally clean - apart from the odd bit off rubbish that washed ashore, but this was cleared daily by the staff... Snorkelling was amazing. The water is warm and clear and the sea-life is something to be seen.
Overall a top class experience , cant forget those 5 days!!
Thanks Kurumba!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewankjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just spent 7 nights here in a Superior Room. Just a 10 minute boat ride from the airport and with a very warm greeting from the Manager and staff on our arrival at the island. The room was lovely (with an open-air bathroom/shower). The back of the room opened out directly on to the beach - which was an amazing view. The room was cleaned twice daily and the complimentary tea/coffee/water was very welcome. The staff were all friendly and polite - without ever being over the top. We chose not to go all inclusive and were justified in this choice as the breakfasts were already included. A good varied selection that changed a little each day and was always plentiful. Never had Maldivian fish curry for breakfast before... Felt that the restaurants on the island were a little short of choice and so ended up using the in-room dining service most nights. Food was of very good quality. Nothing is cheap on the island and we chose not to do any of the excursions, partly as our aim was to properly relax and because there was enough to keep you occupied on the island. 3 tennis courts, a good air-conditioned gym, table-tennis, air-hockey, spa etc. The resort was exceptionally clean - apart from the odd bit off rubbish that washed ashore, but this was cleared daily by the staff... Snorkelling was amazing. The water is warm and clear and the sea-life is something to be seen - as were the lizards, geckos, flying foxes and other birds that inhabited the island. Being 10 minutes from the airport, you do hear the planes taking off and landing, but it was a distraction soon ignored. Other than that, the only sound you hear is the lapping of the sea... We had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate in going back there...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyjubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When dreaming of a perfect stay, it can be like this! It was the best vacation ever! The room was directly on the beach...u open the door and touch the sands! 5 meters from the ocean! Unbeleivable!

Room super clean! Perfect service even though they have to come in a tuc-tuc since every room is alone.

There's a variety of restaurants so you will not have to go from an island to another.

Massage in the SPA : no words to describe it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriss25lebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from Kurumba Maldives where we spent 8 days with our 2 children (9&7 years old). The island is beautiful; white sand, ridiculously blue water and amazing tropical plants. One of the best things is the short, 10 minute, boat ride from the airport - after a 10 hour flight we looked across to those people queuing for a sea plane with pity...our boat was waiting right outside the airport exit and I am not exaggerating when I say that within 20 minutes we were at Kurumba checking in.

Once there it was clear that the resort deserves its 5 stars. The staff are very friendly, everything is well thought out, the food was excellent, the room was good, the pools were brilliant and the sports facilities were immaculate. Even better, it feels quiet - we walked onto the tennis courts 3 times without booking and on 2 occasions we had the pool all to ourselves! The snorkelling was excellent and we saw all the things other people have mentioned.The beach bar is definitely the best place to see little sharks, but our children were equally fascinated with the crabs which are all around the island. There were lots of families with children and they are definitely welcome. They have an orchid nursery which was wasted on the children, but appreciated by my husband and I. We did 2 excursions: the dolphin cruise was great - we saw lots of dolphins and the sun setting, plus lots to drink if you want it. We also did the cultural island tour which was interesting, our children enjoyed seeing the Maldivian school. The food deserves another mention as it really was top notch. We didn't get around to using the spa.

There are only 2 negatives. First is that the island is very close to the airport and to Male - you can see both from one side of the island and you can hear and see the planes as they take off. As I said, this is good from the transfer perspective, and if you want to visit Male, but if you want to escape to a island in the middle of nowhere Kurumba is not for you. As it happens this didn't bother us too much.
The other negative is a little odd - we were on an all inclusive package, which worked brilliantly for us. However on our last day we found that we were not entitled to lunch. This seems wrong as all inclusive normally lasts for the entire stay. We were leaving the island at 2pm and not flying until after 4pm so with 2 children it was necessary for us to eat something and so we had to pay for it - I don't think that is right and we were a bit miffed...

However, I've still got to give it 5 stars as it was a great family holiday

Room Tip: Those that don't face Male and the airport are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kjlo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently spent 5 days / 4 nights at Kurumba Maldives. As a travel agent I spent a long time researching the right island for us and this was the perfect place for our two children (9&7). The previous reviews on tripadvisor really influenced my decison and they were very accurate.
On arrival we were taken fron the airport on the short boat journey to the beautiful island. We stayed in a deluxe pool villa. The room was clean and very spacious, the pool was a good temperature and very clean. The beds were so comfortable, even the rollaway beds for the children are the best I have ever come across.
The staff were so friendly and went out of their way, nothing was too much trouble. We did the complimentary snorkeling lesson and then the house reef tour. All the equipment was provided which is an added bonus.
I would highly really recommend Kurumba Maldives if you are looking for excellent service, high quality rooms and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Kurumba was perfect for our family as they catered to every need of the adults and our two young children (7-8). We stayed in the beach villa right next to the beach bar and the views were spectacular. Get the all inclusive dine around package, it bets hanging the buffet Ll the time. We stayed a week and the snorkeling was prime! I took a night snorkeling tour and DOUBLE WOW! I used a mask with a built in camera recording stills and video then also used two torches attached got he mask (purchased at virgin mega stores Doha Qatar). Sunsets were awesome and we never could get enough of them. The kids were taken care and loved going to the kid care center where they had events planned for the children and they made some new Russian friends. A little disappointed in the dolphin cruise as we saw dolphins for a few seconds. We will be coming back again!

Save yourself some cash and take the Sri Lankan airlines. I got a deal for four business class tickets that was half of what Qatar airways was charging for 4 economy seat and we landed just 1 hour after QA.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,773 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,060 reviews
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,926 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: 08340
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range: $344 - $1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, four bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene. Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing