We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
24 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$300
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$262
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$217
View deal
Hotels.com$261
Official Site$270
Trip.com$360
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,138)
Filter reviews
5,138 results
Traveler rating
4,277
640
139
45
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,277
640
139
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar coconut sorbet fish close to the airport superior room beachfront bungalow outdoor shower kids club male airport our honeymoon tennis courts main restaurant water sports indian restaurant snorkelling safari minute boat ride special thanks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,417 - 3,422 of 5,138 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent 12 nights here with my husband and had a fabulous time.

The hotel's boat was waiting for us at the airport and ten minutes later we were greeted with cooling towels and coconut sorbet which set the mood for the whole holiday. We were blessed with lovely weather and only experienced heavy rain on a couple of nights when we were tucked up in bed.

The resort is maintained beautifully and the gardeners work ceaselessly as well as finding time to cut some beautiful flowers to place on our patio table. We stayed in Room 141 a deluxe beach bungalow - literally on the beach. We had our own sunbeds on the beach and it was as though we were the only people there as the villas are positioned so that you are not on top of each other on that part of the island. The room was large, nicely decorated and had a very large comfortable double bed. The bathroom is a delight but the best part is the open air garden shower - its wonderful. The housekeeping staff ensure the rooms are kept clean and also top up all the toiletries and tea/coffee regularly, they are unobtrusive but work very hard. Two large bottles of water are also a complimentary touch that is welcomed and you can keep them in the fridge so their is always a cold drink to hand.

We were on the a la carte all inclusive plan which we found to be great value and enjoyed most of the restaurants on offer. I most enjoyed the italian, lebanese, japanese and ocean grill but they were all very good including the Karumba Cafe for lunch which has a varied menu to appeal to hungry and not so hungry diners. The bar in the evening was a great venue and the hotel put on some great bands in the evenings.

The hotel pool looked very welcoming but when you have a crystal clear sea to swim in we never found the need to use it. The snorkelling was brilliant and I have never seen so many beautifully coloured fish - including Nemo!! I am not a strong swimmer and didn't stray too far outside the wall break but the fish are in the shallow water inside the reef as well. The flying foxes (fruit bats) were amazing and we took great delight in watching them flying into the palm tree outside our apartment on the beach.

We only went on one trip - the dolphin and sunset cruise - I cannot recommend it enough - the staff are very knowledgeable and ensure you have a good time as well as handing out champagne to enjoy the sunset.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort and I am sure we will return.

Room tip: Room 141 partly faced Male which we found enjoyable and that part of the beach is quieter.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

we had a tough choice deciding on a resort for maldives. eventually we decided on kurumba and it was the best decision. it's close to airport, fairly priced, nice beaches, house reef, great rooms, kid friendly, activities, spa and variety of dining choices. above all the staff is very nice and the service is top notch.

Room tip: superior rooms if you are traveling with small children / beachfront bungalows for honeymoon
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigislandhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hello and thanks for the warm welcome:). Thank you for helping John plan the perfect anniversary trip. It was truly memorable and one I will always look upon fondly.

Feedback on the hotel at Karumba, wow:) the good the bad and the ugly, here is what I plan to post on trip advisor.

The good:
Beach location, better than good fantastic!
The deluxe beach bungalow, again, better than good fabulous! Lots of space, roomy with one of the coolest bathroom setups i've seen. Indoor bath and shower and toilet, with additional outdoor shower. Room also had great set up on the covered porch area with daybed, table and chairs and then lounge chairs under shaded coconut trees about a foot or two away from the crystal clear beach. The beach was amazing. Perfect for us and our little ones, shallow and calm all around the hotel. But great snorkeling further out if you wanted to venture a bit.
Truly heaven.

The kids club. Great kid handlers for our kids (we met up with friends who had two). Every day they had something fun going on so we would send them off from 10:00a.m to 12:00 noon, then back again from 4:00-6:00p.m. Great two hour breaks for us parents and the kids had fun making sandcastles, water balloon play, beach volleyball.... We also utilized their babysitting services, and the girls they sent came with beautiful smiles and fun personalities. Myori and Anastasia were the best and the kids loved going to the boutique and saying hello as they felt they were good friends!

The excursions, only did two but wow! The deserted island picnic was incredible. We were with a rowdy bunch and ran out of beer going out to the deserted island, but the staff did everything they could to make up for that and we had champagne and wine for the duration. It was a windy day but we had great music, good food, drinks flowing and the picnic staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a great time. Ahmed and trainee Kim made the day over the top fun.

Dolphin excursion was just so special! Again cruise staff were fun and did everything they could to make sure we saw as many dolphins as we could and that we enjoyed beverages while watching the dolphin show. The kids couldnt get enough and I think it was the highlight of the trip for them. Again staff made it fun, would like to thank Kim, Glen and oh no I forgot the other guy's name, but regardless the three made the excursion so fun and the kids now adore dolphins!

Highlight of trip for me was our secluded anniversary dinner. Ahhhhhh so romantic! I felt so special having that beautiful gazebo like area just to ourselves on our special night. Magical evening;)

Now the bad and ugly combined as there was not much negative but these are things that we will consider when reviewing hotels for a second trip to Maldives.

We had purchased the most expensive all inclusive meal plan so that we would be able to eat anywhere anytime, etc. This most expensive plan did not include room service or meals at the best bar on the beach the "the Sand Bar". We have always stayed at all inclusives in which all inclusive meant ALL INCLUSIVE. The beach bungalows are so amazingly comfortable with the beautiful beach and snorkeling literally right outside your door however if we wanted to eat at our own lovely porch or room, we had to pay extra on top of what we already paid for the most expensive meal plan. We felt cheated as in order to feel like you were getting your money's worth on the plan we had to leave the comfort of our bungalow and eat at one of the restaurants. This was especially annoying when we wanted to spend the day at the sandbar. The menu at all the day restaurants was the same including room service menu and menu that they served at the pool restaurant etc, but if you wanted to eat at your room or if you wanted to hang out with the best bartender Sudeep at the Sandbar, meals, appetizers, etc were not included in the plan. The drinks were included but no food. Again, making us pay on top of the most expensive meal plan we had already purchased. Yes there were days that we went ahead and paid on top of what we thought should have been included but we did so begrudgingly.

Another issue that we thought could have been better was service at the main area around the pool. The servers were nice, but we had to constantly flag them down and wave for them to come and replenish our drinks etc. We had one excellent server Veeju but he didn't work every day and it would have been nice to have had more attentive service while we were lounging by the pool.

Forgot to mention the Italian restaurant and Arabic restaurant were really good. The band that played one evening at the main area, Def note, were fantastic and the guys who ran the Kareoke bar, especially the bartender there were great. Lots of fun to be had every night.

All in all it was a fantastic vacation, we loved every minute of it. If not for our plan not being as all inclusive as it was portrayed to be and just a little better service around the pool restaurant, I would have said it was the perfect vacation.

Room tip: Beach bungalows
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CynSpecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is going down as the most amazing holiday experience of my life. From the moment we arrived on the Island, until the moment we left, we wanted for absolutely nothing. The accomodation, food and entertainment was spectacular. The staff went above and beyond to make the experience a 'once in a lifetime' trip. I will definitely be booking again to stay on Kurumba.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardsaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fabulous experience...from the booking procedure to welcome to snorkelling to food, rooms, staff, price, check in, check out, maaja kids club, bars, pools...you name it and it was perfect for us. In the end they asked point out what can we improve and i said, have some english magazines in the library... Such a small area for improvement. Travelled with my wife and two daughters, 8 yrs and 2 yrs old. It was my little ones birthday and the resort team kayutsu (from burma), rousal at the restaurant, the maaja kids club team, richard, vijay and even the housekeeping guys by floral decoration in the room, made the birthday so special for her with cakes, baloons, cards and lots of love and fun... Then the sunset and dolfin cruise with richard, snorkelling lessons with vijay, even the sales lady at the kurumba resort shop; all so thoroughly professional and hospitable. Strongly recommended if you are travelling with kids...

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank nimittkaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews