We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$205
View deal
Expedia.com
$236
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$202
View deal
Hotels.com$236
Priceline$239
Trip.com$267
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,125)
Filter reviews
5,126 results
Traveler rating
4,271
638
136
45
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,271
638
136
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar coconut sorbet fish close to the airport superior room beachfront bungalow outdoor shower kids club male airport our honeymoon main restaurant tennis courts water sports indian restaurant snorkelling safari special thanks minute boat ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,759 - 3,764 of 5,126 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Beautiful resort, i definitely go back with my kids.
Good customer service, especially Nizvy from the beach bar, good job.

Room tip: go for deluxe room, the furniture on superior neds to be changed.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefan0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

it is a small paradise on earth .this resort is a green piece of land surrounded by white non sticky sand and crystal clear blue water. you dont need umbrella on beach although its plenty as you hv lots of shades of palms.

the whole island is a resort and you can snorkell,stroll the entire island at all times with no security concerns.

snorkelling equipments are free and you can just walk in water upto three feet deep and see hundreds of fishes and corals in crystal clear water its amazing

the staff is the best ,,they respect your privacy and are always helpful and smiling,,the gym area the spa the rooms are all 100percent and cleaned twice daily

if you are staying in any of villas u get enough privacy right on the beach when no one is watching you,,,,so honeymooners hv good times,,,,,,also if u r with family ur kids get ample of apace to run and swim around,,they hv a swimming pool also which is clean and good ,,the washroom of villa is as big as any 5 star main room of hotel with jacuzzi and open air shower.

my advise is that u plan your vacation with meals half board or full board,,bcos it will cost u usd 60 per head per meal every day,so per head for lunch and dinner it becomes 120usd per head per day.

all said and done this place is amazing for romance and family reunion

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fasttiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was in the Maldives for business and decided to spend one night in Kurumba and two in what I later found out to be a sister hotel, Velassaru. At the airport I was greeted and moved to the very nice speedboat, which whisked me and one other guest away to the island. The ride was fast, smooth, and very appropriate for the start of a relaxing period! Upon arrival, I was greeted, checked in, and given a brief but informative tour of the facilities near the lobby (restaurants etc), thn taken by golf cart to my room. The room is fantastic, with a very well laid out design and an open-sky bathroom. I had dinner at one of the restaurants, which met all my expectations. The staff were incredibly nice, polite, and discreet. There is no drum band or any other unnecessary tourist trapping to reduce the quality of the stay here. You are as left alone as you want to be, which on a tropical island like this, is supremely important.

The staff here all take their approach to customer experiences very seriously, yet with confidence and poise. If you want glam rock-star treatment this place is not for you. If you want solitude, but good service as you require, go to either Kurumba or Velassaru.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We've just returned from our 2nd visit to Kurumba and once again had a fantastic holiday.

We emailed the resort prior to departure from the U.K to ask if it would be possible to stay in the same Deluxe Bungalow we had stayed in when we visited in 2005 and this was confirmed.

On arrival at Kurumba we were met by Olga who was very helpful and friendly and who talked us through the changes to facilities in the resort since we had last stayed there. These included complimentary snorkelling equipment hire, fruit kebabs and fruit juice around midday each day on the beach and around the pool, 3 tennis courts, wine tasting and weekly cocktail evenings, free wifi and internet access and the all new bar om the beach complete with bean bags on which to watch the sun set on your Island Paradise.

Upon checking into to our room, our bed had been decorated with flowers and palm leaf lettering welcoming us back to Kurumba. Wine and a basket of fruit were also delivered to our room together with a card from Jason Kruse, Resort Manager.

We dined every day in the Kurumba cafe where we received excellent service and the food was fantastic. During the first week of our holiday my husband celebrated his birthday. When we dined in the Kurumba cafe that evening our table had been decorated with flowers and coloured rice to wish him a happy birthday, the waiters presented us with a chocolate birthday cake and a rendition of Happy Birthday Maldivian style, the cake was delicious. Upon retiring to our room the bed had once again been decorated with flowers and palm leaf lettering to wish my husband a happy birthday, a truly wonderful end to a unforgetable birthday in the Maldives.

I have a food allergy which I mentioned as one of the desserts I ordered should have contained the allergen, there was no problem in making this without the offending item, the waiter also explained that he would log this on to their computer system to ensure that this was removed from all further dishes ordered, another example of fantastic service.

Kurumba is the closest resort to Male airport although aircraft noise is minimal, after a 10 hour flight from the UK, the quick speedboat transfer to the resort is fantastic. The Island was the first resort in the Maldives opening in 1972, has excellent facilities, gorgeous white sandy beaches, extremely helpful and polite staff, a choice of 9 restaurants and a huge variety of excursions.

We went on the sunset cruise and saw lots of dolphins whilst watching the sunset and enjoying champagne and canapes, on our previous visit we hired a catamaran to sail around local Islands and took a speed boat to a neighbouring resort.

Every evening there is happy hour in the BeachBar and Hillary is very welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble for him or his staff.

There is entertainment every evening in the Beach Bar from 9 p.m. onwards which comprises of local bands and an excellent DJ from Male.

Each evening when you retire to your room there is a Daily Kurumba news detailing activities for the following day and advising of available excursions for the following week, together with a 3 day weather forecast and confirmation of cocktail of the day for the next day!

We saw numerous fish, baby sharks, a giant moray eel and the resident heron land a successful catch, who even poses for photos all from the beach and jetty.

There are 3 shops on the resort 2 of which sell everything from postcards to toiletries, gifts, clothes, crisps, chocolate and icecream. The 3rd shop is a jewellers. The staff in all of the resort shops are friendly and helpful.

Jason Kruse, Resort Manager and his wife Victoria are very friendly and always take the time to talk to you when they see you on the resort.

The resort staff from the room boys, pool attendants, waiters, supervisors, managers, bar staff and gardeners will always say hello to you and will always seek to answer any queries you may have.

Our departure from the resort was scheduled for 9p.m., it is normal for checkout from your room to be at midday, Vinay kindly arranged for us to keep our room until 5p.m. to allow us to shower and change before our final dinner on the resort.

I would highly recommend the resort if you would like to spend a week or two away from it all with excellent food and service, to return relaxed and refreshed. We can't wait to return in 2012

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenJones_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

All I want to say is thank you to all the staff in Kurumba. Especially thankful to Vinay, Miki, Charith, Abdulla & Azum who took special care of our every needs in Kurumba. Jason who gave some tips, his wife and mother-in-law who made us feel so at home.

It is truly a memorable trip for my family when I chose Kurumba for them. Every service that provided to us is so tenderly plan, even some foam sofa was put up at the beach for relaxation.

Alvin, Nigel & Judy Lai

Room tip: Choose Bunglow which near the Beach Bar
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booikf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews