We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming!”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 East Quogue B&B and Inns
Irvington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm & Welcoming!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend a few days in the Hamptons and stumbled across The Shearwater Inn via the internet...What luck! Spacious, quaint & clean rooms; living area indoors & outside deck to relax. Beach passes, towels, chairs, etc were provided; in addition to a delicious home cooked breakfast. As for the hosts, Maureen & Tom, hospitable, accommodating, provided information on where, what to see and not to. Truly wonderful hosts. Maureen & Tom, thank you for everything and we hope to visit you again. You operate a wonderful B&B. Our Best...Cathy & Maurice Giliberti

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here only for 2 nights, but wished it could have been longer. Maureen was very hospitable, providing us with lovely breakfasts, beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and beach passes, which set us up for the day. Our room was large, as was the living area where we could sit and relax after dinner out at one of the many restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We had the Red Toile Room - beautifully furnished and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here over July 4th weekend and this was a great place to stay while visiting the Hamptons. The breakfasts were great, and our hosts were gracious and accommodating.

The beach passes are invaluable as they give you access to some beaches for free that either are unavailable without the pass or would cost $30 for the day.

We would definitely return anytime we want to spend time on the Hamptons beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Tappan, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The place is great. Very welcoming. Our room was lovely and immaculate. Breakfast was delicious. We were provided with passes, chairs and umbrellas to our choice of several area beaches. Can't wait to have another get away weekend there soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBR0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We needed a place to stay for the weekend after a week spent in the Hamptons. Found this lovely B&B. They have four bedrooms - I saw one other than mine and they are spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There is a large sitting room-breakfast room which is very welcoming and comfortable. There is a large backyard and deck to enjoy any time of the day. There is a small refrigerator in breakfast room to keep wine and cheese chilled. The first thing I noticed was how very clean everything was - one could have eaten off the floors! Absolutely wonderful home cooked breakfast. Everything you could possibly want was provided. The owners made eggs with mint that was outstanding. They shared the recipe and am planning on making the eggs soon. Th owners are very helpful with answering questions about the area and places to visit. I would highly recommend this B&B and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benitakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

After four great, but hectic days in New York City, it was a warm welcome at Maureen's and Tom's Bed & Breakfast.
We spent three days at this great location. The room was very nicely furnished, every morning we had a great breakfast, the garden was really nice to have a drink and relax, the distance to the beach is perfect, so for us the perfect place to spend a few relaxing days.
Maureen and Tom thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rens_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Hi- My wife and I just returned from spending the July 4 weekend at the Shearwater Inn. We had a wonderful time. The accomodations were terrific. We would definately return. An added plus was the beach equipment and beach permit. We also enjoyed the breakfast that was served every morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TML702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Quogue
3.1 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.3 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 25 Josiah Foster Path, East Quogue, NY 11942-4429
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Quogue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in East Quogue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest inn in the Hamptons. Minutes to ocean beaches (complimentary beach passes provided), outlet shopping, antique shops, Splish Splash Water park , Riverhead Aquarium, and North Fork wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Inn East Quogue, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing