We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value alternative”

Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever had." Via TripAdvisor. Nestled in the soft undulating dunes on the outskirts of Newquay, with breathtaking views of the North Coast; prepare to make Offshore your new 'go to' bar and bistro! Whether you are wanting an intimate, sunset drenched meal for two in the restaurant, coffee and cake with friends on our comfy sofas, or simply a chance to snuggle under cosy blankets with wine and nibbles on our glass-fronted Mediterranean terrace, you will be greeted like old friends and served the finest local, sustainably sourced food and drink in a setting like no other. If there is one thing we can assure you of; your time at Offshore is something you won't forget in a hurry. In a short space of time, we have built a solid, and long-standing reputation for serving incredible, fairly priced, locally sourced food that not only tastes out of this world, but is a complete visual treat. Seen enough? To book your table, simply call us and we will take care of everything for you.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value alternative”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Slightly tricky to find down an unmade track but ample parking available and entry to the restaurant through a tardis like "shed". The main building is buried in the landscape with great views through picture windows over the dunescape.

Menu initially looks a bit limited and a little standard, but we were offered a variety of specials for all courses. Don't be dissuaded by the lack of choice, the quality is excellent. I had the tastiest pork fillet I have ever eaten, and I've eaten out more than most. Presentation was excellent, if on slightly fiddly narrow slate plates. Desserts were rich and very indulgent. The wine list has something for all tastes and is fairly priced.

All in all, the food was excellent, the staff very helpful and polite, if a little stretched but the quality of the food, at a fraction of the price you pay in other Cornish restaurants makes this a great find. They deserve to succeed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonChrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    56
    35
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tardis”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Intriguing entry and a pleasant surprise as one arrives in the main restaurant which has a light airy feel with a tremendous view. The bar area is too small and badly placed at the bottom of the stairs, nor on our visit, was it well manned. Meal orders were eventually taken at our rather sticky table but regretably the kitchen had under ordered for the number of booked diners and could not meet the orders. Service throughout was slow. I'm really not too sure about the hygenic quality of slate being used as a platter, it being a porous, but, presentation of the starters was impressive albeit a little impractical. Very good goats cheese seemed a favourite on our table. The hake was acceptable and the salmon was served with a wonderful crisp skin, however the crayfish and shrimp sauce produced overcooked and bullet-like shrimp. Favourite of the table was the pork loin which was served impressivly. Desserts - very mediocre and unimaginative with ice cream one had to drink rather than eat. I gather that out of the holiday season, service and food choice is of a higher level so we will give Offshore another try at some point to see if it really can deliver.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffshoreCornwall, Owner at Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide Offshore with your valuable feedback. I am sorry that you had such a poor customer service experience this summer. Our first season at Offshore is nearly complete and it has been a steep learning curve. We appreciate all of the constructive comments as well as the excellent ones too. We have taken a lot on board, completing additional staff training and ironing out any nuances (or hiccups). As of this week we have new changes in place both in terms of our staffing and our menus. Our front of house and kitchen team is now fully in place and we have a new Head Chef and new menus. I really do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxurious Location”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Offshore is a delight. On approaching, one is left confused as to the direction of the restaurant. From the car park, all that can be seen is what appears to be a shed. However, once inside this wooden structure, the layout of the restaurant becomes amazing. Following a spiral staircase downwards, the views across the dunes are wonderful.

The food is excellent: well prepared, fresh and beautifully presented.

The fish courses are a special delight, although for many fish dishes a 24 hour booking is needed.

It is advisable to book man evening table, although the restaurant can be accessed easily enough at lunchtime for a tapas menu.

The wines drinks are also of a reasonable price.

This was an excellent experience and worth our while booking in advance

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal with stunning views”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

As a vegetarian, Cornwall restaurants tend to be very much fish orientated, with little thought given to those who don't eat fish. This was not the case at the Offshore, where I very much enjoyed the veggie option, which was tasty and carefully thought through so that the flavours really complemented each other. Even my meat eating husband thought the feta and red pepper tart with white bean stew was delicious, though thankfully he carried on eating his very tasty burger. Thank you Offshore!

Helpful?
Thank Sarahv93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Spontaneous lunch ”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Dissatisfied with the timing of food, menu seemed chucked together - opted for what seemed to be a decent burger which came out terribly presented and looked and tasted like a burger van burger and it cost £10.95, the place seemed under staffed but still not busy on a Thursday lunch time! Won't be going there again...

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffshoreCornwall, Owner at Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide Offshore with your valuable feedback. I am sorry that you had a poor experience this summer. Our first season at Offshore is nearly complete and it has been a steep learning curve. We appreciate all of the constructive comments as well as the excellent ones too. We have taken a lot on board, completing additional staff training and ironing out any nuances (or hiccups). As of this week we have new changes in place both in terms of our staffing and our menus. Our front of house and kitchen team is now fully in place and we have a new Head Chef and new menus. I really do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall also viewed

 
Crantock, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing