We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cherry on the cake,”
Review of The Cherry Tree - CLOSED

The Cherry Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We provide authentic Indian food,free home delivery within 3 miles radius.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A lovely pub, from the outside has a lovely garden, in a village location. Its a fantastic place to unwind, the staff are polite, thoughtful and welcoming. The Landlord could not be more helpful and its there first pub, and they have made it a lovely place to relax and eat. Its not a theme pub and you can see that the regulars love it there. Nicely decorated, clean and airy. The food was fantastic and well priced, I had a Sunday lunch which was made fresh, and the beef was lovely. The menu was great to read, with a nice variety of courses, something to suit everyone. I am going to make it one of my weekend refuges, and its nice to see a quiet, genuine village pub run by a lovely family. Looking forward to going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Called in for a lunchtime snack, food was good and the service excellent. We had the sharing ploughman's platter sitting in the lovely garden, and the waitress was very attentive to us and to all the other customers in the garden. We have eaten here several times before, including a special birthday event, always had good food and always found the staff and the owner extremely pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Steve503820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a local pub for us. In the summer you could not find a better spot for lunch and a pint. The setting on the edge of Alice Holt Forest makes it the place to eat and relax. The food is good, the chef knows how to please the most eclectic of tastes and for chips par excellence, look no further. The new owners want to gain a good reputation and are proactive in asking for feedback on the food. One customer was right to point out that a starter she ordered was served with a minuscule bread roll and this was rectified straight away. Great place. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank knightsgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit to our pub.

We always take on board customer feedback, especially when new dishes are launched on our menu and especially as we're just over a year old in this business and it being our first pub.

I noticed you didn't score us as highly for value and service so there's still room for improvement.

Our location is perfect for dog walkers, cyclists or families visiting Alice Holt forest and when the sun is out our gardens are a nice setting to grab a pint and a bite to eat.

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Rich & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent a delightful lunchtime in the sun in the exquisite garden. We had an excellent meal. My partner had the hake , with clams and samphire, I had the prawn salad and our friend had a burger. The food was excellently presented and beautifully cooked. There was a good selection of ales and wines -all reasonably priced. The service was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Since arriving a year ago we've worked hard on all aspects of the business, getting a good and reasonably priced wine list, our guest ales change each month and our food fresh and homemade. Still lots to do in the garden, but it's starting to bloom now!

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Rich & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a party at the Cherry Tree, 3 generations Birthdays 10, 40 and 70. Dom and Richard made 50 of us feel at home with their friendly approach and provided excellent catering sourced from the local butchers. We had a Bouncy castle, games and the run of much of the pub and garden, it was a great day for all generations. Throughout the day they checked with us to ensure we were happy with everything and they were on hand for any requests. We would like to thank you, and your team who helped behind the scenes that day.

I would thoroughly recommend this pub and would like to encourage others to visit and support these guys in running a great country pub - we could not have asked for a better day.

Jen & Ric Lawrence

1  Thank CuriosityJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Jen & Ric,

Many thanks for your comments and delighted you all had a great day. Whether a large group party of intimate table for two we try our best to make your visit special.

We're only a small pub, but work hard to deliver on service and quality of food, sourcing locally and this is especially the case with our meat which is from award winning butcher Michael Humphries. At the moment our pork is reared in Tilford and our lamb from Frensham.......both less that 4 miles away!!

It was a pleasure hosting you all.

Thanks again!

Rich & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing