We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners are trying hard with great success.”
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rowledge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We provide authentic Indian food,free home delivery within 3 miles radius.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New owners are trying hard with great success.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a local pub for us. In the summer you could not find a better spot for lunch and a pint. The setting on the edge of Alice Holt Forest makes it the place to eat and relax. The food is good, the chef knows how to please the most eclectic of tastes and for chips par excellence, look no further. The new owners want to gain a good reputation and are proactive in asking for feedback on the food. One customer was right to point out that a starter she ordered was served with a minuscule bread roll and this was rectified straight away. Great place. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knightsgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit to our pub.

We always take on board customer feedback, especially when new dishes are launched on our menu and especially as we're just over a year old in this business and it being our first pub.

I noticed you didn't score us as highly for value and service so there's still room for improvement.

Our location is perfect for dog walkers, cyclists or families visiting Alice Holt forest and when the sun is out our gardens are a nice setting to grab a pint and a bite to eat.

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Rich & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    23
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A lovely village pub”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent a delightful lunchtime in the sun in the exquisite garden. We had an excellent meal. My partner had the hake , with clams and samphire, I had the prawn salad and our friend had a burger. The food was excellently presented and beautifully cooked. There was a good selection of ales and wines -all reasonably priced. The service was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Since arriving a year ago we've worked hard on all aspects of the business, getting a good and reasonably priced wine list, our guest ales change each month and our food fresh and homemade. Still lots to do in the garden, but it's starting to bloom now!

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Rich & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for a catered party”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a party at the Cherry Tree, 3 generations Birthdays 10, 40 and 70. Dom and Richard made 50 of us feel at home with their friendly approach and provided excellent catering sourced from the local butchers. We had a Bouncy castle, games and the run of much of the pub and garden, it was a great day for all generations. Throughout the day they checked with us to ensure we were happy with everything and they were on hand for any requests. We would like to thank you, and your team who helped behind the scenes that day.

I would thoroughly recommend this pub and would like to encourage others to visit and support these guys in running a great country pub - we could not have asked for a better day.

Jen & Ric Lawrence

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriosityJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Jen & Ric,

Many thanks for your comments and delighted you all had a great day. Whether a large group party of intimate table for two we try our best to make your visit special.

We're only a small pub, but work hard to deliver on service and quality of food, sourcing locally and this is especially the case with our meat which is from award winning butcher Michael Humphries. At the moment our pork is reared in Tilford and our lamb from Frensham.......both less that 4 miles away!!

It was a pleasure hosting you all.

Thanks again!

Rich & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Cherry Tree Pub”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Beautiful pub, lovely food and staff very friendly. We spent the afternoon and evening at the pub celebrating a friends birthday and we would definitely recommend this pub for a visit. Hopefully see you again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louloured2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure hosting your party for the joint birthday celebrations and delighted you all had a great time.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was surprised to read the negative reviews n the website. We went for a birthday Sunday lunch in January which was excellent. It was only possibly rivalled by the sand rock Sunday roast which is also very good. It was extremely tasty, pork loin roast which isn't what I usually order but was delicious. Good size portion with veg and home made gravy...my 3 year old was with us and was looked after really well. The owner(I presume) was very attentive and had a really nice manner, not intrusive, right amount of chatty and welcoming. Food was served promptly despite being very full. Overall a lovely meal.
We visited again for a mid week burger which was very well priced around £10... It was perfect for a mid week dinner...would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to our pub.

We put a lot of effort into our Sunday roasts and source high quality local meat - in fact our pork is from Tilford, about 10 mins away. Our home made burgers are really popular as we try to balance our menu with pub classics as well as finer dining specials going into the weekend.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Thanks!

Rich & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing