We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice when your expectations are not only met but...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 21 Shore Street

View from Cellardyke harbour entrance looking East
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Cellardyke harbour entrance looking East
Outside 21 Shore Street The Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
View from Cellardyke harbour entrance looking East
Outside 21 Shore Street
The Courtyard
Double bedroom
Twin room
Twin room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room
View from Cellardyke harbour entrance looking West
View from lounge window
Cellardyke harbour entrance at sunset
Cellardyke coastline
Views over Forth to Bass Rock and Berwick Law
Views over Forth to Isle of May
Waves breaking over harbour wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cellardyke, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Adrian M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice when your expectations are not only met but exceeded”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked this at short notice and the owner was very very helpful in sorting our booking dates and cost. Amazingly professional contact through out to be honest. Left me feeling sure that I would arrive safely with no nasty surprises.

We arrived a little early and the property was being professionally cleaned to a high standard. A wee welcome bottle of white and a packet of short bread was nice but no as nice as to find the surprisingly good coffee machine and COFFEE to be able to make coffee.

The cottage was decorated in neutral colours or white with carpets through out which would be a challenge due to the closeness to the beach but the clever entrance hall with wooden floor and mat sorted that challenge.
The cottage has every thing you could possible want to cook elaborate meals should you wish and the linen was fresh and of a high standard very soft towels lovely.

Good wifi enough to stream if you should wish to.

The only slight challenge was the location of the TV in easy reach of wee fingers.

The open gas fire was lovely once the rug rat was sleeping and the house was always warm with the central heating.

All in al this is a great value cottage and its location so close to a child friendly exploring beach was nothing short of awesome.

There are all the shops you might need with in 15 min walk or 5 mins by car including very well stocked coop on edge of town.

A really lovely break made better by not needing or wanting anything from the cottage.

We will return very soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The safety for young child because the door is set of the road in a courtyard
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. it is very encouraging to know that our customers are pleased with our efforts to make the house as comfortable as possible. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just simply first class”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was much better than the description. Everything you needed was there with some extra touches. It was spotless and even though it was tucked away in a courtyard you could see the sea from most windows. The owner kept in touch prior to arrival and made sure heating was on and even left a bottle of wine,biscuits and milk for us. The walk in shower(water always hot) was a godsend after a day discovering the beautiful coastline. We hope to go again later in the year and this place is highly recommended by us.

Keith and Ruth,Shropshire (early 60s)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Stairs we a bit steep
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thank you for writing such a kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to 21 Shore Street.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg M
Stranraer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic short break in Cellardyke”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a great setting. Spotlessly clean and comfortable, the owners have furnished and equipped this cosy, quaint, fisherman's cottage to a very high standard with great attention to detail. Ideally situated for exploring the East Neuk of Fife and within easy reach of excellent restaurants and pubs - we can recommend The Haven, a short stroll along the seafront, which serves excellent meals and provided live entertainment. Also excellent was the Dreel Tavern in Anstruther which has a great atmosphere, good food and also had live entertainment on. We visited Cambo House which has lovely walks and we were lucky enough to be there while their famous snowdrops were in full bloom. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and equipment.
Liked least: Scottish weather in February!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your break in Cellardyke and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan2015
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay over Xmas, fantastic house and brilliant location for Anstruther & Cellardyke.
House was immaculate, with a lovely bottle of wine & shortbread (milk, tea, coffee) waiting on us. The owners even had a Xmas tree waiting on us. Beautiful view from the front window.
We will stay at this house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you to our property again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianpi...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well equipped comfortable cottage”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for the October break and were full of anticipation based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The cottage is tastefully decorated, everything seems new and fresh. There was plenty of storage space and the bedroom downstairs was large enough to give both my sons their own personal space. The tv and sound system were an excellent facility as was the wifi. There was a good selection of board games too. The kitchen was well equipped and it was a nice touch arriving to find milk, wine and shortbread - the basics! Unfortunately we couldn't find the piece to put the coffee in to use the coffee machine (not sure what its name is !). Lovely views of the sea.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
I am so glad that you had a good holiday at our cottage. I checked the coffee machine and all the parts are there; the bit I think you were looking for is stored in the back of the machine itself (where the water is added). Hopefully, we will see you back again the future and you will be able to make full use of all our facilities. Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilG67
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, superb location”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

21 Shore Street provided excellent accommodation for my family's holiday in Fife. It has a superb location with rock pools, harbour, children's playground, and good pub restaurant within easy reach.

The accommodation was very well furnished with comfortable beds, crisp clean linen, and towels which put my own towels at home to shame. The living room was large with a great window seat offering sea views. We enjoyed the access to a good size TV and my children were happy they could make used of the wifi on their tablets. The bathroom was also very clean as was the kitchen. It was a nice touch that that tea, coffee and sugar was provided, as was washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. My wife made full use of the coffee machine for her daily caffeine fix. Overall it appears as though the property has been recently painted and all fixtures and fittings were relatively new.

I have no hesitation in giving it the highest rating - the only small negative I can think of is that it was not very easy to get a family of four around the dining table in what is a relatively small space behind the kitchen door.

I would recommend 21 Shore Street to anyone wanting to stay in Fife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the property.
Liked least: Leaving to return home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juyamah
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Really is a 5 star property”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this house on the strength of previous reviews and we were certainly not disappointed., the house is very clean and well decorated and furnished, all the needs of visitors had been well thought out with everything that we might have needed being provided, good quality furnishings made it a home from home.

Cellardyke itself is a lovely town and a great base for exploring the East Neuk of Fife.

Absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration and furnishings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing