We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Find”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room panorama.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room panorama.
A very well equipped kitchen. Solitude... all that's missing is the wine.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Living room panorama.
A very well equipped kitchen.
Solitude... all that's missing is the wine.
Master bedroom (queen)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vesuvius, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Explore_B...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“What a Find”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Sunset Solace is aptly named and an absolute gem. Whatever we needed for our two-week stay, this cute home away from home had it, and anything we asked about was promptly supplied by our generous hosts. Booking was a breeze, as was communication with our hosts, Bruce, Wendy and Meghan.
The view from the wrap-around deck and windows is second to none and the quiet pure bliss, a haven for for anyone in need of serious R&R.
We found the best rye sourdough bread ever at North End Farm. A must-do is the Channel Ridge trail system, which starts right up the road and offers spectacular views from its west-facing trails especially. The island has something for every taste, and during our two-week stay we never ran out of things to do. Highly recommend the cheese and charcuterie plate with a bottle of dry cider at the local cidery, the perfect nosh on a warm afternoon. Sunset Solace will be our new go-to place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Thank you so much. What a lovely review. We were so happy that you came to stay with us. We will keep in touch and look forward to seeing you again next year. Bruce, Wendy & Meghan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric C
2 reviews
“Tranquil retreat”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely cottage and view. Hosts were friendly. Kitchen is fully stocked. Just 2 minutes from really scenic trails and ocean. Salt springs island is really wonderful. Good restaurants, bakery and coffee shops. My 6 days stay went by too quickly. I'll definitely have to come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Eric, thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you'll return one day. Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Bruce and Wendy have created the most perfect space. This was our second visit to Sunset Solace and we will definitely be back. The fire place, the views, the birds, the hot tub, the quick access to trailheads and the list could go on. It's the ideal place for a retreat whether solo, with your partner, or even with a family! We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Salt Spring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
Thanks Brooke! How eloquent! I will have to hire you as our Marketing Manager. Hope you guys come back soon. Bruce & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Just what the Doctor ordered : )”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank - you Bruce & Wendy for sharing your mountain - top paradise . This cottage is a real gem & should be experienced by all who seek rest & relaxation . I've now found my forever vacation getaway . Cheers , Rob : )

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Rob, thank YOU for using Sunset Solace as your Salt Spring Island home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beemerboy...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A Special Place”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage truly is a special place. An incredibly peaceful setting with stunning ocean views. Bruce made sure we knew where the best hiking trails were and that we had all the amenities we needed, while Wendy gifted us with vegetables just picked from her garden to enjoy during our stay. Put Sunset Solace on your list of happy places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
BJ, thank you so much for a fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you guys will return again. Bruce & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgebax
Ladner, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, clean and pet friendly”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay and we will definitely be back. We enjoy the great view in a cozy, clean home with our pet. The hot tub doesn't hurt either. See you soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for such a kind review, and we certainly hope that you will return. Soon! Bruce & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K
1 review
“Beauty view”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Sunset solace is a beautiful cottage. Well kept, with an amazing view. The hot tub sunset with a glass of wine is a must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you Adam. It was a pleasure having you guys. We found a grey sweater with zipper... was it yours? What would you like us to do with it?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing