We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence ala country pee”
Review of East Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Norwich
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for four days and were very disappointed. The motel is old and needs to be updated. The carpets were wet because apparently they just cleaned the carpets. So when we smelled an odor in the room we thought it was because the rugs were just cleaned. Also, one of the lamps were broken. The next morning th odor was still there so we informed the front desk and when we came back late that night the odor and lamp were still broken. We were asked at this point to move to a new room. We were exhausted and had two young children and this was not going to be possible. We went to talk to the Manager, Maryann the next morning and told her again the situation. On top of these problems, the health spa was not in service which also disappointed my husband since he works out each morning and was told in a review that they had a nice gym. No one ever got back to us about the situation. The next morning I spoke to the general manager or owner Irma who was very rude. She said we are not doing anything for you because we offered to move you at 10:00 the second night. She also said to me that we got a rate for one person instead of 2 adults and children. I then informed her I saw a better rate on expedia and that when I made my reservation, the reservationist said they would match it. I have never been treated by someone so nasty and unprofessional inn a hotel. The staff was friendly, what happened to her? I also told her I grew up in the area and would have given her repeat business every year since this hotel is convenient to where I was visiting, but being treated like this she lost my business. She didn't even care. I would not recommend this hotel!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank missy329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2008

I personally booked 3 rooms. I cancelled 1 couple 2 weeks prior and replaced them with another couple. I have a receipt showing that I was suppose to be charged for 3 rooms, but was charged for the couple I cancelled. I also received an extra $50 charged because someone smoked in one of the rooms I set aside even though no one was a smoker in any of the 3 rooms, but I was told they must of had a guest visit and they must of smoked, therefore, they had to air out the room and I received an extra fee. We should of been told about the fee so I could of informed the people in those rooms not to allow smoking. My daughter got married on June 1 and I referred all guests to the Inn and I think at least 30 rooms were reserved which is alot of business. The reservations manager would NOT refund the $50 fee. I will not use this Inn again because I feel we should of been informed of the extra fees and considering all the business that was referred there, they could of been a little more accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jser2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed 1 night at the East Norwich Inn while visiting family in the Long Island area. There seems to be a shortage of hotels on LI despite the proximity to the city. The inn was much larger than we had anticipated. Given the tudor style look of the exterior, the interior decor matched but was a bit drab & dark for our tastes & could use an updating. There was nothing wrong with the interior & it certainly seemed clean, but it wasn't bright & cheery. The room itself seemed a bit damp, but again - nothing we couldnt live with for our short stay. We didn't use it, but the pool looked really nice & again larger than one would have expected. The hotel had a free continental breakfast that included pastries, cereal, fruit, and "real" bagels! This was an added bonus that we weren't necessarily expecting. Parking is near the facility, so no problems there. I got a govt discount rate of ~$100/night, I feel this price was reasonable, but I wouldn't necessarily want to spend more unless it was a "have to" have a room type of scenario.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pharmgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Fine place.

Comfortable rooms, helpful staff. Beds are great.

The continental breakfast and coffee are excellent.

(The lobby has references to Burt Bacharach and the NY Islanders.

I don't know what any of that is about.)

Anyway, feel confident that the East Norwich Inn is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Enjoyed our stay very much, nice room and good service

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank j.c.cannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Pretty good hotel, but it was overpriced (although everything in Long Island is overpriced.) The location was great for visiting relatives in Suburban L.I. There are several places to eat within walking distance. It's about 5 miles to the train station. The continental breakfast is fairly good. The staff was very helpful. They have 2 computers with internet access open to guests.

The rooms were average. I have back problems, and the beds were great! The downside, all of our rooms smelled like a combination of stinky feet and wet dog. We had 4 rooms in different parts of the hotel, and they all smelled terrible. The beds were good enough and the rooms were clean enough to keep us from changing hotels. The gym is one bike and one treadmill (gym closes at 8pm). The pool is pretty big and very kid friendly. Oh, and most important for anyone that can't walk up stairs...NO ELEVATORS. You have to carry all of your luggage up 2 flights of stairs. It's manageable, but kind of a pain.

Insider tip to women shoppers: stay away from "Girfriends". It's a boutique in the strip mall next to the hotel. They will try to rip you off, and they are terribly rude. BUT, do stop by the bakery right next door. Delicious everything!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Hungry710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones en la cara sur son mas tranquilas, las suites en las esquinas son mas grandes y sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marbar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at East Norwich Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Norwich
5.8 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
3.3 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
4.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Norwich Inn

Address: 6321 Northern Blvd, East Norwich, NY 11732-1620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > East Norwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Norwich
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — East Norwich Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The East Norwich Inn you will find that our comfort and hospitality are just some of the many reasons that we remain one of Long Islands most elegant hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your East Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Norwich Hotel East Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing