We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Woodsmen's Festival

Our family visited this museum during the Woodsmen's Festival being held here. This (working) mill... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2019
allen2805
,
Liverpool, New York
via mobile
Exceeded Expectations!

We visited Hanford Mills Museum with our kids and grandchildren not knowing what to expect. We... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2019
Traveler802608
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
30
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam engine well worth the trip water wheel cooperstown pond sanford glimpse workings awe development grain festival saws
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

My husband heard this advertised on NPR, so we decided to make the hour and a half drive and check it out. What a wonderful visit it was! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. We arrived after the tour had started. We joined the rest of the group, and at the end of the tour, our guide took us to see what we had missed. She was so knowledgeable and interesting....and even demonstrated how shingles were made. Thanks to all for a wonderful tour! What a hidden gem!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 551suem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

So good to hear you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for writing a review. We welcome you to come again, perhaps for one of our festivals: the Woodsmen's Festival is October 14, the Ice Harvest Festival is February 3, the Independence Day Celebration is July 4, and the Antique Engine Jamboree is held in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This is a wonderful 150 year old working sawmill in a picturesque setting! The water wheel and all the belts that power all these tools are amazing! The staff is very nice and give informative demonstrations of making shingles and butter churn tops! Also have a gristmill, woodworking shop, and an icehouse! They do put on special events which you can check on their website. If you love history, you will really enjoy this place!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank cookiegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We took a chance and stopped although when arriving it didn't look like much but where we surprised. There is more to see than it looks. We had a great guided tour and saw some amazing sights. Be sure to make the stop and you will truly see things you haven't seen before.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

I went to the Hanford Mills Museum this weekend with four adults and 3 boys ages 8-13. The staff were really knowledgeable and did a great job of explaining how the mill worked. It was really great to see them open up the gates so the water wheel turned, the pulleys and belts sprang into action, and we could watch the different machines work, like the tongue and groove machine and the large wheeled saw that they used to make several 1x6 boards from a hemlock trunk. Their level of explanation was fitting for both the boys (who needed more explanation) and the adult in our group who was a member of a steam engine club. In addition, the staff was _extremely_ helpful and patient with our guest who had mobility issues and went out of their way to make sure it was a good experience for him. Many thanks for a great visit!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank HeatherP1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Heather thank you for visiting Hanford Mills and for writing a thoughtful review. Our staff works hard to connect with everyone on our guided tours, and I'm glad you found that to be the case too. Please come again, perhaps for the Antique Engine Jamboree on September 9 when we'll be operating our steam boiler and steam engines to run the mill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

We visited the museum during the off season. Educational programs were great but museum was not operational during the winter months.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Beachbound2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Thanks for visiting and for your review. Just like when the Hanfords ran the Mill a century ago, we can't operate the water-powered Mill in the winter months. We do hold the Ice Harvest Festival on the first Saturday in February, and welcome you to come then. We operate the Mill and its water-powered machines and offer guided tours May 15-October 15, from Wednesday-Sunday, 10-5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews