We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quintessentials lives up to its name!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 East Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quintessentials lives up to its name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed at Quintessentials 4 years in a row. Sylvia Daly is a hostess second to none. She has ruined me for all B&B's! Seriously, the accommodations are very clean, comfortable and nicely done. Each room has a theme and all are very warm and relaxing. The whole atmosphere of the property is quaint and just gives you the feel of "home".

Her breakfast is a brunch. Served later than most (around 9:45am) and will last about an hour. You won't need lunch! Sylvia also will go to great lengths for special dietary needs. The food is fresh, healthy choices, and she will share recipes! What is unique is how she presents each course and will join you at the table. The conversation is always warm and inviting. During the summer months, while the weather is good, dining on the deck helps add to the relaxation.

If you wish to stay for a while, you can spend time on the property in the lounge chairs, hammock swing or rocking chairs. There are lovely flowers and gardens spread out. And even a nice gazebo. Inside, there is a nice library and sitting room on the first floor.

I cannot say enough about the charm and dedication this wonder innkeeper has toward her guests. She is extraordinaire! And Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa is the ultimate in B&B experience.

Room Tip: The Brandon room has a Jacuzzi tub. A couple of other rooms have private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyRN118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    12
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Quintessentials for a couple of nights with my sister and teenage daughter. We stayed in the Kingston room. It was terrific. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and we were provided an extra fold-out bed since there was three of us.

The breakfasts were amazing. All the food was fresh and absolutely delicious. We are still raving about the home-made coffee cake and biscuits. The frittatas, potatoes, juice and coffee were also excellent.

Sylvia was such a pleasure. We had great conversations with her every day. Aside from her excellent hospitality, Sylvia did an amazing job with the spa services. I had a facial for the first time and it was superb.

By the time we checked-out, I felt as though we had just ended a visit with a long-lost relative. Sylvia really made us feel at home. This was one of the most relaxing vacations I ever had.

Another great thing about this B&B is it's location. It was close to downtown Greenport, the LI wineries, Orient State Park/beach, farm stands, the ferries and several restaurants.

I only have good things to say. We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own unique charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I returned to Quintessentials for some much needed R&R. As expected, our experience was superb -- just like the last time we were there. Sylvia is like family, her B&B is beautiful, luxurious -- a real Island feel on the North Fork. The spa is wonderful and the world class breakfasts -- no need for lunch after savoring all the delicious home cooked goodies. We will definitely be back ASAP!!! Quintessentials is by far our favorite B&B -- and we've been to many!!! xo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just came from an amazing weekend with my husband at Quintessentials. What a special place! The owner Sylvia certainly knows what it means to be hospitable. No detail was forgotten. From the moment we walked in we were impressed. We walked into her beautiful home and were welcomed with great Jazz music playing and the smell of fresh baked cookies and as if that wasn't enough, Sylvia greeted us with her beautiful smile and cheery personality. We continued to be surprised throughout our weekend stay. Our room was cozy and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast is definitely worth mentioning. Sylvia cooked up an amazing breakfast which included many herbs and vegetable from her fresh organic garden. If you enjoy landscaping you will be in heaven when walking through her beautiful gardens. Be sure to stop off in her meditation area, great way to start a day. We hope that you will have the opportunity to be one of Sylvia's guest. You will not be disappointed. We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Savannah room which we loved but one of her smaller rooms which we purposely chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranNewRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was really a great experience.. The fresh baked chocolate chip cookies was delish. We would definitely go back. The bed was soo comfortable, my girlfriend and I stayed. In Mandeville Room the decor was so beautiful, we had a bottle of champagne in our room, We had robes and slippers,. I had a great massage. The breakfast was.great the fretatta, hash brown, fresh baked biscuits and breads were so delicious. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I hesitate expressing the flaws I saw in my stay because we were welcomed into the inn with warmth and friendliness, but to be fair, I am dispersing my comments as set forth.

My friend and I stayed in the Negril room, which has a terrace, fireplace and whirlpool tub. I am rating my stay as average with the title of "needs a touch more" because the terrace had a typical backyard view, no garden of flowers, just two shed-type structures in view and the lounge chair on the terrace looked too worn for my bones to rest upon.

There were no luxury bath products provided, just some gel soap, a lotion resembling conditioner and shampoo that is dispensed from the wall of the shower. It smelled cheap and felt cheap upon my skin. I wished I had bought my own soap.

The room was awkwardly furnished by the placement of a long table running in front of a bay window with a chair on each side. I felt clutter getting on and off the bed as it was positioned by a fireplace that added no charm nor warmth as it was fake, a gas appendage against the wall of which the bed ran across; this is where I felt the squeeze of clutter.
I did get a good night's rest, but that could have come with the help of my day's trek to the nearby vineyards.
So, I rate it average because the room was as average as a Best Western, except the room came at luxury prices. I expected a touch more for the 300+ a night.

Room Tip: If you still choose to pay the top dollar for a stay at this inn, matter as well go with the Negril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueAdmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a wonderful, last-minute weekend. Sylvia is an excellent hostess and our room was cozy. The house and grounds were intimate with rich history that she shared. The breakfast was mouth-watering and she has a special nack for selection/prep; you won't forget the home made Corn Beef Hash!
Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowhunter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintbbspa, Owner at Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa. We especially love when our guests write about our cooking. The corn beef hash has been a perennial winner and the recipe is on its way to you this very minute! We too are looking forward to your next visit, you were wonderful guests. I’m already thinking menu, and some exquisite dishes for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Marion
0.2 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.5 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
3.9 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arbor View House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa

Property: Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa
Address: 8985 Main Rd, East Marion, NY 11939-1537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > East Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa is an elegant inn providing fine lodging, hospitality and rejuvenating spa therapies in the historic, seaside hamlet of East Marion, Long Island, NY, just 3 miles from the seaport village of Greenport and 90 miles from New York City. Our beautiful rooms and suites, delicious breakfasts, spectacular skincare and bodyworks spa, and our dedicated care, receive top reviews from our guests and the press. Dan's Papers "Best of The Best on the North Fork" "Best Romantic Bed & Breakfast." Time Out New York Magazine "Best Spa Getaway in the Hamptons," New York Times "Best of the Best Getaways," Newsday "Best Bets Long Island Getaways." Come to Quintessentials and enjoy five-star care, comfort and relaxation. You'll balance and rejuvenate your body, mind and spirit and you'll take home wonderful memories and want to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintessentials Bed And Breakfast And Spa East Marion, NY - North Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing