We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing and inviting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 East Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Babylon, New York, United States
1 review
“Relaxing and inviting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

As a birthday surprise, my husband booked a short stay at Quintessentials for us. As neither one of us had ever stayed at a B&B before, we were a little uncertain as to what to expect.

When we arrived Sylvia prepared an afternoon tea and baked a birthday cake (complete with a candle and the infamous happy birthday song)

The house had the feel of a warm, welcoming HOME and Sylvia's charm and hospitality made us feel even more at home.

Our room (the Kingston Room) was bright, cheery and immaculately clean!

When we sat down for breakfast the following morning we were treated to a wonderful fresh fruit salad followed by an array of homemade warm and delicious muffins, biscuits, and breads (complete with local jam). Our next "course" was a fabulous frittata!

Our stay was wonderful! Sylvia was amazing! The house was spectacular and loaded with old world charm and character! Not only are we planning on returning this summer, we have recommended Quintessentials to all of our friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    12
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
86
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

On the eastern tip of the North Fork of Long Island, nestled in East Marion is Quintessentials. My BFF and I in need of some R&R made the trip to this lovely Spa and B&B. This Victorian house is deceptively large. It is beautifully decorated with a world view. The very sophisticated proprietor, Sylvia is a world traveler and the house reflects this. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with tea and home baked cookies. We were able to distress from the trip before heading up to our room. We were in the Negril room. The room has absolutely beautiful. Due to the warm weather we were able to sit outside on our balcony sipping champagne. It doesn’t get much better than this. Next up: massages and facials. Both services were exquisite.

We took a car ride 8 miles east until you can go no further and you run into the Atlantic Ocean. What a wondrous sight. The village of East Marion has these charming shops and is definitely worth a visit. Wineries abound in this section of Long Island. Tanger outlet is nearby. On our way to Quintessentials and on our way home we stopped in for some power shopping.

I cannot end this review without discussing breakfast. When we entered the dining room it was like stepping back in time to a Caribbean plantation. The color palate invokes the Caribbean. We were served home baked breads. All were outstanding but the coffee cake infused with Jamaican blue mountain coffee was beyond delicious. Every one of the four courses was absolutely delicious and farm fresh.

We were so sad to leave. We have decided to make this an annual retreat. We have reluctantly agreed to include some of our other friends in on this trip. We really want to keep this gem all to ourselves. But that would be selfish. Right?

Room Tip: The Negril room is tucked away in the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

it's almost february in new york & feels like spring. what better way to celebrate, than to hop in the car, head out to a beautiful place where you know you'll be welcomed?

we did exactly that & were rewarded with a warm greeting from innkeeper, sylvia; delicious afternoon tea; gorgeous room with extremely comfy bed; delectable breakfast; great company; easy access to all the wonderful things the north fork offers--beach, wine & great food. not to mention spectacular sunrises & sun sets.

thank you, sylvia, for all of quintessentials & thanks mother nature for giving us an unforgettable weekend to enjoy it all.

Room Tip: the entire upstairs is quiet & relaxing, but if you want to be farthest away from all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abiola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

From the moment we walked in the door we knew we picked the right place. Celebrating our honeymoon Sylvia made our stay memorable. She adds to the charm of this historic get-away spot. We ate at some fabulous local restaurants, relaxed and each had a wonderful massage. We're looking forward to returning in the warmer months when her gardens are in bloom. I think my belly is still full from those biscuits!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed in the Brandon Room which was spacious and comfortable. The host, Sylvia, was the right balance of attentive and withdrawn (she gives you your space). I had two spa services (facial and massage) which were professionally performed and reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious, but served (I thought) a little late, @ 9:45 a.m. I'd go back in a heartbeat though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiskatomcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed at Quintessentials during the North Fork's House and Garden Tour. Let me tell you, Sylvia has one of the most magnificent gardens that I have ever seen. There is a lovely outdoor sitting space with a cooling fan where I enjoyed brownies and lemonade. The house was spotless and fabulous. We had her famed corn beef hash in the morning and I particularly loved the sweet bread and the mint infused water (so refreshing)! It was quite a relaxing getaway from my busy life in the city. I loved using the jaccuzzi jet tub to relax and wind down. Definitely a great place to stay, especially in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My friend and I brought our daughters to celebrate their 21st birthdays. Quintessentials was perfect: low key and very relaxing. Right from the start we felt welcome. The bedrooms were clean and decorated in soothing color. Silvia made a hard-to-get reservation for Friday night at a terrific local restaurant, The Frisky Oyster, Breakfast on the patio Saturday morning was delicious and bountiful. We all had great massages in the two massage rooms and then visited a number of local wineries.

Sunday it rained so we had breakfast, again delicious, in the dining room on a beautifully set table.

We were looking for a relaxing, low key weekend to unwind and Quintessentials was the perfect spot. Silvia was a charming but not obtrusive hostess. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongIslandprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Marion
0.2 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.5 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Arbor View House Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa

Property: Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa
Address: 8985 Main Rd, East Marion, NY 11939-1537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > East Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa is an elegant inn providing fine lodging, hospitality and rejuvenating spa therapies in the historic, seaside hamlet of East Marion, Long Island, NY, just 3 miles from the seaport village of Greenport and 90 miles from New York City. Our beautiful rooms and suites, delicious breakfasts, spectacular skincare and bodyworks spa, and our dedicated care, receive top reviews from our guests and the press. Dan's Papers "Best of The Best on the North Fork" "Best Romantic Bed & Breakfast." Time Out New York Magazine "Best Spa Getaway in the Hamptons," New York Times "Best of the Best Getaways," Newsday "Best Bets Long Island Getaways." Come to Quintessentials and enjoy five-star care, comfort and relaxation. You'll balance and rejuvenate your body, mind and spirit and you'll take home wonderful memories and want to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quintessentials Bed and Breakfast and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintessentials Bed And Breakfast And Spa East Marion, NY - North Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing