We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stop when visiting local wineries”

Lavender By The Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in East Marion New York, Lavender by the Bay has been growing the highest quality lavender on Long Island for more than 15 years. We offer seasonal fresh cut bunches, dried lavender, lavender plants, lavender sachets and crafts, and honey from our own beehives. In 2002, we expanded our company by purchasing 17 acres of farmland in East Marion, New York. We have planted twenty varieties of lavender across ten acres of farmland, yielding over 80,000 plants for cultivation. In order to preserve the beauty, form, and peaceful nature of the farm, we must now impose a $5 per person (12 years and older) fee to enter the fields while the flowers are in bloom. This fee goes towards the upkeep and maintenance of the plants, trails, and pavilion.
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A great place to stop when visiting local wineries”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a beautiful sight to be seen on Long Island. Two kinds of lavender are grown- both English and French. The English variety is more fragrant and the French lavender is more colorful. We did walk the fields and take some amazing pictures. We decided however to buy the lavender that was freshly cut and in bundles as opposed to picking our own. They gave is instructions on how to dry the lavender at home as the bundles are too large to dry as is. This is a great place to stop either on your way to Greenport or on your way to the local wineries. No real bathrooms - only portables. I will go back again next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WHENZUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I enjoyed this spot but there were too many bees in the lavender for me to enjoy walking through field. Even though they do charge you to walk through the fields, you get that as a credit in their gift shop, and can even cut your own lavender.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stop By”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful, unique and beautiful/smells good too! Learned more than expected as well. Look forward to return visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bowhunter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So Out of the Ordinary”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have to be honest- I did not go onto the fields- I do regret that ..... but the amount of gorgeous photos that I was able to take were pretty astounding. The fact that its right down the road from the bustling town of Greenport makes it seem like a moment from another time. Lavender does does have a calming effect and even with the parking lot being full ~ I was happy to have taken the time to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Unique”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The lavender is in bloom now and you can pick your own for $7.00. Unless you travel to Provence, a place like this is a rarity. The fields are so beautiful and the aroma of lavender fills the air.
You also have the lavender store where you can buy lavender sugar, lavender salt, lavender baked goods, lavender soaps and creams, sachets etc . Lavender honey is available at the end of July.
If you plan to stay overnight on the North Fork, The Blue Inn is next to the Lavender fields . You can smell the aroma as you leave your room. Breakfast is served outside and you can sit overlooking the lavender fields. In addition ,all is 5 minutes away from Greenport.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender By The Bay also viewed

Mattituck, North Fork
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
Southold, North Fork
 

Been to Lavender By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing