We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the East End - stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Inn At North Fork
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the East End - stay there!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed on the second floor in the back building in a very clean and comfortable room. Plenty of space for the two of us. The room seemed newly renovated. We loved having the mini kitchen. The front office staff was friendly and helpful when I called before we arrived to check on places to lock up our bikes. The grounds are beautiful and there are picnic tables and grills available next to the pool.

It was a great launching off point for a bike ride to the Orient Point State Park and a short drive to Greenport and the North Fork Wine Trails. Even though the lavender at the farm next store wasn't blooming while we were there, there was still a lovely scent in the air.

Didn't miss the restaurant or bar, there is a great general store (Fork & Anchor) within walking distance that has amazing sandwiches, great coffee and prepared salads.

An ice maker on the property would be a nice addition, but we were able to pick some up at the Fork & Anchor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation! Comments like these just make my day. We loved having you here, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Until then,
Mary, General Manager

P.S. I hear what you're saying about the ice maker. We'll certainly take your suggestion into consideration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    57
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from The Blue Inn in Greenport which is on the North Fork of Long Island. The hotel was immaculate and the bedding very comfortable. The room had a small kitchenette which was convenient.

However, there were a few drawbacks. There was no ice to be found anywhere on the property. The office was closed and there were no ice machines anywhere, not even cube trays in the freezers in the room. Also, every time someone was cooking and set off the fire alarm in their room it was also set off in all of the rooms. It was okay at 6pm but not cool a 7am the next morning. The restaurant and bar were also closed, which was a bit of an inconvenience. The front desk said they were going to reopen sometime during the year. The staff was polite, but not overly friendly.

All in all, the hotel was convenient to the wineries, very clean, affordable and had a nice pool. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have cathedral ceilings which gives the room a larger feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate you speaking up about the lack of ice machines/trays and the smoke alarm situation. We're always open to suggestions on how we can better the guest experience, and I have no doubt your review will help us do just that!

Until next time,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Given how expensive other nearby options were, my friend and I jumped at the chance to book a room for less than $200 in late August. For one, the main building that is featured in all the management photos is very charming and inn-like however most of the rooms are actually in a separate building, which is not so charming and very dated and motel-like.

The room itself was quite small, however it was nice to have a full kitchen including a half-sized fridge and four-top gas burning stove - I've never seen that included in a basic hotel room before. The kitchen is stocked with utensils, a full plate set including wine glasses, dish soap, etc. so it's perfect for people who want to cook a meal or two instead of eating out all the time. The bathroom was a tight squeeze! The bathroom sink was small and offered very little counter space so we kept our toiletries on the kitchen counter instead of within easy reach in the bathroom, which is a bit inconvenient. There was a shower in the bathroom (no tub) and even though the shower was clean, it looked a bit dated and dingy. I also found the water pressure to be on the low side. My major complaint about the room would be the beds - the mattresses were too soft and saggy and the bed frame is an over-sized wood box which both my friend and I very painfully rammed our shins into by accident on two separate occasions! It would be nice if management could pad the bed frames somewhat, especially since the rooms are on the smaller side and hence guests are probably more likely to bump into them.

On the plus side, I think the management tries to make the best out of what they have and so they are generous with toiletries including toothpaste, Scope mouthwash, dental floss, and shower caps, etc. We thought everything in the room was clean and the bedspreads were cute and looked brand new. I also thought it was great that there are picnic tables and barbecue pits on the grounds, which is perfect for groups and families who are looking for a casual, low-key break from the uber fancy and expensive North Fork restaurant offerings. We thought the continental breakfast was a great little perk, although the actual offerings are somewhat spartan : bagels, mini muffins, mini croissants, cereal, oatmeal packets, yogurt, and apples and bananas. It would have been really nice if management provided a toaster for the bagels and some other jam flavors (they had grape only). Tip: for anyone unhappy with the breakfast offerings, there is a super cute deli/cafe called Fork and Anchor, which is a quick 5 minute walk from the Inn.

Our favorite perk was the Inn's location adjacent to a lavender farm. It was so heavenly pulling in to the Inn and smelling air that was so wonderfully fragrant. Overall, my friend and I were both pleased with our experience at the Blue Inn, but we decided that the lavender farm was our favorite part of the trip and would lure us back to a return stay at Blue Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chau_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
While I'm glad you appreciate our proximity to the lavender farm and range of amenities, I'm sorry the rest of your visit didn't live up to your expectations. We like for each of our guests to feel completely comfortable in our rooms, and I'm disappointed that wasn't the case for you. However, I appreciate you sharing about your experience by leaving us a review. It's how we know we can do better, and we will!

Safe travels,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had been talking for a while about going to the North Fork for a few days but all the inns/hotels, etc. were just too expensive. Then I found a Travelzoo voucher for The Blue Inn and figured why not. I'm pleased to say it was the perfect choice. It's close to Greenport, the grounds are just beautiful and well kept and the room was fantastic. Spotless and quiet with a great little kitchenette. We got takeout each night--go to the Greek place a little ways down the road--awesome--and sat outside at the picnic tables to eat in the twilight, which is quite a treat for us apartment dwellers. The staff was wonderful and helpful and the pool is great-cool and clean. The only two suggestions I would are bring some paper towels if you are staying more than a day or two to clean up spills, etc.(I felt bad using the towel they provide) and maybe it was just our room that didn't have it but something to put your suitcase on would be great. But we couldn't have been more pleased and we look forward to going back for a longer stay next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The perfect choice? What a generous compliment! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a recommendation. I hear what you're saying about the lack of luggage racks in our guest rooms, and it's certainly something we'll look into!

Until next year,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The inn is a 5 minute ride to greenport. Breakfast (8-10) and wine tasting passes were included in the travelzoo package. We went to breakfast at 9:30 and there was literally 2 rolls 1 yogurt and an orange left. We were not offered the wine tasting passes that were supposed to be included. The room was clean, except the towels had visual stains on them. You can borrow a beach pass for a $40 refundable deposit, but it would have been nice if the staff gave a suggestion of a beach. We found Kenney Beach on our own, quiet and sandy (unlike many of the north shore rocky beaches) . Probably would not stay at again. The hotel is not in walking distance of the restaurants in Greenport (claudio's, etc.) If you found this helpful, please click on the helpful button. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel by the pool is quieter than the rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
You're absolutely right: When you stay with us, you expect a certain level of care and accommodation; I'm sorry to hear we didn't quite hit the mark. Did you ask our staff for a beach suggestion, or did they just forget to provide you with one? I'm glad you found Kenney Beach on your own, but our team is usually full of helpful suggestions for those unfamiliar with the area!

I'll look into those stained towels you mentioned, and I hope you decide to return so we can show you what we're all about. Thanks for reaching out; I hope your stay on the North Fork was an enjoyable one.

Take care,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Blue Inn is a beautiful gem just past the town of Greenport.
The place was very clean, the guest and staff were wonderful.
Everything needed for a 3 day stay was here. Pool, nice continental breakfast
that included everything needed to start your morning. Toast, coffees,teas, breads,
fruits, cereals , yogurts,and oatmeals.
Air conditioning was state of the art new and quiet and more than comfy ....
Fridge and kitchette are great value and ice was available always with the front desk ...

Will come back here forever .....

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs may be a bit more scenic, but that would be a guess. Not an issue for my wife and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philori97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Your review just made my day! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit. It was our pleasure to have you, and I'm thrilled to hear you felt right at home at our inn. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Until then,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The reason I give this 3 stars is because the location was really good. I would have given it 2 stars because.....when you first walk into the room it looks nice and tidy. Well they have these blankets on the bed that I'm almost sure they don't wash everyday. The sheets had a bunch of stains on them. I realize that sheets will get stains even if they are clean but for over $200 a night buy new sheets if they stain up. There was hair on the sheets as well. Although this didn't bother me I feel like I should mention that you can hear everything from the room above.
Also the pool had tons of leaves in it, which makes it less than inviting and to top it off they used the loudest lawn mower that took well over an hour to do.
The comp breakfast was non-existent with a few bagels and a few yogurts. No fresh fruit :(

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theblueinn, Manager at The Blue Inn At North Fork, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback after your stay. While I'm happy to hear you appreciate our convenient location, I'm sorry you weren't completely comfortable in your room. Rest assured that we provide fresh linens for each guest who visits us! Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and the last thing we want is for anyone to be concerned about the cleanliness of their room.

As far as our breakfast service goes, we always offer fresh fruit and plenty of extras. It sounds like you must've caught us as we were putting the food away that morning!

In terms of our lawn and pool, our maintenance staff does their best to keep these areas tidy for our guests. I'll be sure to pass your review along to them as a reminder that we can always do better!

Regards,
Mary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Marion
3.4 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
515 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
4.1 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
70 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
4.6 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Inn At North Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Inn At North Fork

Property: The Blue Inn At North Fork
Address: 7850 Main Rd, East Marion, NY 11939-1505 (Formerly Blue Dolphin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > East Marion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blue Inn At North Fork 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Inn at North Fork offers 29 refurbished guest rooms and suites conveniently located on the beautiful and charming North Fork of Long Island, New York. Nestled in the heart of wine country, The Blue Inn is minutes from unspoiled beaches, historic and picturesque villages, bustling restaurants and quaint shops. We invite you to experience for yourself the quiet country feel, natural beauty and miles of open bucolic farmland and vineyards of the North Fork. The Blue Inn offers a choice of one and two room suites and efficiencies that are ideal for couples and families. Each of our units offer a kitchenette featuring a sink, gas stove, mini refrigerator and microwave oven. In room amenities also include complimentary Wi-Fi internet, courtesy coffee, remote cable TV with HBO, hair dryer, air conditioning and daily maid service. All our rooms are non-smoking.Our casual restaurant is open seasonally and offers indoor and outdoor seating, serving lunch and dinner. In your down time, take in the sun around our outdoor pool and barbecue in our shaded picnic area. The Blue Inn is the perfect haven from everyday bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Blue Inn At North Fork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Inn At North Fork Hotel East Marion
Blue Dolphin Hotel
The Blue Inn At North Fork East Marion, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing