We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Hampton House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hampton House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Hampton
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I read all of the reviews before booking a room at this hotel. Most of the reviews were correct. It is a "motel", two floors, VERY accommodating staff, clean, and minimally updated(although clean). My daughter and I did not take advantage of any of the activities on the property, ie. swimming pool, tennis courts as it was FREEZING/SNOW. But the hotel is comfortable and I didn't get that "yuck" feeling although the room was not "modern". Would stay again. Sorry...no pics.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, Manager at East Hampton House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We believe this review to be written by a person who already wrote an unkind review last year regarding their 4 year old gift certificate. The Hedges Inn is closed for the winter so no one has stayed there with 'ice and snow'. The Hedges not have a swimming pool nor a tennis court. Our beautiful guest rooms, well, they are all luxuriously renovated; marble baths, vessel sinks, new carpeting throughout the entire inn, flat screen TV's, complimentary WIFI, French woven beach baskets, new towels, sheets, bed coverlets, you get the idea. The Hedges Inn is three stories not two but we do appreciate this reviewer stating how clean and comfortable The Hedges Inn is - because it is!
This is the downside to this site, anyone can post anything with out truly having been there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
29
41
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SweetTpie10s
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel..We knew exactly what to expect and were not dissappointed...Excellent location. Very large room with separate sitting area. The bathroom is completely renovated. My absolute favorite part is the heating lamp in the bathroom! Ahhh i wish I had one of those at home! Bed was king and was def more comfortable this time than last time..
Rate was about $115 a night. Hopefully next time we go we can stay more than one night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetTpie10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Got a 2 room second floor suite, pocket doors separated bedroom area from living room. Small but very clean bath room and kitchenette. Well cared for rooms with flat screen tvs, large balcony. Excellent off season rates compared to luxury guest houses in area which priced as very expensive. Quiet off season stay, but had pool and nice spacious grounds in back for summertime visitors. Small gym/workout area off lobby, rather charmless young lady at check in-- a hello and welcome coming from her would not have been too much to ask for arriving guests. Orignally booked thru Amex, front desk had looked at their email but didn't book room, and second night stay wasn't entered with next day clerk calling to ask why we hadn't checked out. Someone needs to train the front desk staff better !! Comfortable king bed with sleeper sofa in living room with extra pillows and blankets. Bed was near the entrance door so one can hear comings and goings of other guests late at night in parking lot and walkways. It is obvious they take care in keeping the place in good repair and I thought the housekeeping was immaculate with enough towels soaps tissue and ktichen supplies. But a little hospitality training at the front desk is very much needed ! You can't beat the off season room price, what do you expect ?

Room Tip: ask for room in one of the back buildings its very quiet back there and away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperWestSiderGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A fine place to stay, clean, well-appointed room, excellent service and just a short walk to town. A happy thumbs up. Quiet location, and a gym which was a very pleasant surprise. The maid service was excellent, the front desk personnel extremely helpful. My only complaint was that I had trouble getting the cable tv to work properly but that may have been to my ignorance in those matters.

Room Tip: The concierge will provide all the necessary information required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinaldo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Yes, it's a motel, but the rooms were spacious & clean, the showers had great water pressure. The time of year has less travelers so the place was very quiet (yeah!). And the price was right.
The a/c was loud but didn't keep us from sleeping well.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms all have balconys looking over the nice landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I won't be able to review this property because of an overbooking error. I had already travelled 2 hours to a family party and was called in the early afternoon and told there was no room available for me and my husband. I was told reservations did not check the internet bookings which took precedence over my phone reservation and my room was not available. Never has this EVER happened to me and I will never stay here in the future! What a terrible way to run a business. Just beware when booking this place!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jowall08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

East Hampton House is a motel but it is well maintained and is hands down one of the more affordable options in the area. We stayed in a two room suite which was very roomy. The bathroom was clean (well, except for the gross large black beetle waiting for me on my towel when I got out of the shower), the bed was very comfortable and the people at the front desk are very nice. It's certainly not "luxurious" but it is quaint and you just can't beat the location- so close to East Hampton town and Amagansett. Also, super fabulous to have a Goldberg's Bagels right across the street!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
7.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
7.1 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#15 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#1 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hampton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hampton House

Property: East Hampton House
Address: 226 Pantigo Rd, East Hampton, NY 11937-2644
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hampton House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your East Hampton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hampton House Hotel East Hampton
East Hampton Hotel
East Hampton House Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing