We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special, warm and very professional at Maidstone Arms-Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maidstone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, N.Y.
1 review
“Special, warm and very professional at Maidstone Arms-Exceptional”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We have sojourned often at the Maidstone Arms in East Hampton.
We have always found the rooms well-kept, clean and warmly furnished. The garden was very relaxing and very well suited for the East Hampton mood.......ingratiating and pleasant.
With the new restaurant, we had very good food and very special service. But the full week-end breakfast was beyond expectations as
part of the board
We look forward to going back in the summer of 2009.

Dr. Marvin B.

  • Liked — Clean, warm, well-furnished, near beach East Hampton - garden, restaurant
  • Disliked — No problem.....met our expectations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    8
    19
    10
See reviews for
22
52
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2006

Went to the Maidstone Arms to spend my birthday weekend & was quite pleased with the place. Upon walking into the porch a distinctive smell was coming from within the Inn (wood burning fireplace!) which brought a smile to me and husband. We checked in around 11am & were very happy that the room was available before check in time (3pm.) We were greeted by a lovely young lady who continued to walk us around the property. The room was filled with antiques and were informed that they are sellable pieced as well. Dinner was great. The sashimi salad was awesome and we had salmon which was also great. The surprise was that there was live music (piano!) which just put the icing on the cake to a wonderful stay. Would come again but only off season because I've been here in the summer & you can't enjoy yourself due to the amount of people around.

  • Liked — The room and dinner
  • Disliked — Location is right on Main Street but you here the trucks going by.
  • Tips/Secrets — Off season is the best because its cozy, less people & the wood fireplaces are all on!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2006

Stayed in June for a weekend and was treated beautifully by staff. The desk was friendly and made a point to go out of the way to accommodate my needs. The restaurant I was told has a new owner and the look is very inviting. Have reservations for July and will make it a point to arrive next summer as well. THANKS MAIDSTONE ARMS FOR EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Decent inn, slightly rundown, but the staff is so horrible and angry that I would never stay there again. I was there for the Hamptons Film Festival and paid $500 a night and the staff was NASTY and very unfriendly.
The restaurant is even worse. It's as if they are pissed off that you are staying there.
I'd stay at the 1770 House instead where they couldnt be nicer and the place is much cleaner. The Maidstone Arms needs to clean their rugs and their dusty stained furniture. Charging anything above $200 a night for this place is a TOTAL rip off.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GSinNYC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2005

They need to take a trip to the lake placid lodge, to see how a place like this should be run!!!!The grounds a mess ,breakfast was nothing special!!Really do not offer much for the money......maybe you are paying for the zip code?

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1spout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2004

It's been a year since I stayed there but I was not impressed at all, especially given the cost. Room was small; bed not comfortable. Breakfast was a box of cereal, not even a carton of Tropicana OJ. Music was so loud at breakfast you felt like you were in a disco. A letter of complaint sent later received no reply.

Helpful?
8 Thank Daoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
5.7 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
109 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
229 reviews
6.9 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maidstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maidstone Hotel

Property: The Maidstone Hotel
Address: 207 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maidstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Maidstone boutique hotel, just a short drive from New York City, you will be welcomed as a friend. Located in the storied East End of Long Island, The Maidstone Hotel in East Hampton offers superior style, natural beauty and fine living. We invite you to discover all the unique nooks of our Long Island retreat: from the chic comfort of our lounge, our glorious garden, and our cozy rooms, to the pure, natural flavors of our cuisine while every whim is satisfied by impeccable service that is always gracious and never pretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Maidstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c/o The Maidstone Hotel East Hampton
The Maidstone Hotel East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing