We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Disappointing Experience:Noisy,SmellyTowels,Theft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Maidstone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less than Disappointing Experience:Noisy,SmellyTowels,Theft”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I booked the Kurbits Cottage. Upon arrival the cottage reeked of dogs and musty linens and towels. We asked to be relocated and were accommodated nicely to a room inside the main hotel. The Josef Frank room is cute and cozy, however, extremely noisy and the linen and towel smell persisted. Definitely this hotel has a laundry issue. No matter where we were, the towels were disgusting to use. On the up side, the breakfast including the French Press coffee was delicious and service excellent. The Living Room in the evening is cool and hip, we enjoyed wine at the bar. Just as the Maidstone began to grow on us, we forgave the smelly towels and noise...upon departure, as we were packing up I could not find my Hermes belt! We turned our bags and the room upside down to no avail. The only other people in the room were two Housekeeping girls. When I approached Randy, the manager, she said a belt "would not walk away" yet quickly defended her housekeepers without ANY investigation. My husband suggested a police report be filed and Randy proceeded to give us directions to the police station! We left with absolute disgust and felt violated. It is evident that this hotel has a THEFT problem as I am not the only one reporting a missing item yet Randy keeps her head in the sand. LOCK UP ALL OF YOUR VALUABLES if you stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HauteCoutureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockholmMalin, General Manager at The Maidstone Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Mrs B,
As I told you over the phone I can not enough express how sorry I am over the fact that you felt so badly treated when reporting your loss of the belt to our receptionist. It must have been awful for both you and your husband. As I also told you we are investigating what could have happened by checking our surveillance systems and talking to staff and as I said I will get back to you again shortly. I still hope that I will find your belt somewhere.
All my best
Sophie B Hindmarsh
General Manager
c/o The Maidstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    8
    19
    10
See reviews for
22
52
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room I had, Pippi Longstocking, should be renamed Pippi longstinking. I have been out of the room for hours but still smell that odd musty odor. They have taken being green to a new level. I don't like that level. Open water in glass jars and sticks instead of drink stirrers and used soap and shampoo containers. The bartender served a customer 2 flies in a martini!!! Way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockholmMalin, General Manager at The Maidstone Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Hotelscreener,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. It is of great value for us to get feedback since the most important thing is to constantly strive to be better. I am sorry to hear that you don’t like our way of being environmentally friendly. In some cases this means to sacrifice some things like for example disposables in plastic and bottled water. (It should of course not include serving flies in a Martini)
We do hope that we will have the chance to see you, if not at our hotel, in the Hamptons again.
Sophie B Hindmarsh
General Manager
c/o The Maidstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Maidstone is in a great location in East Hampton-it's cute, charming, with a European flair. The restaurant is quite good-but, it's difficult to get the attention of the staff. I travelled solo, and as a single woman going to the beach and visiting my lawyer, who lives out there, I felt I was not treated with a lot of attention or respect; there were obviously bigger men spending more money than I, and these people received more attention-
Randy, at the front desk, is extremely helpful, however, when I asked her to look into a clothing item I'm POSITIVE I left there, she never returned my call, and I'm quite sure it was taken by housekeeping. I haven't been able to replace it yet!
The Roald Anuldson single room is like staying in a closet-other than that, the style and
comfort of the hotel is charming, and unique for the Hamptons. But, very pricey for what you're getting!

Room Tip: The cozy Roald Anuldson ? room is not cozy-it's a closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keentraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LulubelleT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed her with an eight-year-old girl in August and we loved it. The complimentary yoga, pet and kid-friendly atmosphere. Use of swanky Krona bikes, walking distance to everything, luxe lodgings, cool lobby and restaurant. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

I love that they have kids AND a dog menu in the restaurant. The food was great and our daughter also was totally blown away by in room PlayStation and it gave me a break to shower, etc. The rooms are all chic but done different in the spirit of a well-known Scandanavian.

Don't miss Main Beach (so close and hotel gives you passes), walk to the pond to feed ducks, a drink in the very cool bar, a bite in the restaurant. (We only had breakfast there but it was fresh and lovely...)

We love the history of the hotel and the area and how they've tastefully updated the 200 year old home. It's definitely chic but zero snoot. You can almost forget about your car when you get there because the village is so close. We had a wonderful time and will be back!

You can read all of the details about our visit and property review here:

http://poshbrood.com/destinations/detail/c_o_the_maidstone_hotel/

Room Tip: Cottages great option for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LulubelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I spent few days in East Hamptons.
I was quiet despointed by the hotel and the service.

The room are very tiny for almost 800Usd a night. Space is a thing, but noise was terrible. At the first floor during the week end you are not able to sleep before the closure of the restaurant (1am) and after that you can hear the staff chated!

The room was not clean, sheets had some wholes, the cover bed was dirty, and even asked 3 times to be removed, I guess it's still there. The bathroom is challenging, no strorage space at all. Design is ok for a private appartment, but definitly not for an hotel.

Then, a green hotel is always nice, but to not offer any plastic bottle of water to go the beach.....just glass bottle is on my opinion a lack of service! I do spend time in a luxury hotel to go by myself to the supermarket to buy some!

Then, frond desk service is nice, always smart and polite, restaurant also.

The curious thing is the attidude of the GMs..... not a smile or a welcome when I checked in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ptitlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

no one is in charge. the owner was in sweden presumably visiting her other hotels. several sanitary lapses struck me as odd in an expensive b&b. beds are by hastens and are the residential models. mattresses are not waterproof - ick! upholstered box springs stick out from the thin mattress which means people crawl over them every time the get in bed - ick! filtered water is available in the mini bar, my bottle had mold under the cap (they bottle in the restaurant). my room was unbearably small and improvements like flat screens all seem haphazard with wires dangling etc. certainly not what you expect from the maidstone. stay at the 1770 house right up the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImpossiblyPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were not planning on staying in East Hampton, but time got away from us whilst travelling in the area and we stumbled upon this gorgeous place.
From the moment we stepped into the Maidstone, we didn't want to leave and regretted that we could only stay one night.
We were shown 2 beautifully decorated rooms that were available that night and decided on the Tove Jannsen Room which was decorated in calming greys and white. The view of the pond and windmill in the distance just made it extra special. Each room at the hotel is named after a Scandinavian personality/artist and is individually decorated.
The owners of this hotel have thought of everything.From the superb decor throughout the Hotel to the Malin & Goetz toiletries in the room.
We decided to dine in the Hotel's restaurant" The Living Room" that night and we again were not disappointed.
The service was friendly but professional and the food and wine was world class.We had a lovely evening taking in the views from the window, the decor of the room and sampling the wonderful food and wine.
Breakfast in the morning was included in the tarriff and we were confronted by a large family that were guests that were the most annoying and obnoxious people we have ever come across.The staff have to be commended for their professionalism and grace as they were hurled abuse from this horrible family but kept their calm the whole time.
After the family left, the staff apologised for the scene that these guests had created and we all had a joke about it.They were really friendly and down to earth.
I doubt I will ever get to return to The Maidstone again, as we live in Australia, but it is the type of place you would want to come back to again and again- just to stay and experience all 19 rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudleydog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
5.7 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
110 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
231 reviews
6.9 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maidstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maidstone Hotel

Property: The Maidstone Hotel
Address: 207 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maidstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Maidstone boutique hotel, just a short drive from New York City, you will be welcomed as a friend. Located in the storied East End of Long Island, The Maidstone Hotel in East Hampton offers superior style, natural beauty and fine living. We invite you to discover all the unique nooks of our Long Island retreat: from the chic comfort of our lounge, our glorious garden, and our cozy rooms, to the pure, natural flavors of our cuisine while every whim is satisfied by impeccable service that is always gracious and never pretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your The Maidstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c/o The Maidstone Hotel East Hampton
The Maidstone Hotel East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing