We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-rate, charming, and romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1770 House Restaurant

1770 House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
1770 House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in East Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dayton Lane
amagansett, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First-rate, charming, and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is the venue of choice for our birthdays and anniversaries. Charming, old and traditional, with a great wine cellar and good service. I've never dined in the downstairs pub area which supposedly has same quality food, but nowhere the ambience of the main floor. People get dressed up to dine and celebrate here: it's the only time I wear a tie.
It's also one of the few restaurants about which I've had nary a complaint. Superb

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    48
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NYC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Seafood with amazing ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome fluke tartar and striped bass. Outdoor seating great. Pricey but worth it. Top notch. Great date night.

Helpful?
Thank prezzgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great local a fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing date night with my wife. Extremely great service. Fluke tartar is amazing. Striped bass as well. Pricey but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elegant Hampton dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We ate outside the first time, with friends, celebrating a birthday. The service was discreet but charming, the food was fantastic. The garden dining area is delightful, modern and unfussy, the fire flies never escape my attention and add to the ambience.
The second time we ate as a group in the basement of the house, the fluke tartare was stunning, the wines as well. This house is old, really old Hampton wise and this is a great example of one that is still cared for with a lot of love and attention.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livemusictouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I had dinner outside around the little fountain. What a great experience. Service was amazing, the waiter from Florida was so attentive and guided us through the menu. I had the seared foie gras which was absolutely delicious. The peach chutney was just delicious. My husband had the salad which he said was very good also. Next, we both had the pan roasted sea bass which again was very tasty. The lobster and summer squash ragu complimented the fish perfectly. we finished our meal with a warm chocolate cake which was light but decadent. The evening was perfection. Don't miss this true gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1770 House Restaurant also viewed

 
Southold, North Fork
East Quogue, Hamptons
 

Been to 1770 House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing