We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed my mind!”
Review of Cittanuova

Cittanuova
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
nj
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Changed my mind!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

After returning to Cittanuova I must change my review. We went back about 7 months after our original visit and everything was completely different. I don't know if they got new management or new chefs but the food was great and the service was 100% better. We go out to the Hamptons about 4 times a year and normally eat at Cittanuova 2 times each visit. It pays to give a place a second chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    70
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY NY
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and pasta”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The decor here is lovely and it's a nice place to stop in any time of year. If you're just looking for a bright and energetic place for a glass of wine with friends at the bar, there is a friendly banter at their bar. If you're ordering apps, the grilled octopus is a favorite but be mindful that the $10+ blue fin tuna app is just a can of tuna that has had the lid taken off--served in the can. The pastas are delicious with generous portions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAM_from_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of our favorite spots in the Hamptons. The minestrone soup is so fresh and tasty; the linquine with clams perfect with just the right amount of garlic; the orecchiette with sausage and broccoli rabe with a bit of red pepper and lovely sauce, sausage pizza with great crust -- have never had a single negative dish. Wine is served to you in an individual carafe and wine selection very good. The bartenders are so friendly and helpful - you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank J0setteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but weird atmosphere”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food can be very good, it just always has a funny smell in this place. Plus the front is a local sports bar feel and the back is Siberia.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarthaMcCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cute place but the service is just not there”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Went in for some wine and appetizers around 4 pm and the manager quickly told us that there was no food served yet. We waited for table service in the bar but after 10 minutes walked up to the bar and ordered a bottle ourselves.

Wine was a little overpriced but what ruined it was they gave water glasses for the wine! When ur charging 60-100 for a bottle if wine you want wine glasses. No water was offered and after the bottle was empty the bar waiter asked if we needed anything. We ordered another bottle and a carafe of water and waiter just set it down on table with the glasses.

I would not go back. There are so many places that value customer service unfortunately this is not one of thise

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodandWineReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cittanuova also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Cittanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing