We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive atmosphere”
Review of Harbor Bistro

Harbor Bistro
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Festive atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This restaurant's name aptly describes it's location at the foot of a harbor. On an August Saturday night with perfect weather - the place was packed. The table I was at was along the edge of the deck overlooking the harbor. So, as the sun set, I had the perfect view of it. The bar area also was very busy as well.

The food was very good - given the location, there's all manner of seafood available of which I was able to try several, including what I had + sampling tastes of other items from dining companions. The cocktail I ordered wasn't quite to my liking; maybe because it wasn't quite what I was expecting. The service was very attentive, considering the packed house. The downside was that it could be tough, at times, to hear the conversation at your own table with the large crowd,

Parking was tight as the restaurant shares space with the harbor patrons. This is only a problem on days/nights such as this one though..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT WITH A SUNSET VIEW”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of my favorite restaurants in East Hampton.. Unfortunately I have 2 negatives to report on my last visit. When we had drinks at the bar the counter were I sat was sticky and definitely not cleaned properly. Never had this before.
The second bad experience was that although we were seated at 6:15 we were never told about the price fixed menu by our waitress. Since I was the host I was uneasy to ask, nor did I think I should have asked about a priced fixed menu. That should have been the first thing mentioned when she came to our table.
It must have been an off night with a fill-in staff. Will definitely go back! Food was excellent, but very expensive for three people.
Brinkley9






BRINKLEY 9

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

food was delicious, hostess was snippy, a little loud, right on the water! good wine menu. i'd definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violetta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dance ten looks three........”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Menu choices and presentation were outstanding. Hostesses must have been just having a bad evening. Waiting for our seating we encountered several seatings having confrontations with the three young ladies juggling tables all of which were later than reservations. Party of 7 in front of us were told they no longer have a reservation....someone changed it.....no one changed it.....hostess "no need to talk to me that way". Similar Tude for our party as well. Bruce the waitperson friendly but not really knowledgeable about menu. Refill of ice tea? Oh I can't refill gratis. Ok I'd like more water instead. Check included extra charge for an ice tea. No big deal but as a seasonal visitor accompanied by year rounders, a giant disappointment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelmates65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Prix Fixe Menu”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Harbor Bistro, in East Hampton, is only open during the peak season from Spring to Fall. So be sure not to miss it. They actually have two prix fixe menus if you're seated before 6:30 and they are both great. Try the pasta bolognese and the lobster bisque. Both very tasty. Easy parking with great sunset views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Bistro also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Harbor Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing