We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Average / nice ambiance & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Stove Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Stove Pub
Ranked #47 of 65 Restaurants in East Hampton
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bridgehampton, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food Average / nice ambiance & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Since we were on a Groupon, the price to value was decent ($100+ per couple - shared appetizer, shared side dish (additional), entree, and a glass of wine each). Very few restrictions on entrees or wine. But the full tariff ($100+ per person) would have been too pricey. The Tuna tatare ($21) was heavy on too sharp which obscured the small amount of pale tuna, and it was small. The eggy hard pita wedges and with it and in the generous and excellent caesar salad were easily skipped because the regular pita was excellent. The lamb chops were good, but hardly memorable. They were small and uneven in thickness, so while some were rare as requested, others were medium rare. The spinach was spinach. Friends shared the mixed greek dips (generous, but pricey) the bass (good) and Pastitsio (good, but at full price overpriced). Service was very pleasant and attentive, but there were few people there. We live nearby and came many years ago and had such a bad experience that we vowed never to come back. Everything except the price to value was much improved, but I doubt we would come back except for a special. Two small limp asparagus came on the plates (an improvement over the past), but I think the need to order potato and veggies is off-putting. Most local restaurants now feature really interesting, local and fresh vegetables as an integral part of any dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LSDArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“20 Dollars for water!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had dinner here tonight, the restaurant itself is nicely laid out. Nice outside patio, the staff were attentive and polite and the food we had was pleasant. The prices on the menu are quite high though, maybe a bit too high for certain things such as fries at 10 dollars which to us seemed far too much, but when we received the bill the most shocking part was that we were charged 20 dollars for 2 bottles of water! No matter how nice the restaurant to be charged this much for water is a total rip off and it left a bad taste for the end of the meal. At one point i also heard the manager or possibly the owner walk through the restaurant swearing which i thought seemed unprofessional for such a place.

I can understand higher than average prices for food if the ingredients are of good quality and you consider the way it is cooked to be done well but certain menu items should be reconsidered and when charging so much for drinks it just seems they are trying to get as much money out of people as possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced with below average food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

At over a $100 a person, you would expect something more than paper napkins. The steak was overcooked and served with a pickle. We were told that they were known for their pickles. The french fries were limp & oily, inedible. Mixed drinks ordered were not drinkable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
“Terrific....everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I arranged for a small family birthday/dinner by phone with owner, George. The setting (on the cozily-heated traditional porch) was very pleasant. The service was terrific (mostly by Shannon), and the food was really wonderful. We had a kind of "personalized" prix fixe and it was an amazing value. I am recommending the Old Stove Pub, a place where my parents went for decades, to all my friends, for all those reasons I mentioned above and the reassurance that it's still possible to have such an evening on a Saturday night in "The Hamptons".

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had dinner with two other couples and the service was terrible. We sat outside which was very nice but it took a long time to get someone to take our order and then it took a half an hour for our drinks to come. The food came piece meal and was extremely expensive for what it was. Two couples had a steak to share which was good. One of our group ordered the greek noodle dish which came cold and when he complained they did nothing and he ate nothing. The greek salad was good and he complained that for $100 he ate a salad. We could never get out waiter's attention to get another drink or add to our order. I would never go back though it is a restaurant that I have always wanted to go to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vishty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stove Pub also viewed

 

Been to Old Stove Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing