We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no nonsense seafood”

Bostwick's Chowder House
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in East Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“no nonsense seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

expect long waits in the summer and crowded tables, but you will get the freshest seafood prepared with basic ingredients. don't expect gourmet, just great local fish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    79
    24
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want to love Bostwick's, but can't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been here twice now and have mixed reviews. Some of the food was very good (apps and sandwiches), and some was just average (entrees). Some in our party really liked the place, and others were unimpressed - self included. The atmosphere (inside) is non-existant and crowded. You write your own order on a pad to give to your "waitress" who then delivers your food on paper plates with plastic silverware... which is fine if you are on a dock, but not if you are in a real restaurant on montauk highway. They then try to rush you out asap to clear the table for one of the many people waiting to get in. With so many great seafood spots on the east end, this one just does not stand out. I would go again only if with a group who insisted and i was merely along for the ride... but would otherwise not choose to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice vibe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch.. Food was good,but a bit pricy.. Had the fried clam bells.they were very good. Very low key and friendly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food good but too pricey for a paper plate restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

No dishwasher service available so you get your food served on Styrofoam and paper plates with plastic utensils. Little better than a fast food joint.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marilyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beachy feel and good crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited Bostwick's twice and both times liked the atomosphere, crowd and food. It does get crowded but if you want the beachy, fish, vibe this is a good place. My only major complaint is that they use all disposable products. Forks, spoons, cups, plates, etc.... all get thrown out. I sat at the kitchen bar my last visit and got to watch this first hand. It would be nice for such a known establishment that gets lots of business to take more pride in the environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bostwick's Chowder House also viewed

 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Bostwick's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing