We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation Department Rude and Dishonest.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Hampton Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Hampton Point Hotel
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Reservation Department Rude and Dishonest.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2007

I made a reservation at the East Hamptons, but had to cancel it having read the negative reviews posted here and elsewhere---just wasn't worth their high rates, given all the problems I read about. Especially, the bed bugs.

At any rate, I knew I would have to pay $50 cancellation fee. Imagine my surprise when I was told that I had to pay a $300 cancellation fee.

I explained that that was not what I was told, but to no avail.
In fact, the reservation agent became quite rude if not downright abusive.

Live and learn.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Savvy-traveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHPoint, Manager at East Hampton Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication on our behalf. East Hampton Point has very high standards for cleanliness and at no time has East Hampton Point ever had any type of ‘bed bug’. We are sure that had you kept your reservations you would have found this true.

-East Hampton Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

I stayed with my wife and two kids for three nights in one of the suites. The furnishings were lovely and the rooms were kept very clean. We enjoyed ourselves at the pool and the marina is certainly a pleasure. The real problem here is that at these prices, the inn needs to do a much better job with the little things. For example, checking in and finding no soap in our room, a fair of amount of litter that never gets picked up near the playground and pool, an air-conditioning system that was stopped working one night, and a malfunctioning satellite tv system that I really could have used when I was trying to pack up and keep my kids entertained for a half hour.

In all, the place is clean and nice, but it is offering boutique hotel prices with Marriott service. To me, that's just not great value and certainly not much of a good reflection as to how this rather new hotel is being maintained.

  • Liked — The rooms were clean and well-furnished
  • Disliked — Too many little problems for an Inn that is billing itself as a resort
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here if you need a place in East Hampton but don't expect a luxury experience
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Duckpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHPoint, Manager at East Hampton Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. Since the time of this review, East Hampton Point has continually raised its levels across the board, in everything from grounds maintenance, amenities, to accommodations. As it has been sometime since your stay at East Hampton Point we would like to welcome you and your family back to stay with us again, so that you may experience these upgrades first hand.

-East Hampton Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2005

I absolutely love the marina at the East Hampton Point. Dollar for dollar, nothing is better in all of the Hamptons. Included with overnight dockage is; van shuttles, pools, a gym, tennis court, two restaurants, a ship's store, and all of this is spread over many acres of pure resort goodness. The grounds are absolutely amazing. Besides that, the marina also features a full service boatyard that covers all areas of marine repair. My engine had transmission problems and Atrie, probably the best mechanic I have ever spoken with, promptly fixed the simple problem. Steve the Manager greeted my mechanical problem with professionalism that immediatly calmed my nerves. A weekend that could have turned out like a nightmare because of my transmission acutually turned out as one for memories. If you visit, be sure to say hello to Artie and Steve. Tell them John with the transmission says "hi".

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHPoint, Manager at East Hampton Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we do hope you visit again soon!

-East Hampton Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

Me and my wife visited the East Hampton Point and had a unique chance to experience more then one area of the Resort. On Friday we docked my yacht at the Marina with the help of Steve, the Marina Manager. I was unsure of my abilities in close quarter yacht handeling, and he kindly took the controls and effortlessly docked my yacht. He did all this, and was kind enough to teach me the techniques he used so I too may learn. The marina was beautiful, and everything was just right for the traveling sailor in us all. The dockhands were a tremendous help, and were available to assist in any help I needed. The East Hampton Point Marina exceeded my expectations and I plan to visit many more times.
Once the boat was tied up, my wife and I made our way up to the cottage office. We were welcomed like first class guests and the service was prompt and courteous. We stayed in the Palmer house, and it was the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. Everything was immaculate and clean, clean, clean! Everything was available, and nothing was spared. After staying at the "EHP", I never want to stay anywhere else in the area. It was a wonderful experience and I will be back asap!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpic529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHPoint, Manager at East Hampton Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time at East Hampton Point!

-East Hampton Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2005

We stayed a East Hampton Point last summer for the first time. We stayed in the newest part of the resort at The Palmer House. This is the first time in 15 years that we have truly felt that we were on vacation in the Hamptons. The rooms were pristine. The decor was very tasteful and the marble bathrooms exquisite. We had a beautiful patio with comfortable lounge furniture that overlooked the harbor. The pool was quiet and relaxing. We took the complimentary shuttle to the beach everyday. We ate dinner at East Hampton Point and thought it was the best lobster and steak we've had in a very long time. The service was friendly and professional. We feel like we finally found what has been missing in the Hamptons--East Hampton Point has a comfortable laid back enviroment and still offers stylish comfort.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHPoint, Manager at East Hampton Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you very much for your review!

-East Hampton Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
10.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
10.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#2 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.7 mi away
434 on Main
434 on Main
#1 of 3 in Amagansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hampton Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hampton Point Hotel

Property: East Hampton Point Hotel
Address: 295 Three Mile Harbor Road/Hog Creek Road, East Hampton, NY 11937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hampton Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamptons premier luxury waterfront resort. Situated on five acres, it is located minutes from the Village of East Hampton and overlooks Three Mile Harbor. A stunning setting with spectacular sunsets make it a sought after celebration venue for locals and visitors, enchanting weddings and special events from May to November. The property, opened in 1993, features a world-class seasonal restaurant, year-round deluxe accommodations and a full-service marina and boatyard. COTTAGES Thirteen deluxe cottages dot the lushly landscaped property. Like individual homes, they vary in size and layout from studio to duplex and most have private outdoor terraces and spa bathtubs. Their distinctive charm and spaciousness makes them a favorite for long-term guests, families and larger parties. SUITES At the recently renovated Palmer House, an English country-styled manor, seven suites provide the utmost in privacy and comfort with private entrance and tasteful décor. Each features a king-size bed with lush Frette linens, high definition plasma TV, free Internet access and Carerra marble bathroom. In addition, two luxurious sitting rooms extend options for more private living space or to share between connected suites THE PROPERTY The five-acre waterfront property at Three Mile Harbor includes a year-round full-service marina, private tennis court, fitness room and children's playground with seasonal marina shop and heated outdoor swimming pool. NEARBY The knowledgable concierge team can direct guests to art galleries, museums, movie theaters, spas, yoga and fitness studios, bike and kayak rentals, boat and fishing charters, horseback riding, tours of local wineries and the best beach walks this time of year. DINING The restaurant is closed after Labor Day until Spring 2017 (except for private events) however guests may be offered extended services and dining options at sister properties The 1770 House Restaurant & Inn and Cittanuova Restaurant, a 5-7 minute drive away in the Village of East Hampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your East Hampton Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hampton Point Hotel East Hampton
Hotel East Hampton
East Hampton Point Hotel Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing