We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Ranked #32 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill HIll Lane
Description: At the Living Room, we identify the freshest and most naturally produced foods, creating world-class menu selections from what can be purchased through local, organic producers. This is the slow-food philosophy at work, and we believe it makes for the best-tasting meals in the Hamptons. Our chef uses the slow-food process to "cook with the seasons", coming up with mouth-watering menus of cuisine he calls "new American with a Scandinavian twist". Signature dishes include Scandinavian classics like Toast Skagen and exquisite desserts like Spring Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp with homemade honey vanilla gelato and Catapano Goat Cheese Tarte with homemade lingonberry sorbet. To complement, you can choose from more than 200 vintages from our extensive wine cellar. From local Long Island varietals to organic Oregonian boutique blends and standards from Europe, there is a wine for every mood and food at The Living Room.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What surprises me is that the martinis are always served in a plain coupe de glace stemware and not a proper martini glass. Drinking a martini from a thick rimmed coupe de glace (usually for ice cream only) does not do any martini justice. It doesn't drink well. Again, they are trying to be special, but it doesn't work. The location is very charming, but the food is unsophisticated for such a place. Being it an expensive restaurant, the servicing staff is not all too interested in serving. The striped bass a la Plancha could have been better prepared and seasoned. The vegetable selection is not appealing. The menu is actually off putting and limited, which causes one to make a selection real challenging. There is nothing enticing about it. With a bit more care and better intelligent approach to food and its preparation, it could earn 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, service and ambiance- The Living Room at the maidstone”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I were totally blown away by the beautiful Living Room restaurant at the Maidstone Inn in East Hampton. The Inn and restaurant have been completely renovated, redecorated and are stunning and chic. The Living Room serves a swedish influenced menu featuring wonderful seafood dishes both hot and cold along with traditional swedish fare (i.e. swedish meatballs).
Every dish that came out the kitchen was perfectly plated and delicious. The service at the Living Room is highly professional, upbeat and knowledgeable. We spent over 2 hours enjoying oysters, crab, lobster and swedish dishes.
It was an outstanding dinner and I will be coming back shortly for more.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In the world of hit or miss, its a miss”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were a group of six and were disappointed in our dining experience. The appetizers were good, nothing amazing, but the entre's were just average. Two had the meatballs, which they liked, think they were swedish meatballs,(at least thats what i thought they looked like), two had the rib eye, which looked like an inexpensive piece of meat and just was fine, nothing worth the expensive price, one had the halibut, which was very dry, and one tried to have the lamb, but the chef couldn't cook it correctly, first rare then well done. The best thing was the dessert, sticky toffee pudding. Our friends had eaten there previously and enjoyed, now they said its off the list for the rest of the season.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not quite !!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with everything you would expect for 5 stars but it let itself down in a couple of respects.

It has a comfortable feel and the waiting staff were excellent.

Our issues were the speed of service and the inconsistency of the quality of the food. We finished appetisers, which were excellent to then have our main courses arrive almost immediately. If we had been in a hurry this would have been great but it felt like we were being rushed to free up a table.

For mains, Two of our party ordered Halibut - one was excellent and the other tough and disappointing. Both plates came from the same kitchen at the same time - presumably cooked by the same chef ! We were given a credit for the disappointing meal but that didn't alter the issue that if they can get one halibut right, then they should have been able to do two !!

Maybe worth trying again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Quirky Jewel Box Respite from the Everyday”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The Living Room and The Maidstone Inn combine several seemingly unrelated elements in a way that results in a charming and stylish experience with good food and great drinks. First off, don't come in you are in a big rush. It's relaxing here. The decor combines antique American farmhouse architecture with Swedish modern, bright color and old (Swedish) Hollywood accents. Somehow it works beautifully. The food menu is mostly Swedish and delicious. You can always have a great salad if you're not a fan and the cocktails and wine list are very good. It's also great for tea with a formal tea served on the weekends. Service is not fast but I think that's by design. It doesnt seem as if they're in a rush to get you in and out , which is so nice. You have time to decompress and take in your surroundings as your meal is being made. Your meal arrives having been carefully prepared. I think the owners have more in mind than just the bottom line and wanted to create a special and truly unique retreat. They did. Beautiful flowers and gardens are also a treat as is the fireplace - on even in July.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcallisterjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing