We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Don't make the mistake we made, the owner insisted to be paid before we went to the room. When we arrived at our room is smelled and had an overall feeling of not being clean. We ended up going to another hotel without getting any type of refund, it was that dirty. There are much better choices in the Hamptons.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Dannypaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassettHouseInn, Owner at Bassett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Bassett House Inn is Closed From September to the end of May. This person is claiming to have stayed at the Inn before it was open for the season.

*Please do note that this person has only given one review so it is a plausible spoof review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Bassett House Inn is a very quaint and charming B&B in the most beautiful community in the United States. Mr. Michael Bassett is very friendly and accommodating. If you're in East Hampton, NY, this is the place to stay. Very close to Main Beach.

Joe Guadagno,
Long Island, NY

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Basset House during our summer visit. The Bed and Breakfast is charming and the host, Michael was wonderful.

This Bed and Breakfast is in a great location also, close to Main Street and the East Hampton airport. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a most enjoyable time staying at the Bassett House. Among the best locations in East Hampton -- Convenient to everything. The innkeeper is most agreeable. This is a fabulouse place if you have a dog. The facility has a very expensive, large back yard that has a number of chaise lounges and is as comfortable as it gets both for a place to relax and let your pet run free.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilates g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We just drove by this B&B and it still looks a Dump! Looks like something out of a Horror Movie. The grass is not cut, the outside of the house could use a fresh coat of paint, garage on the side of the house, very creepy looking. We stayed they a few years ago and had a horrible experience we would rather sleep on our car if we had to..not sure if he is still in business, we hope not.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stopped all over before the season and no one would take me and my small dog. This Inn was a dream. No problem with the dog. The room was lovely and very clean. I was put in the "dog room" because it has no carpet, but 2 foot wide antique floor boards! Bed was great. Everything was clean. No TV in the room but the free wi fi was very easy to access and I enjoyed the pretty grounds. Yes, he doesn't throw anything out, but some of that stuff is very interesting and the coffee was fine and he had a glass of wine waiting after I returned from dinner.

Room Tip: the big room with the fireplace would be nice but out of my price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In short, this so-called "inn" is a musty dump overcluttered with junky knickknacks. There are charming country bed and breakfasts, and then there are places like this that give country inns a bad name. At rates close to $300/night it was downright obscene (though I would not have stayed for free knowing what I now know). The interior is anachronism defined, a creepy mismatch of all kinds of garbage. There is NO WAY the rooms would ever be mistaken for "light and airy" (as described on the inn's website). Also, no locks on doors, which is very unsettling. Lumpy, old mattress, threadbare sheets, and an icky bathroom completed the "look" (what else would you expect, frankly).

This place is a disgrace to the beautiful town of East Hampton.

Never again at the Bassett House. No way I could recommend this unless you have a burning desire to waste perfectly good money sleeping in a junk-filled attic.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at this so-called country inn at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 197JoeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East Hampton hotels
1.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#2 of 11 in East Hampton
250 reviews
2.7 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Hampton Point Hotel
East Hampton Point Hotel
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 11 in East Hampton
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
323 reviews
7.5 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Address: 128 Montauk Hwy, East Hampton, NY 11937-2811
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing