We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has no vibe.....No customers either”
Review of Race Lane

Race Lane
Ranked #38 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: East Hampton L.I.R.R. stop. We're just around the corner.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This place has no vibe.....No customers either”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have tried this place 3 times. The service is off......the food is expensive and very few customers !

The dining room is beautiful......they need a new menu, some PR and a really friendly staff.

I think it might be too late though.......

Helpful?
1 Thank MVO747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    1
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This restaurant is worth a return visit.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The food and atmosphere was great. The restaurant was packed to capacity (Friday night) and all at our table enjoyed their food immensely.
Service was very friendly but a bit slow . We were seated within a few minutes of our reservation time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very impressed by this place... pork chop was unbeliveable as was the... burger? I wouldn't normally say that, but we ordered it as an appetizer and it was amazing. But hands down, the short ribs are a must. The first ever that have come close to Tom Collucio's Craft Steak (now closed in nyc) version. Wow.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east hampton, ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“new chef makes all the difference”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Liked Race Lane a lot last year (it's inaugural season), but as much for the
space, the outdoor bar, and the warm welcome of the host, Jay.

This year add great food to the mix! There are some great salads and apps. A hefty pork chop that's the best of many I've had in the Hamptons. Some of the best scallops around (in a portion that's unusually ample), a wonderful brussels sprout prep as a side and a super chocolate chip bread pudding for dessert.

And the bartender knows how to pour!

So far Race Lane hasn't been discovered by the East Hampton hoards so it's a bit easier to score a rez, but that, unfortunately, won't last!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trigger18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So disappointed!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Waitress forgot my app., brought it out with my main dish, forgot the sides, brouht it out when we were done, and made a mistake on the bill that had to be corrected by the manager.
I would give this place a second chance if the food was promising, but it wasn't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAT1999091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Race Lane also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Race Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing