We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
Review of The 1770 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1770 House
Ranked #4 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our Anniversary weekend at the 1770 House. We could not have hoped for a more perfect place to stay. Our room, with a private detached bath was absolutely perfect. It was bright, cheery and warm. The bed was oh so comfy. They supply robes and slippers as well. We also had a very large flat screen TV. The bath had luxurious Molten Brown bath products.
The complimentary breakfast that is included is spectacular. You order off a menu but are not limited to how many things you may order. Everything was hot, fresh and quite tasty. It is served in the same dining room as the 1770 House Restaurant. which is beautiful.
On our first day at breakfast, the Innkeeper, Randye, introduced herself and gave us many options of things to do, including passes and literature. It filled our 2 days quite nicely. She made sure that we experienced The Hamptons to its fullest. She was the perfect host.
The Inn is in the heart of East Hampton. We are already discussing when we will be able to return. This will always be our first go to when visiting The Hamptons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CANDACE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Such high praise! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.
We appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have to admit I never write reviews, however, our 3-night getaway over New Year's 2013 was worth talking about! My fiance and I were looking for a great getaway and decided on the 1770 House after reading all the great reviews! I had often passed the inn during summers in the Hamptons but never stayed there. We are so happy we did. The innkeeper, Randye Lordon, was absolutely fantastic. Before our arrival she was keen to check on us to ensure we were set for dinners and winter activities since we usually visit in the summers. Upon arrival, she was such a great hostess and helped us get situated with activities and hikes around the Hamptons as we arrived early and our room was not ready. From check-in to check-out Randye was so friendly, personable, and accommodating. The rooms were fabulous with the most comfortable beds and linens (Frette) and amazing Molten Brown products. We stayed in two different rooms based on avails and both were lovely and unique. In our second room (room1) we had a huge fireplace and it was a nice way to relax from the craziness of the city. Beyond the rooms, the breakfast was top notch including omelettes, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, and smoked salmon. Loved it all. We had such a great three days and look forward to returning for another stay and to just say hello to the wonderful people! Whitney & Maarten

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We're thrilled you had a wonderful experience at The 1770 House!
Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I were out looking for a New Years weekend that we could spend away from the city. We were met with fantastic service by the friendliest staff. Everything was flawless, from the room (#4) with the cozy fireplace to the restaurant which we had amazing dinner. The room itself was extremely clean and tidy and newly decorated and/or renovated. It was so quaint, as was the inn, and comfortable, we really felt right in our own home. You really would be missing out to stay in the hamptons and not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed the restaurant and your stay at the Inn.
Thank you for ringing in the New Year at The 1770 House! We hope to see you again in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've been going to the 1770 House at least once or twice a year for about 6 or 7 years now and absolutely love it there. We aren't summer Hamptons people at all, and prefer it during the winter/spring months as it is much quieter and just as beautiful. 1770 house is quaint luxury at its best. Somehow it manages to be both cozy and luxurious at the same time. The inn is fairly small - 6 rooms plus a carriage house. All the rooms are beautifully appointed - very classic luxury with frette towels and linens and molton brown toiletries. The rooms are always immaculate - super clean, its a place you don't feel like you have to wear slippers - even though they provide them for you, of course.

Your stay also includes one of the most delicious breakfasts ever- a hot menu for the weekends (think pancakes, omelette, french toast), and a continental meal for the weekdays. But rest assured - by continental we aren't just talking toast. We are talking delicious lox and bagels, fruit, hamptons coffee, the works! It's certainly unlike any continental breakfast I've had anywhere!

The best part of 1770 house though is the inn keeper - Randi. She is amazing - super warm and welcoming. We've been coming for so many years and are simply thrilled she is back at the 1770 house. She always makes it feel like a home away from home (if only my home was this wonderful!) She has helpful suggestions for things to do and places to eat, and helps keep everything organized so as a guest you don't even have to pick up the phone. She makes you feel at ease, and I already feel the difference at the inn since she's been back - it's just warmer - subtle but there.

I highly recommend the 1770 house for a weekend getaway when you just need some peace and quiet outside of the city - it is a place to go and relax and be pampered. It's in prime location, close to everything - food, wineries, shopping, beach, spas....but our favorite thing is to take the quick drive (or you can definitely walk) to Main Beach. In the winter it is so quiet and secluded - it feels even more beautiful. Simply lovely!

We will certainly keep coming back...

Room Tip: We love Room 5 - the bathroom is outside of the room, but it's really no problem. It feels tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citysearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770HouseManagement, General Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for posting this review. It's especially nice to hear such positive comments in December! Randye is an excellent addition to the team; thanks for the shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family & I have vacationed for the past two years at the 1770's Carriage House & we adore it. The staff is charming. The housekeeping crew does immaculate work & they do everything within their power to ensure a delightful holiday experience.

While this Inn certainly does not qualify as budget or moderate lodging I think they provide an excellent value considering their location & level of service. The carriage house is perfect for 2 couples or a small family, having 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms in a 2 story cottage. Cozy living room/dining area with fireplace & a complete kitchenette (sink, dishwasher, coffee maker, microwave) complete the first floor layout. Furnishings are well maintained, comfortable & all the rooms are decorated in a simple neutral palette.

Additionally, the restaurant & bar attached to the 1770 House is excellent & there is nothing cozier or more enjoyable than a nightcap in their underground bar. (Please be advised there are very steep semi circular steps leading to the bar area.) Breakfast consists of a small thoughtful menu; coffee from Hamptons coffee - delicious.

The Manager is a hoot; down to earth with a terrific sense of humor & really knows the area well. She provided us with just the right suggestions for local sites, shopping & restaurants.

We are in love.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

First of all, we will like to express our heartfelt thanks to the lovely innkeeper, Ms Randye, for all her efforts in ensuring that we are totally comfortable and ready on the go to explore the beautiful Hamptons (and I know we can be a pain sometimes!). Her meticulous attention to details and extremely fast responses to our queries (online or face to face) is the prime example of what good customer services entails. We are certainly very impressed by Ms Randye's level of service.

The room we had (Room 2) was an excellent choice. It is on the 2nd level and very bright (which we like). Sleep was not a problem - the bed and pillows were perfect...bathroom was just a little bit small (not an issue) and the water pressure was excellent. We also love flipping through the countless TV channels at night (especially the late night talk shows). The room was also very clean throughout our 2-day stay and I must say the housekeeping team did a great job!

I've seen one of the remarks by an ex-guest here that they had to move the car themselves at night as the hotel lots were taken up. We had the same issue (not being able to find a car lot after coming back at night) but our reception was kind enough to assist us in driving our car in from the main road when the guests (presumably restaurant guests) leave. We just had to leave our car keys with them. They volunteered this service which I thought was quite decent.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants a fuss-free stay in the Hamptons. However, one little note is do not expect a big full breakfast - it is pretty basic but we are never particular about it anyways. There are stacks of restaurants around the corner and do drive out to the North Folk (vineyard trails) and Montauk for seafood!

Room Tip: Book early to secure the room of your choice. They go really fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I would like to a moment to share my sincerest gratitude for a wonderful experience on our weekend stay at the 1770 House Inn over an long October weekend.

The historic 1770 House Inn was not only charming and rich with history, the Inn was absolutely immaculate and in pristine condition. The bed were very comfortable and the marble bathrooms, clean and roomy with plenty of wonderful high-end towels. All the staff from the restaurant wait staff to the room attendants were professional and prompt. There was not a complaint to be made.

But mostly I wanted to thank the Innkeeper, Ms. Randye Lordon, for her wonderful sincerity and attention to us as guests of the Inn. Right from the initial phone call to make the reservations for our stay at the Inn, she was gracious and accommodating. Her descriptions of the rooms and grounds were a refreshing old fashion style of customer service that is sadly fading away with the inception of “On-Line” reservations and impersonal web pages. Thanks to her vivid descriptions of the rooms we were able to select the bright and airy room on the second floor which was as beautiful as she described and fit us perfectly; it quickly became our home away from home.

Once arriving at the 1770 House Inn Ms. Lordon continued to provide that, “above and beyond” customer service and personal interaction which just seems to naturally connect with us and the other guests staying at the Inn. Her suggestions for antique shopping were right on the mark, as well as her recommendation for dinner and happenings around the area all added up to making a completely wonderful experience. We look forward to future stays at the 1770 House Inn, and would highly recommend the 1770 House Inn to anyone looking for that quintessential "Hamptons" experience.

Room Tip: Have the Innkeeper, Randye Lordon, describe the rooms for you, as each of the rooms are unique and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
260 reviews
11 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.3 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
324 reviews
6.6 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 11 in East Hampton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1770 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1770 House

Address: 143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: $221 - $1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 1770 House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, three-story house bordered by a white picket fence embodies traditional Colonial appeal. Built in the mid 1600's, some original architecture remains, especially in the lounge, with its beautiful wood paneling and ceiling beams.Rooms vary in size and each has a sitting area, some have a fireplace.The 1770 House has two fine restaurants. The Tavern, a favorite for Hamptons locals, has a tiny bar, fireplace, famous meatloaf and other casual fare. The main dining room is more elegant and sophisticated, serving a contemporary American menu with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The 1770 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1770 House Hotel East Hampton
1770 Hotel
The 1770 House East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing