We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The 1770 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1770 House
Ranked #4 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bretagne
Level Contributor
570 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Wonderful inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

A wonderful cozy and friendly inn in a great location, walking distance to the village, the pond and bike distance from the beach. Or if you want to drive the inn will give you a beach parking pass, a gem! The service is outstanding, the food excellent and East Hampton great fun. Randye will help you organize your days and she could not have been more helpful, she is attentive and will go an extra mile to make your stay just perfect.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise take a room facing the back. My room #1 was great but on main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
61
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We knew we wanted to spend a romantic Christmas week in East Hampton and we chose this inn based on their lovely web site.

Indeed, the inn is absolutely beautiful right down to the last detail. We stayed in room "One" with a gorgeous ultra comfortable king sized bed, romantic fireplace (although it has a slight gas odor), 40" TV and marble bathroom with the best shower water pressure we've ever experienced. The inn has central heat and air but the windows don't open (due to affixed storm windows) and that did get a little stuffy.

We had dinner in the inn's restaurant which features a gorgeous dining room, romantic fireplace, comfortable chairs and delicious food. The complimentary breakfast is served in the same room and offers a menu with a nice variety of tasty options.

Prices here are steep but in-line with East Hampton in general. Although, we did think the mini-bar snacks were ridiculously overpriced. Fortunately there's a Citarella's in town so we stocked up on room snacks and beverages there instead. The inn is just a few short blocks from the village proper and it made for a nice stroll into town.

Now for the down-side. There's never more than one person at the front desk and they have a tendency to be chatting on the phone rather than paying attention to guests. The waitresses in the breakfast room are not friendly and sometimes downright incompetent.

Worst of all, there's a pettiness that dominates all the service. For example, they offer a complimentary bottle of wine if you stay at the inn and have dinner at the restaurant. We asked for a different bottle that had the same price but they charged a 'switching" fee. The inn's parking lot only holds 6 cars (6 rooms) but they don't hold the spots for inn guests. We came back from Montauk to find restaurant diners had taken all the spaces. We had to park on the street and then go down late and move the car because there's no overnight street parking allowed. Likewise, they don't hold the best restaurant tables for inn guests even though we'd made a reservation.

On our last day I inquired after the owner and was told he was away in Florida for the holidays. Perhaps the service improves when he's on the premises. Overall we had a lovely romantic vacation but while in the area we saw a couple of other spectacular looking inns nearby and will likely try a different place next time we go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HungryCoupleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was my second time in East Hampton and we were over for a family wedding - this guesthouse is very pleasant,room a bit small as we took the cheapest ( 470 pounds a night,but hey that's exchange rates )

Hotel food was also very good,but room and restuarant is abt it ,nevertheless a lovely place for a day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The 1770 House is a very small B & B right near the center of East Hampton Village. My room, number 3, was lovely. It met all my top requirements for a hotel. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless, and the shower had good water pressure. The thing is I had very high expectations and was disappointed by the frayed towels I found in the bathroom and the overall lack of attentiveness from the staff. Now I'm not one to like fawning service, but in a hotel/B & B that only has seven rooms I would expect things such as being asked my preferences for housekeeping and replacing the ice in my ice bucket and the (complementary) fruit I ate. These things are pretty minor and I definitely enjoyed my stay at the 1770 House, it's just that I expected more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisadworkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol1770, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for the helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

everything you would expect at a small leading hotel, perfect english bathrooms (not large, but perfect), beautiful linens, decor a la english country house and experienced service with a manager clearly in charge at all times. pair this with one of the best restaurants on the east end and you have perfection. arriving late? call from the car - an appropriate dinner awaits you.

Room Tip: they're all nice, front rooms face a street that can be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpossiblyPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet weekend away with fantastic service by the friendliest staff, the 1770 house has to be where you stay. First, I should mention that I am very pichoosy owing a place to stay and easily find flaws in most places. With that said, I have not one negative thing to say about the 1770 house. I surprised my fiancee with a stay here for her birthday weekend and we couldn't have been more thrilled or better taken care of. The food was outstanding. Although the restaurant is a bit pricey, it is worth every penny. We both do not normally eat, let alone finish three course meals but leaving any food leftover here was not an option! And to finish off the amazing meal, we only had to go downstairs to the bar for a night cap. So convenient and again excellent and friendly service. Second to none. The room itself was extremely clean and tidy and newly decorated and/or renovated. The room was so quaint, as was the inn, and comfortable, we really felt right in our own home. You really would be missing out to stay in the hamptons and not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol1770, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for the compliments.
We hope you can return for a sunny stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My daughter and I decided to have a break in the Hamptons and we are so glad we chose this beautiful and welcoming inn. We made our reservation less than 24 hrs prior to our arrival. The receptionist was cheery and helpful. When we arrived from our exhausting international flight we were pleased to find we had been upgraded to the most delightful and cozy room number three.

Although weary upon arrival, our spirits lifted as we drew up outside the property. The inn was story-book perfect, complete with roaring fire. We were greeted by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, took care of our (very heavy) baggage and parked our car for us. Room three was absolutely delightful. We showered in the beautifully equipped marble bathroom. The Frette towels and Molten Brown toiletries were plentiful and much appreciated. We both had a most wonderfully restful night courtesy of the immaculate Frette bedlinen, perfectly weighted duvet and supremely comfortable mattress and pillows.

Waking refreshed and ready to explore we descended the stairs to the dining room for breakfast. The food at the inn was glorious and the waiting staff were most proficient and pleasant. Standards were high and consistent.

We loved eating our evening meals downstairs in the tavern. We enjoyed the food and wine immensely and met some wonderfully interesting and genuinely warm people. I cannot recommend the food enough. Fresh produce, immaculately prepared and presented, ten out of ten.

The inn is professionally run by the most pleasant and helpful staff. The housekeeping staff assured the highest levels of cleanliness and comfort. The food was consistently delicious and the waiting staff were always efficient and friendly. The receptionists and reservation staff were most helpful and accommodating.

All of these combined to make our stay at the 1770 House perfect. We cannot wait to return and are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oodlesofnoodles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol1770, General Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at The 1770 House and for taking the time to write.
We look forward to hosting your next stay in East Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.0 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.9 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.6 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1770 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1770 House

Property: The 1770 House
Address: 143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The 1770 House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, three-story house bordered by a white picket fence embodies traditional Colonial appeal. Built in the mid 1600's, some original architecture remains, especially in the lounge, with its beautiful wood paneling and ceiling beams.Rooms vary in size and each has a sitting area, some have a fireplace.The 1770 House has two fine restaurants. The Tavern, a favorite for Hamptons locals, has a tiny bar, fireplace, famous meatloaf and other casual fare. The main dining room is more elegant and sophisticated, serving a contemporary American menu with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1770 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1770 House Hotel East Hampton
1770 Hotel
The 1770 House East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing