We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of The Hedges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hedges Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Hedges Inn is absolutely beautiful and the location is great. Just a walk up to Main Street where all the restaurants, museums and shops are. Everyone was so friendly and Ann the inn keeper went above and beyond for us. The rooms are cozy and attention to detail is apparent. This Inn is also immaculately clean. From the lovely front porch to the manicured gardens you will just love your stay here. Make sure you wake up and enjoy the delicious breakfast. It is one that you would not want to miss! We can not thank you enough for all that you did to make our stay so pleasant. Louise Reilly and Vincent Gaeta

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezweiseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at The Hedges Inn, and we had a wonderful time. The Inn itself is bright, spotless, charming, and in excellent condition. The lobby area, the breakfast room, the bar, the front porch and the grounds are maintained in perfect condition.

Annie, Jenn, and Juan Pablo are the best. They are interesting, always smiling, always ready to help and offer thoughts, and just could not be nicer. And their breakfast "creations" are awesome. My wife is all about the food presentation, I'm more in to the taste, and we were both 100% satisfied.

We used the Inn's bicycles, which are in excellent shape, and used the quick, efficient, and fun shuttle service to beautiful Main Beach, never waiting more than five minutes.

The walk to Newtown Lane is about 17-18 minutes at a nice pace, and goes past the pond, the village green, and some historical sites, very nice.

My wife was on the phone during our stay to friends and our daughters-in-law, going on and on about how nice, cute, charming (and all those words that the ladies use) about this wonderful B&B. Special thanks to Annie and Jenn for their wonderful hospitality, we will return !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SCIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hedges Inn is a amazing, beautiful place with gorgeous gardens. The rooms are cozy and sparkling clean. The staff is very pleasant and personal. Ann the inn keeper is charming and professional. We enjoyed her three course breakfast, that is out of this world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EdithIngen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at The Hedges Inn. Upon check-in we were greeted by Juan Pablo and shown to our room. What a wonderful surprise to find that our room had been upgraded to a more spacious room due to fact we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. This was our first time in East Hampton and the Inn was in the perfect location- close to shopping, restaurants and just a short drive to the beaches. But the best part of the stay was the delicious 3 course breakfasts (wear your stretchy pants because you will want to enjoy it all!). The food was so beautifully displayed I had to take photos. Ann, the general manager, makes you feel very comfortable and really cares about you having a great time. We look forward to returning to The Hedges for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctmom200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Anytime I get word a guest is in the dining room taking pictures of the breakfast I am in the kitchen smiling! Thank you for letting all of know you had such a great time at The Hedges Inn and for mentioning Juan Pablo..he is the newbie on our team and fit in like a perfect piece in the puzzle. Everyone on staff enjoys hearing the feedback and we certainly cannot thank you enough for sharing it with the world. Come back soon! Anni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had an excellent time at the Hedge's Inn. We stayed for my birthday weekend and it was nothing but exceptional service the entire time. We stayed in the beautiful Sandcastle room. The location of the Inn was perfect! You can walk to the beach or the ladies will call the awesome Free Ride guys to come pick you up! The Inn had everything! Anne was right to describe it as "We have everything for you except a bathing suit and sunblock!" :) She and her staff were very accommodating. Besides the grounds and service, the food was superb! I tried almost everything served and it was delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

What a joy to have you in the house! It is wonderful running an inn that attracts happy people to begin with. Your enthusiasm for The Hedges Inn, East Hampton and our breakfasts is so satisfying to hear and even more wonderful to know you took the time to share it!

Thank you for being our guests.

All my best,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our stay & accommodations
have exceeded all of our expectations !
The location - the grounds - the room - the gourmet complimentary breakfast awaiting us every morning was impeccable. Make sure you introduce yourself to Ann the general manager. She is such a doll and made us feel right at home with her hospitality.
I wanted to keep this gem under wraps and to ourselves but I'm a good sharer ! So book now !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodrew94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

You know, as the manager I think of The Hedges as heavenly too. Even in the spring when I come to open it for the summer after it has been sleeping all winter. It is so serene, stately and somehow full of wonder and contentment. It is a 'happy house' as many have said and with guests like we have it becomes magical to me. You are part of the reason why. Thank you for being here, thank you letting us know when you want to come back already and thank you for the beautiful comments you left in our guest book too. From Jenn, Myra and all of us here, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Anni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went for a long weekend. Everything was perfect. Breakfast was amazing, service was impeccable and the room was very romantic. Ann was wonderful and made us feel at home. Christina was welcoming and gave us recommendations for restaurants etc. We really loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique3187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

From one curly head to another it was a joy having you in the house. We were so happy you and your husband enjoyed yourselves so much in your time away from the kids! It was nice chatting with you and we hope you will make your mini vaca an annual event and we will see you next summer. Thank you for taking the time to write such a sweet review, it is ALWAYS appreciated by everyone on staff.
With warm regards,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.6 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
260 reviews
1 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 11 in East Hampton
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 11 in East Hampton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Inn

Address: 74 James Ln, East Hampton, NY 11937-2722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: $241 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hedges Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful village pond The Hedges Inn is an East Hampton, New York landmark. Home to the famous swans that, like our special guests, return year after year. This exclusive enclave is around the corner from world-class beaches, nestled among East Hampton's legendary estates and just steps from the Village. Built in the 1800’s and recently renovated to the highest standards, The Hedges Inn strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated luxury and unpretentious seaside charm. We invite you to enjoy not just the intimacy of your rooms, but to take advantage of our entire house as if it was your own. The Hedges Inn. "Your home in the Hampton's." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Hedges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel East Hampton
Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing