We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was so special that any word describe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hedges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hedges Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“It was so special that any word describe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The owner is a very special person that made everything to us feel comfortable and happy. The breakfast is something that need to have special attention because it was so good and well prepared . I don't have a word to express my time in The Hedges Inn. I plan to go back next year. Ana Lantelme,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alantelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hmmm, so many of our guests seem to think I own the inn but truth be told, I do not…I just treat it like I do! I feel like it is my home because that is the only way to convey to you that it is yours when you are with us. Regardless of those detail just know your room is ready for this coming season and don't forget to come home.

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
89
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

As someone who regularly stays at 5 Star hotels (i.e., Four Seasons, Fairmont's, Mandarin Oriental, etc.), I was hesitant about staying at a B&B; however, you don't have much of an option in The Hamptons. A friend suggested I stay at The Hedges. I just returned from a 4 day stay. Since this was my first experience at a B&B, I wasn't quite sure of what to expect. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Ann Clarke, who is just a ray of sunshine. She has such a friendly and bubbly personality that it really made our stay that much more special. She checked us in, gave us the names of her favorite restaurants in town, and even the location of a reception that Renee' Zellweger was having that she suggested we crash. I observed Ann interact with her guests as if she had known them for years. Each morning, we were treated with a homemade gourmet breakfast, such as baked eggs caprese, scrambled egg soufflé, yogurt, cinnamon buns, scones, homemade yogurt, and of course plenty of fruit. We even had dessert following our breakfast. We were so full after breakfast our next meal wasn't until dinner. Our room was located on the third floor. It was immaculate and came with a fireplace. All toiletries were from the Aromatherapy Associates line. The only improvement I would recommend is to hire a bellman to assist with carrying luggage to and from the room. The Hedges is walking distance to Main Beach, which was rated the #1 beach in the country. I am sure you can walk to town where the stores are located, but we had a car so we drove. We also experienced other parts if the island (ie, Sag Harbor, South Hampton, Montauk) and I have to say East Hampton is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blkdiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Uh oh, you may have gotten me in trouble suggesting you crash a party! Did I say that? I'll plead the fifth…It was so much fun having another happy person in the house. I truly believe happy people carry that happiness with them no matter where they go so we are pleased you stayed with us! Coe back soon..rumor has it there are plenty more parties planned this summer…

Anni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergeantsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our friends were staying at The Hedges Inn and invited us to brunch during their stay. We were greeted by Ann with open arms and as if we were staying as guests as well. The food was amazing and plan to stay at the Hedges Inn on our next trip to The Hamptons!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljscottnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
When we personally invite a friend of an overnight guest to breakfast with them it's just like having more family over. Thank you for your thoughtfulness to saying so. It was great having you in the house and yes, we are wanting you to stay at The Hedges next time you are in The Hamptons!

Travel safely…always.

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've never been more comfortable in East Hampton and we've stayed at several of the other options in the village of EH. Ann, Carol, Courtney and staff were incredibly welcoming without being intrusive. We immediately felt like we were "home." Breakfast was a highlight each morning and we savored it! The common spaces on the main floor are very clean and modern and we were able to catch up with a friend there. Ann made him feel welcome too! The outdoor area was our favorite - eating and lounging on the covered stone patio. Our room (Seahorse) was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was a bit small as they can be in some of the inns in East Hampton - these buildings are quite old. Our young daughters were in heaven. Ann addressed us each by name and made our children feel welcome always. They even had a turn to "help" with the breakfast. Everyone working at the Hedges Inn was kind, helpful and discreet. As we drove out of the driveway to return to NYC, my family was asking when we're coming back. For the Hamptons in August, the Hedges Inn is a great value. It is also very close to Main Beach and the most beautiful section of homes in the Village of East Hampton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goeuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
If a guests leaves the inn and refers to their stay as being at home in The Hamptons at The Hedges nothing could make us happier! We enjoyed having you and are especially pleased to know we will see you again this next summer! Thank you so much for being here and taking the time to write a review for us.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ann and Carol are lovely at the Hedges, nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were very comfortable it was just like being at home! The breakfast's are a highlight very inventive and leave you enthralled as to what will be on the chalkboard the next morning when you arrive for breakfast. I have stayed several times over the last 5 years and can't think of any reason not to stay anytime I am in the area. I can't recommend The Hedges Inn enough warm, friendly and sooooo relaxing!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Anytime one of our well travelled guests state that they felt like home at The Hedges Inn we are so happy!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I know we can look look forward to welcoming you again at The Hedges and that just makes my heart sing!

All my best,

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ann, Carol and Courtney, our hosts at the Inn, are officially my new best friends! My husband and I needed a long weekend away from the city and sought out The Hedges Inn in East Hampton. Literally, from the moment we entered the Inn's doors we were greeted with nostalgia from the Inn's old world charm. But don't be confused, there is nothing stodgy about the decor. It is the perfect blend between history and striking new furniture design out of a design magazine. The downstairs sitting area had fluffy pillows, charming coffee table books, a warm fuzzy blankets. Although a TV was available we didn't want the interruption when we had a peaceful view of geese swimming in the pond and surrounding gardens. The two-room Sea Horse Suite was incredibly charming. If delightful hamlet of East Hampton was not outside the door we probably would have spent most of our day lounging in bed or sitting in the plush rocking chair while reading my Kindle. Since the room had a mini kitchen, our bottles of vino collected while visiting the local vineyards were kept at perfect temperature for pre-dinner toasts. The mornings brought a welcome treat of breakfast. Since we have access to New York City's plethora of restaurants, we consider ourselves to be food snobs. When we entered the dining lounge the first morning we were greeted with the chalk board of the fresh breakfast special. As if the breakfast special was not enough, the buffet table was overflowing with fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee. To add to the presentation, these goodies were all surrounded by fresh cut flowers from the Inn's very own garden. Within minutes from being seated Carol came over to offer the buffet table and explain the morning breakfast special. She suggested we pace ourselves and save room for what was to come. Before we could finish our first cup of coffee she presented us with the best breakfast I have ever eaten...really! (I posted images below). If I were a NY Times food critic Chef Ann Clarke would become my regular "go-to" source for recipes and restaurant reviews. I am still trying to figure out that secret ingredient in her "Salmon Brie Souffle." We are totally obsessed with the Hedges Inn and can not wait for our next trip out this fall.

Room Tip: The Sea horse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scissorhands11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Exquisite and quintessential Hamptons, oh my, how we all liked that one! And you know what - we are so glad you said so! There isn't anything I could add to this except top say, what I always say but it is from my heart. Thank you for being with us at The Hedges, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us and come back soon, your room is ready.

All my best,

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Going above and beyond would be an understatement for The Hedges Inn. Ann and her staff were remarkable. The Hedges Inn provides the ideal location for a two day getaway to the Hamptons. The Inn itself is absolutely gorgeous down to the relaxing music that is played. The Hedges is so well kept by the fantastic staff and team of The Hedges, Ann was absolutely gorgeous and such a breath a fresh air to see every day. If you are looking for a place to stay I highly suggest you check out The Hedges Inn. I will be back to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annclarke70, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Exquisite and quintessential Hamptons, oh my, how we all liked that one! And you know what - we are so glad you said so! There isn't anything I could add to this except top say, what I always say but it is from my heart. Thank you for being with us at The Hedges, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us and come back soon, your room is ready.

All my best,

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.7 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.0 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 12 in East Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Inn

Property: The Hedges Inn
Address: 74 James Ln, East Hampton, NY 11937-2722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hedges Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful village pond The Hedges Inn is an East Hampton, New York landmark. Home to the famous swans that, like our special guests, return year after year. This exclusive enclave is around the corner from world-class beaches, nestled among East Hampton's legendary estates and just steps from the Village. Built in the 1800’s and recently renovated to the highest standards, The Hedges Inn strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated luxury and unpretentious seaside charm. We invite you to enjoy not just the intimacy of your rooms, but to take advantage of our entire house as if it was your own. The Hedges Inn. "Your home in the Hampton's." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hedges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel East Hampton
Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing